Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Getting sound to work

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Getting sound to work

#1 Post by blkwolf »

I recently installed Debian GNU/Linux 8. I can't get audio to work though.

Code: Select all

lspci | grep audio
doesn't show my sound card. Any help would be appreciated!

Segfault
Posts: 993
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Getting sound to work

#2 Post by Segfault »

Code: Select all

lspci -nnk | grep -A1 -i audio

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#3 Post by blkwolf »

Segfault wrote:

Code: Select all

lspci -nnk | grep -A1 -i audio
rebooted and it displays the card, but still no sound

Code: Select all

$ lspci -nnk | grep -A1 -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:3a3e]
	Subsystem: Sony Corporation Device [104d:9060]
this is an old AIO pc, has an HDMI output, but I want to use the onboard speakers. Not sure if that has anything to do with it

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#4 Post by blkwolf »

here's some more info:

Code: Select all

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC889 Analog [ALC889 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC889 Digital [ALC889 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xfcff8000 irq 47

$ amixer
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65536
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 57520 [88%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 57520 [88%] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 65536
  Front Left: Capture 31609 [48%] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 31609 [48%] [on]

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Getting sound to work

#5 Post by debiman »

did you unmute the relevant channels?
you can use 'alsamixer' for that.
if you use pulseaudio, you should additionally also check pa settings.

IF that doesn't help, post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci -k | grep -iA5 audio

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#6 Post by blkwolf »

debiman wrote:did you unmute the relevant channels?
you can use 'alsamixer' for that.
if you use pulseaudio, you should additionally also check pa settings.

IF that doesn't help, post the output of

Code: Select all

lspci -k | grep -iA5 audio
when i enter alsamixer it just shows master, then when i press f6 for sound card i go from default down to 0 HDA Intel; nothing is muted, pressed ESC

Code: Select all

$ lspci -k | grep -iA5 audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
	Subsystem: Sony Corporation Device 9060
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 1
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 2

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Getting sound to work

#7 Post by phenest »

Can you please confirm if you are using PulseAudio or not. And what desktop environment you're using.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#8 Post by blkwolf »

phenest wrote:Can you please confirm if you are using PulseAudio or not. And what desktop environment you're using.
How do I know if I'm using pulseaudio or not?

Gnome Version 3.14.1
Debian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie) 64-bit

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#9 Post by blkwolf »

I checked with another distro using a live usb and that distro doesnt play sound either

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#10 Post by blkwolf »

i plugged in a speaker to the headphone jack and volume works from there?

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Getting sound to work

#11 Post by debiman »

blkwolf wrote:Gnome Version 3.14.1
Debian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie) 64-bit
if you use gnome it's safe to assume that you do use pulseaudio.
debiman wrote:if you use pulseaudio, you should additionally also check pa settings.

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Getting sound to work

#12 Post by phenest »

blkwolf wrote:i plugged in a speaker to the headphone jack and volume works from there?
As you're using Gnome, go to Gnome Settings > Sound. Can you change the output to something like "Speakers - Built-in Audio" for example?
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
blkwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-03-27 15:20

Re: Getting sound to work

#13 Post by blkwolf »

phenest wrote:
blkwolf wrote:i plugged in a speaker to the headphone jack and volume works from there?
As you're using Gnome, go to Gnome Settings > Sound. Can you change the output to something like "Speakers - Built-in Audio" for example?
Yeah, I've checked those settings but stlil the same problem. No audio. I've checked other distros and it's the same problem

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: Getting sound to work

#14 Post by tomair »

try install 'pavucontrol' it works for me
on air with my debian

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Getting sound to work

#15 Post by debiman »

blkwolf wrote:No audio. I've checked other distros and it's the same problem
since your audio drivers seem to be ok, it could be a hardware issue...

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Getting sound to work

#16 Post by phenest »

debiman wrote:if you use gnome it's safe to assume that you do use pulseaudio.
It depends how you installed Gnome. I wouldn't assume anything at this point.

@OP:
What's the output of:

Code: Select all

dpkg-query -l pulseaudio
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

Post Reply