[SOLVED] CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

[SOLVED] CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-01-11 00:56

In this moment, my laptop works, but gives a message at boot who says that Radeon driver isn't been properly loaded.

This is the message at bootscreen:

Code: Select all
[   10.136122] [drm:radeon_pci_probe [radeon]] *ERROR* radeon kernel modesetting for R600 or later requires firmware-linux-nonfree.

I installed that package the last week, and Cinnamon's effects were beatiful, but the computer showed me something like

Code: Select all
Info rcu-shed self detected stall on CPU
and something else before X.
After a while, my laptop freezed in Cinnamon.

Because of that, I reinstalled my Debian Stretch again without installing firmware-linux-nonfree

Is it a bug of AMD's Microcode?
How can I use my VGA Card (Radeon R5 320)?

Thanks

EDIT: There's something else about this package firmware-linux-nonfree:
It seems like the package is related to suspend feature, that is also having issues :roll:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=121879

How can I install it without having to face with CPU stalls... I don't want to reinstall debian again.
When I have that package installed, in order to remove it from the system I had to enter rescue mode and remove it, but it didn't work!
Then I reinstalled the whole Debian.
So there's some questions, but the main one is:
How to configure that package so that the kernel don't have CPU stalls?
Last edited by serpastorg on 2017-02-24 16:54, edited 1 time in total.
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-01-11 07:55

Have you tried going "full blob"?

https://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary

I can't say I would recommend it though, I prefer the open driver on my AMD laptop.

the computer showed me something like

You should post the contents of /var/log/Xorg.0.log immediately after a failed session.
“Such is modern computing: everything simple is made too complicated because it’s easy to fiddle with; everything complicated stays complicated because it’s hard to fix." — Rob Pike

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6419
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-01-12 00:59

That error message was from my previous Debian installation.
I reinstalled it, and didn't install that package, because it broke my system.
With Stretch's kernel, there's no possibility to use fglrx (catalyst), and the only alternative is to use Radeon free driver, but it has that problem.
Radeon says it needs that package (firmware-linux-nonfree) who installs some things from AMD (AMD's microcode for processors, but not fglrx).

And another question; what does "full blob" mean?
I'm Spanish-speaking and I don't know about a lot of idioms... and I didn't hear that before :oops:

I think right now that I'm gonna downgrade it to Jessie again, and use the backports kernel (it's the same that is in Stretch).
I've seen Stretch has a lot of bugs at this moment (for example, my Laptop doesn't suspend properly, and I have to turn it off; iceweasel freezes in wordreference and some other pages). And that one of the "CPU Stall" (if it's a bug) is alarming... :cry:

Thank you
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-01-12 01:48

serpastorg > And another question; what does "full blob" mean?
I'm Spanish-speaking and I don't know about a lot of idioms... and I didn't hear that before


https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_large_object
a veces se almacenan como BLOB código de binarios.


You will also need to look at this:
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archivo_binario
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2017-01-12 02:04, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-01-12 01:53

GarryRicketson wrote:
serpastorg > And another question; what does "full blob" mean?
I'm Spanish-speaking and I don't know about a lot of idioms... and I didn't hear that before


https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_large_object


Excuse me... I didn't get it :(
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-01-12 02:10

Ok, sorry on that,...looking at it closer, it is not translated very well
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_large_object
A Binary Large OBject (BLOB) is a collection of binary data stored as a single entity in a database management system. Blobs are typically images, audio or other multimedia objects, though sometimes binary executable code is stored as a blob. Database support for blobs is not universal.

Even the english explanation is kind of hard to follow,..

In Spanish:
Un objeto binario grande (BLOB) es una colección de datos binarios almacenados como una sola entidad en un sistema de gestión de bases de datos. Las "blobs" y "full blobs" son típicamente imágenes, audio u otros objetos multimedia, aunque a veces el código binario ejecutable se almacena como un blob.

I don't know how else to explain it better either in English or Spanish,...
Trying to put it simple, it is a method of writing the program, and code,
and the finished "package" is a "Full Blob", to go into details would probably
be a entirely different topic.
---edited---
This might help to understand better :
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blob_binario
Or for those that prefer, in English:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_blob
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-01-12 02:28

Got it!
Thank you :)
The closed drivers on their final version :mrgreen:
I'll install Jessie.
The key message of this experience is: Testing things are for developers...
And I'm not developer... yet
I'm a mathematics student who need his computer working well :wink:
Last edited by serpastorg on 2017-01-12 03:14, edited 2 times in total.
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-01-12 02:34

Ok, and I think that is better to use the Debian Jessie,
instead of "testing " or stretch,...
In your case the "full blob" or maybe a more common term "binary blob"
really does not matter,...but since you asked , ok well any way I hope
it works better with Jessie.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-01-12 02:58

I think it's a bug with amd64-microcode package...
I made a report with reportbug saying it makes CPU Stalls
Thanks
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-01-12 12:31

To clarify:
I wrote:full blob

I meant that you could try using the proprietary driver, hence the link provided :)

The open driver still needs proprietary firmware to operate properly but at least the userspace code is known to us.
“Such is modern computing: everything simple is made too complicated because it’s easy to fiddle with; everything complicated stays complicated because it’s hard to fix." — Rob Pike

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6419
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby stevepusser » 2017-01-13 22:51

The MX Linux fglrx version here uses a patch from the Arch AUR that gets it working on 64-bit 4.9 kernels, but it's a no-go for 32-bit:

http://main.mepis-deb.org/mx/testrepo/p ... rx-driver/
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.2.1, Liquorix kernel 4.10-2, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8070
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby smoki » 2017-01-14 05:20

stevepusser wrote:The MX Linux fglrx version here uses a patch from the Arch AUR that gets it working on 64-bit 4.9 kernels, but it's a no-go for 32-bit:

http://main.mepis-deb.org/mx/testrepo/p ... rx-driver/


He, he, i don't like how that is patched :D You really only need following two simple patches (and then that patch for 4.9) on top of current bpo patch collection :lol: (1:15.12-2~bpo8+3) and everything should work in down compatible way for released kernels on both 32bit and 64bit OS.

Code: Select all
Index: fglrx-driver-15.12/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
===================================================================
--- fglrx-driver-15.12.orig/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
+++ fglrx-driver-15.12/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
@@ -1722,6 +1722,9 @@ void ATI_API_CALL KCL_SetCurrentProcessS
 
 #if defined(__i386__)
 #ifndef __HAVE_ARCH_CMPXCHG
+#ifndef __xg
+#define __xg(x) ((volatile long *)(x))
+#endif
 static inline
 unsigned long __fgl_cmpxchg(volatile void *ptr, unsigned long old,           
                         unsigned long new, int size)                     


Code: Select all
Index: fglrx-driver-15.12.orig/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
===================================================================
--- fglrx-driver-15.12.orig.orig/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
+++ fglrx-driver-15.12.orig/common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c
@@ -289,7 +289,7 @@ module_param(firegl, charp, 0);
 #endif
 
 #ifdef MODULE_LICENSE
-MODULE_LICENSE("Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY");
+MODULE_LICENSE("GPL\0Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY");
 #endif
 #ifdef MODULE_DEVICE_TABLE
 MODULE_DEVICE_TABLE(pci, fglrx_pci_table);
User avatar
smoki
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2011-08-03 05:04
Location: Srbija, kude snajka posvađa dva sina

Re: CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby serpastorg » 2017-02-24 16:35

I was on a hospital the last month... :(
I couldn't read your messages, and I apologize for that.
I installed Jessie with 4.8.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 kernel and the correspondent propietary firmware from backports.
It works pretty good. RadeonSI driver has a good behavior. Good enough to use it instead of fglrx. And microcode from backports doesn't make CPU Stalls.
Even more, fglrx got just 1 GB of my VRAM working (my laptop has 1GB from A8 and 2GB from the VGA card), meanwhile RadeonSI from backports got the whole 3GB working :)
Someday, I think, people could use another thing that I'd like to have, that is OpenCL :)
In summary, It was a controller's problem, and RadeonSI driver is good enough to use instead of fglrx.
I learnt that one have to use the stable version of an OS if one have to use it for productivity, and that's what I'm looking for.
Thanks a lot to everyone who wrote on this thread. I'll mark it as SOLVED,
serpastorg
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2016-11-18 00:16
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Re: [SOLVED] CPU Stall on AMD A8 Radeon R5

Postby stevepusser » 2017-02-24 19:12

Thanks for the suggested patches--I added them and built Wheezy and Jessie versions: https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... lrx-driver

Since the dkms versions build from source and the non-free parts are the same binary blobs for everyone, there's a pretty good chance that they will also build and work on Stretch...barring any shenanigans that might arise from Stretch using gcc-6 by default.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.4, Pale Moon 27.2.1, Liquorix kernel 4.10-2, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.1, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8070
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable