Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 12:55

lspci -v show this:
06:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Dell QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
Memory at f7d00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
Expansion ROM at f7d80000 [disabled] [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/4 Maskable+ 64bit+
Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
Kernel driver in use: ath9k
Kernel modules: ath9k


I tried to install "firmware-iwlwifi_20161130-2_all.deb"
Also tried: "apt-get update && apt-get install firmware-atheros"
But blueman-applet still shows "No adapters found" when I select "Setup new device".

Currently I have this in sources.list:
# deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch main
# deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main
# deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch main contrib non-free
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free


those 3 top and 3 bottom lines are excluding each other - free and non-free lines shouldn't be both uncommented, right ?
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 13:43

This card doesn't require any firmware; drivers are open source and are included with Stretch, firmware-atheros is not required.

Not sure why you'd install iwlwifi as that's for Intel cards :)

lspci says the correct driver is loaded; here's what I'd do -

As root, run
Code: Select all
iw list


to get the name of your wireless adapter. Then also as root, run

Code: Select all
iw dev wlan0 scan


assuming wlan0 is the name of your wireless card. If not, the name will be listed in iw list.

If your wireless card sees any wireless access points at all wireless is working.

On bluetooth, I found many references to BT not working in Linux with this card. Someone got it working in Arch, but so far I've seen no joy with Debian or it's derivatives. Sorry I couldn't help there -

ps - your sources.list is fine. You can delete the commented lines if you want.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 14:13

Where is name here ?
I tried
Code: Select all
 iw dev phy0 scan
got this:
Code: Select all
command failed: No such device (-19)

iw list
Wiphy phy0
max # scan SSIDs: 4
max scan IEs length: 2257 bytes
max # sched scan SSIDs: 0
max # match sets: 0
max # scan plans: 1
max scan plan interval: -1
max scan plan iterations: 0
Retry short limit: 7
Retry long limit: 4
Coverage class: 0 (up to 0m)
Device supports RSN-IBSS.
Device supports AP-side u-APSD.
Device supports T-DLS.
Supported Ciphers:
* WEP40 (00-0f-ac:1)
* WEP104 (00-0f-ac:5)
* TKIP (00-0f-ac:2)
* CCMP-128 (00-0f-ac:4)
* CCMP-256 (00-0f-ac:10)
* GCMP-128 (00-0f-ac:8)
* GCMP-256 (00-0f-ac:9)
* CMAC (00-0f-ac:6)
* CMAC-256 (00-0f-ac:13)
* GMAC-128 (00-0f-ac:11)
* GMAC-256 (00-0f-ac:12)
Available Antennas: TX 0x1 RX 0x3
Configured Antennas: TX 0x1 RX 0x3
Supported interface modes:
* IBSS
* managed
* AP
* AP/VLAN
* WDS
* monitor
* mesh point
* P2P-client
* P2P-GO
* outside context of a BSS
Band 1:
Capabilities: 0x116e
HT20/HT40
SM Power Save disabled
RX HT20 SGI
RX HT40 SGI
RX STBC 1-stream
Max AMSDU length: 3839 bytes
DSSS/CCK HT40
Maximum RX AMPDU length 65535 bytes (exponent: 0x003)
Minimum RX AMPDU time spacing: 8 usec (0x06)
HT TX/RX MCS rate indexes supported: 0-7
Bitrates (non-HT):
* 1.0 Mbps
* 2.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
* 5.5 Mbps (short preamble supported)
* 11.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
* 6.0 Mbps
* 9.0 Mbps
* 12.0 Mbps
* 18.0 Mbps
* 24.0 Mbps
* 36.0 Mbps
* 48.0 Mbps
* 54.0 Mbps
Frequencies:
* 2412 MHz [1] (16.0 dBm)
* 2417 MHz [2] (16.0 dBm)
* 2422 MHz [3] (16.0 dBm)
* 2427 MHz [4] (16.0 dBm)
* 2432 MHz [5] (16.0 dBm)
* 2437 MHz [6] (16.0 dBm)
* 2442 MHz [7] (16.0 dBm)
* 2447 MHz [8] (16.0 dBm)
* 2452 MHz [9] (16.0 dBm)
* 2457 MHz [10] (16.0 dBm)
* 2462 MHz [11] (16.0 dBm)
* 2467 MHz [12] (16.0 dBm) (no IR)
* 2472 MHz [13] (16.0 dBm) (no IR)
* 2484 MHz [14] (18.0 dBm) (no IR)
Supported commands:
* new_interface
* set_interface
* new_key
* start_ap
* new_station
* new_mpath
* set_mesh_config
* set_bss
* authenticate
* associate
* deauthenticate
* disassociate
* join_ibss
* join_mesh
* remain_on_channel
* set_tx_bitrate_mask
* frame
* frame_wait_cancel
* set_wiphy_netns
* set_channel
* set_wds_peer
* tdls_mgmt
* tdls_oper
* probe_client
* set_noack_map
* register_beacons
* start_p2p_device
* set_mcast_rate
* channel_switch
* set_qos_map
* connect
* disconnect
Supported TX frame types:
* IBSS: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* managed: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* AP: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* mesh point: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* P2P-client: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* P2P-GO: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
* P2P-device: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
Supported RX frame types:
* IBSS: 0x40 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
* managed: 0x40 0xd0
* AP: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
* AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
* mesh point: 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
* P2P-client: 0x40 0xd0
* P2P-GO: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
* P2P-device: 0x40 0xd0
software interface modes (can always be added):
* AP/VLAN
* monitor
valid interface combinations:
* #{ managed } <= 2048, #{ AP, mesh point } <= 8, #{ P2P-client, P2P-GO } <= 1,
total <= 2048, #channels <= 1, STA/AP BI must match
* #{ WDS } <= 2048,
total <= 2048, #channels <= 1, STA/AP BI must match
HT Capability overrides:
* MCS: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
* maximum A-MSDU length
* supported channel width
* short GI for 40 MHz
* max A-MPDU length exponent
* min MPDU start spacing
Device supports TX status socket option.
Device supports HT-IBSS.
Device supports SAE with AUTHENTICATE command
Device supports low priority scan.
Device supports scan flush.
Device supports AP scan.
Device supports per-vif TX power setting
P2P GO supports CT window setting
Driver supports full state transitions for AP/GO clients
Driver supports a userspace MPM
Device supports active monitor (which will ACK incoming frames)
Driver/device bandwidth changes during BSS lifetime (AP/GO mode)
Device supports configuring vdev MAC-addr on create.
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 14:26

rs7000 wrote:Where is name here ?
I tried
Code: Select all
 iw dev phy0 scan
got this:
Code: Select all
command failed: No such device (-19)


Well, that didn't work so well as the name of your wireless interface should start with a w, like wlan0 or wlp3s0. Try as root -

Code: Select all
ifconfig -a


This command is deprecated in Linux but is still available and will spit out the name of your wireless adapter.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 14:28

Code: Select all
wlp6s0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 96:0e:dd:e5:84:d5  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Code: Select all
iw dev wlp6s0 scan
command failed: Network is down (-100)
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 14:35

Cool. Now we're getting somewhere :)

Next, as root:

Code: Select all
ip link set wlp6s0 up


You really shouldn't have to do that, but it might help.

If that doesn't work, install rfkill and as root:

Code: Select all
rfkill list


This should give us some more information.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 15:41

Code: Select all
# ip link set wlp6s0 up
RTNETLINK answers: Operation not possible due to RF-kill


Code: Select all
# rfkill list
0: dell-rbtn: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: yes
   Hard blocked: no
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 15:43

Excellent. Next, as root -

Code: Select all
rfkill unblock all


You may or may not have to bring wlp6s0 up after that. If that doesn't work then there's a deeper kernel or driver issue.

Hope this works :)
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 15:51

Code: Select all
# rfkill unblock all
# ip link set wlp6s0 up
# rfkill list
0: dell-rbtn: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 15:55

So does it work?
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 15:57

Blueman still tels 'No adapters found' (if click Setup New Device).
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-05-16 16:03

rs7000 wrote:Blueman still tels 'No adapters found' (if click Setup New Device).


As mentioned above I'm pretty sure it's not gonna work. There are bunches of google hits for 'linux QCA9565 bluetooth' and none of them look real promising. Sorry :(
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Can't get my Wi-Fi working.

Postby rs7000 » 2017-05-16 16:07

Ok, thanks for attention.
rs7000
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-05-12 09:24


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable