Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby banderas20 » 2017-02-10 14:21

Hi all,

I'm using Debian Jessie and I can't get WiFi card to work.

It's listed in lspci, in lshw and in /etc/network/interfaces. However, if I do
Code: Select all
rfkill list
0: hci0: Bluetooth
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no


lshw -C network

*-network
description: Ethernet interface
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface


In GNOME the Wifi option is there, but greyed out.

¿Any help?

Thanks!
banderas20
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby bigrigdriver » 2017-02-10 16:06

Here is the HowTo setup wifi from the Debian wiki.
https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse
Registered GNU/Linux user #170078

Go as google before you ask on these boards.

It it isn't broken, Tweak It !!!
bigrigdriver
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2014-09-01 17:04
Location: East Central Illinois, USA

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby banderas20 » 2017-02-12 16:46

bigrigdriver wrote:Here is the HowTo setup wifi from the Debian wiki.
https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse


Thanks. I've already tried everything with no result.

If I run

iwlist scan

it displays a whole bunch of networks, which means the hardware is working properly.

The thing is my ssid is not broadcasted. I configure it in

Code: Select all
/etc/network/interfaces

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid my_SSID
wpa-psk hash_of_WPA
wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK



and in wpa_supplicant.conf as:

Code: Select all
network={
       ssid="my_SSID"
       psk=hash_of_WPA
       key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
       proto=WPA
       scan_ssid=1
 }


Then I make ifup wlan0

And still not working..

¿Any clue?

I want to remark that my SSID is NOT BROADCASTED.

Thanks!
banderas20
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby edbarx » 2017-02-13 06:38

So, your networking interfaces are recognised, but you cannot connect to a wifi hotspot. My suggestion is to comment the lines following "iface wlan0 inet dhcp". Keep security settings in wpa_supplicant.conf. I have discarded using ifupdown as it fails to connect to OPEN wifi hotspots. These days I use a low level method to connect except for wired connections that are excellently managed automatically by the operating system.

My method goes something like this:
Code: Select all
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 essid mycoolessid
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -B -c /path/to/wpa_supplicant.conf
dhclient -v wlan0


All the above require root privileges.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5378
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-02-13 07:57

banderas20 wrote:
Code: Select all
wpa-psk hash_of_WPA

Please post the exact command that you used to generate this "hash_of_WPA", whatever that means.

Also, a wpa_supplicant configuration file is *not* needed for Debian's ifupdown connection method.

Finally, "hiding" your SSID does *not* improve security in any way whatsoever so you should probably stop that, if you can ;)
“Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming."Brian Kernighan

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby banderas20 » 2017-02-13 15:19

@edbarx

Thanks. I'll give it a go and provide feedback on the results.

@Head_on_a_Stick.

Sure! From https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse#wpa_supplicant

2. Use the WPA passphrase to calculate the correct WPA PSK hash for your SSID by altering the following example:

Code: Select all
$ wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase


The above command gives the output:

Code: Select all
network={
        ssid="myssid"
        #psk="my_very_secret_passphrase"
        psk=ccb290fd4fe6b22935cbae31449e050edd02ad44627b16ce0151668f5f53c01b
}


you'll need to copy from "psk=" to the end of the line, to put in your /etc/network/interfaces file.


Thank you all.
banderas20
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-02-14 20:46

Did you type in "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" or did you use your actual SSID and password?

Have you tried broadcasting your SSID, as I suggested?

Your laptop will broadcast the SSID once it is connected so there really is no benefit to be had from "hiding" it.
“Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming."Brian Kernighan

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Postby banderas20 » 2017-02-17 13:14

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Did you type in "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" or did you use your actual SSID and password?

Have you tried broadcasting your SSID, as I suggested?

Your laptop will broadcast the SSID once it is connected so there really is no benefit to be had from "hiding" it.


I typed "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" as the documentation states. I don't want to broadcast mi ssid. It's a personal issue by now.

@edbarx.

I have done as you have said and I have been able to achieve this:
Code: Select all
ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr [edited] 
          inet addr:192.168.1.150  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::de85:deff:fec5:98ca/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7367 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5839 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:9514836 (9.0 MiB)  TX bytes:640368 (625.3 KiB)


But I still cannot access to network. If i set eth0 down, then I have no connectivity at all.

BTW, it's very strange that in

Code: Select all
/etc/network/interfaces

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


I only have "lo". Nothing about eth0. But yet it works.
So I don't see eth0 but I have connectivity. I do see wlan0 but I can't connect.
I don't understant nothing at all. :( :( :(

BTW, i have two
Code: Select all
wpa_supplicant.conf
files
Code: Select all
/etc/dbus-1/system.d/wpa_supplicant.conf
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


Thanks!

EDIT: Unplugged Ethernet cable and WiFi worked like a charm :evil: . ¿Why?
banderas20
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

fashionable