HDMI Output not working correctly

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-24 21:10

hakerdefo wrote:Please post the results of the following,
Code: Select all
lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'

Cheers!!!

Code: Select all
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GT 650M] (rev a1)

I already changed the Bus ID to 01:00.0 in the /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-25 05:11

In your '/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia' change the line,
Code: Select all
BusID "PCI:01:00.0"

to,
Code: Select all
BusID "PCI:01:00:0"

Save the file, reboot and then run,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-26 00:14

hakerdefo wrote:In your '/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia' change the line,
Code: Select all
BusID "PCI:01:00.0"

to,
Code: Select all
BusID "PCI:01:00:0"

Save the file, reboot and then run,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!

alright, so I got a little bit of a smack in the face tonight. I was on the irc in #debian and apparently I've been running without the headers to my linux system

optirun pwd outputs /home/fubar


bumblebeed --debug
Code: Select all
 bumblebeed --debug
[  161.419660] [DEBUG]bbswitch has been detected.
[  161.419722] [INFO]Switching method 'bbswitch' is available and will be used.
[  161.419742] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  161.419760] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  161.419806] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  161.419835] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/nvidia
[  161.419854] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  161.419881] [DEBUG] pidfile: /var/run/bumblebeed.pid
[  161.419906] [DEBUG] xorg.conf file: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia
[  161.419929] [DEBUG] xorg.conf.d dir: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.d
[  161.419947] [DEBUG] ModulePath: /usr/lib/nvidia,/usr/lib/xorg/modules
[  161.419968] [DEBUG] GID name: bumblebee
[  161.419987] [DEBUG] Power method: auto
[  161.420037] [DEBUG] Stop X on exit: 1
[  161.420067] [DEBUG] Driver: nvidia
[  161.420088] [DEBUG] Driver module: nvidia-current
[  161.420110] [DEBUG] Card shutdown state: 1
[  161.420263] [DEBUG]Process /sbin/modprobe started, PID 3665.
[  161.420344] [DEBUG]Hiding stderr for execution of /sbin/modprobe
[  161.422072] [DEBUG]SIGCHILD received, but wait failed with No child processes
[  161.422126] [ERROR]Module 'nvidia-current' is not found.

so apparently nvidia-current isn't the driver. It must be "nvidia". So I change it back to nvidia and run bumblebeed --debug again and this:
Code: Select all
 bumblebeed --debug
[  265.858737] [DEBUG]bbswitch has been detected.
[  265.858797] [INFO]Switching method 'bbswitch' is available and will be used.
[  265.858818] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  265.858836] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  265.858873] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  265.858890] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/nvidia
[  265.858926] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  265.858957] [DEBUG] pidfile: /var/run/bumblebeed.pid
[  265.858983] [DEBUG] xorg.conf file: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia
[  265.859004] [DEBUG] xorg.conf.d dir: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.d
[  265.859024] [DEBUG] ModulePath: /usr/lib/nvidia,/usr/lib/xorg/modules
[  265.859046] [DEBUG] GID name: bumblebee
[  265.859066] [DEBUG] Power method: auto
[  265.859087] [DEBUG] Stop X on exit: 1
[  265.859109] [DEBUG] Driver: nvidia
[  265.859129] [DEBUG] Driver module: nvidia
[  265.859150] [DEBUG] Card shutdown state: 1
[  265.859306] [DEBUG]Process /sbin/modprobe started, PID 3678.
[  265.859400] [DEBUG]Hiding stderr for execution of /sbin/modprobe
[  265.861232] [DEBUG]SIGCHILD received, but wait failed with No child processes
[  265.861286] [DEBUG]Configuration test passed.
[  265.861387] [ERROR]Daemon already running, pid 2292

So.....what's the problem now? lol
Maybe the X Display? should I change it to 2?
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-26 05:01

What happens when you run,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!
You Can't Always Git What You Want
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-26 10:56

hakerdefo wrote:What happens when you run,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!

optirun pwd
Code: Select all
/home/fubar
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-26 11:23

Well that means it's a success!
You can run games and applications with heavier graphics requirement via terminal like this,
Code: Select all
optirun <program-name>

Cheers!!!
You Can't Always Git What You Want
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-26 11:50

And yes don't forget to thoroughly read the following,
Bumblebee Multi-monitor Setup
Cheers!!!
You Can't Always Git What You Want
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-30 00:52

hakerdefo wrote:And yes don't forget to thoroughly read the following,
Bumblebee Multi-monitor Setup
Cheers!!!

Thank You sooooooooooooooo much!!!!
I really appreciate the help!
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby mastyleki » 2018-02-08 15:44

Hi, I have the same problem
lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 591b (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] (rev a1)

There is no way to connect to the HDMI for a second monitor...it worked on ubuntu but Debian seems impossible...

Thanks in advance!
mastyleki
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-02-08 15:41

Previous

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable