4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graphics?

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graphics?

Postby akrueger » 2017-05-20 19:41

Hopefully I do not violate any forum rules with this, then please forgive me, and tell me, I am quite new here.

This is a crosspost from subforum 17, but over here you hardware experts are probably really knowledgeable. That thread 644746 in forum 17 is useful because it contains several problems that any Dell 5378 newbie might encounter - and solves them one by one. But now to my ...

GRAPHICS PIXEL RESOLUTION question:

akrueger wrote:Got a 4K screen working on Windows, on a Dell 13-5378 (Inspiron 13 5000 i5).
3840 pixels × 2160 (via HDMI, only 30Hz because 60Hz would need DisplayPort).

Now same hardware, with Debian stretch testing
... I only get a max resolution of 2048 x 1152

My Debian & machine is this:

Code: Select all
uname -a
Linux Dell13-5378 4.9.0-2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.18-1 (2017-03-30) x86_64 GNU/Linux

inxi -GSM
System:    Host: Dell13-5378 Kernel: 4.9.0-2-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7
           Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Dell product: Inspiron 13-5378
           Mobo: Dell model: 0P87CH v: A00 UEFI: Dell v: 1.6.1 date: 02/13/2017
Battery    BAT0: charge: 36.8 Wh 109.3% condition: 33.7/36.8 Wh (92%)
Graphics:  Card: Intel Device 5916
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.05hz, 2048x1152@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 620 (Kabylake GT2) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6

There is more info about this same machine in this thread.


What to do now? I had the same problem = max resolution of 2048 x 1152 with an older Laptop - that Intel 3000 card just cannot render more pixels. However, this new one has an Intel 620, and as mentioned, I got the full 4K working on Windows. Beautiful. Not gonna live on Windows much longer though - so please help me on Debian now. Thanks.

Thanks a lot!



EDIT: Tried:
Code: Select all
xrandr --output HDMI-1 --mode 3840x2160_30.00
xrandr: cannot find mode 3840x2160_30.00


Then following some forum thread, I've tried this:
Code: Select all
cvt 3840 2160 30.00
# 3840x2160 29.98 Hz (CVT) hsync: 65.96 kHz; pclk: 338.75 MHz
Modeline "3840x2160_30.00"  338.75  3840 4080 4488 5136  2160 2163 2168 2200 -hsync +vsync

xrandr --newmode "3840x2160_30.00"  338.75  3840 4080 4488 5136  2160 2163 2168 2200 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-1 3840x2160_30.00
xrandr


But:
Code: Select all
xrandr --output HDMI-1 --mode 3840x2160_30.00
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
Last edited by akrueger on 2017-06-08 12:08, edited 1 time in total.
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-05-20 22:28

akrueger » I am quite new here.


Forum guidelines.Please read before first post!
Before you start using Debian User Forums, please observe the following guidelines:

1. Do not cross post. Posting the same topic in more than one category only creates confusion and makes it hard to keep track on the various replies. Double posts will be locked.

akrueger » This is a crosspost from subforum ----snip---


The problem that has been created now, is that some people will read the post
here:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=131162&start=30#p644746
And then reply to it there.
Others will read this one, That you copied/pasted here, and not having noticed yet, they will reply here,..Please do not do this, "Cross Posting", posting duplicate posts on various boards just causes a lot of confusion.
akrueger »---but over here you hardware experts are probably really knowledgeable.

There is no special group or different group, that gives advice here, it is all the same forum.
"What we expect you have already Done"

Before doing anything, read the Debian documentation:
Debian Documentation
How to ask the smart way
Debian Foro Español
======================
For the Birds
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby akrueger » 2017-05-28 19:41

Hi Garry, thanks for the information about forum policies. Will try to comply in the future.
However, what you said hasn't happened, for an unexpected reason: NO ONE has answered, to neither those posts :(

As this is one question about one part of the hardware (the other thread solves about a dozen questions, all related to the Dell 5378) ...

... please people, better answer here, into this thread.

So anyone ... please ...
... can I have 4K really only on Windows, not in Debian?
Any hints what I could try out?
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-05-28 23:05

Ok, well , your welcome,... and honestly I don't know the answer to your question,
so that is why I don't say any more,...
My guess is others don't know either, other wise they would give a answer or suggestion.
"What we expect you have already Done"

Before doing anything, read the Debian documentation:
Debian Documentation
How to ask the smart way
Debian Foro Español
======================
For the Birds
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby sunrat » 2017-05-29 01:14

This crossposting is confusing me. The other thread was started about a different issue so it may have been better to start a new thread rather than tacking it on. Best to carry on in this thread for this issue IMO.

I had 4K working on a Skylake system with Jessie + backport kernel and firmware so it should work in Stretch (since disabled Intel graphics and using Nvidia GTX970). Your system is Kabylake so may be different. You may need the package intel-microcode.
Also I notice your system is using modesetting driver. I'm not sure but think it should be using intel driver. Not sure how to fix that.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby Kryten » 2017-05-29 02:40

Im running stretch at 4K 60 Hz with no problems via HDMI output from nvidia GTX 950 card.
xrandr
Code: Select all
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 1600mm x 900mm
   3840x2160     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    29.97    25.00    23.98 
   4096x2160     59.94    50.00    29.97    25.00    24.00    23.98 
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94    50.00    29.97    25.00    23.97    60.05    60.00    50.04 
   1360x768      60.02 
   1280x1024     60.02 
   1280x720      59.94    50.00 
   1152x864      60.00 
   1024x768      60.00 
   800x600       60.32 
   720x576       50.00 
   720x480       59.94 
   640x480       59.95    59.94    59.93 
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Probably a driver/kernel problem.I would try a more cutting edge distro for that integrated graphics.Does ubuntu 17.04 work ?
Kryten
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-11-05 01:32

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-08 11:47

sunrat wrote:I had 4K working on a Skylake system ... Your system is Kabylake so may be different.


I have found an article about the differences: http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/review/graph ... dynamicAd1
4K video
First, Kaby Lake has an upgraded graphics chip which supports encoding and decoding HEVC. This is the latest video codec which is designed for 4K video and it means a Kaby Lake chip will let you watch Netflix, Amazon or any other 4K video in HEVC format without sweating. It also supports VP9 decoding, which is Google’s codec designed to compete with HEVC.
Since the GPU is handling the load here, the CPU cores can be put to use for other things, so your PC won’t grind to a halt while you watch. Also, Kaby Lake supports HDCP 2.2 which, put simply, is the copy protection used for 4K video and you’ll need it to hook up a compatible monitor and watch copy-protected UHD content.
It’s a real boon for laptops, since native support for HEVC and VP9 means the processor doesn’t have to work as hard as a Skylake chip would – it would have to use its CPU cores to decode the video – and therefore battery life should be longer when watching 4K video. Intel says that it can be up to 260 percent better, in fact.


In contrast to you two ...
sunrat wrote:I had 4K working ... (since disabled Intel graphics and using Nvidia GTX970)

Kryten wrote:Im running stretch at 4K 60 Hz with no problems via HDMI output from nvidia GTX 950 card.

... I have no (e.g. nvidia) GPU,
just the "Intel Device 5916 ... Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 620 (Kabylake GT2) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6".

sunrat wrote:I had 4K working on a Skylake system with Jessie + backport kernel and firmware so it should work in Stretch

which kernel number?

sunrat wrote:You may need the package intel-microcode.

installed, rebooted - no change. Max resolution stays at xrandr ... 2048x1152 60.00*


I have now also asked in the intel forum: https://communities.intel.com/message/480013


sunrat wrote:Also I notice your system is using modesetting driver. I'm not sure but think it should be using intel driver. Not sure how to fix that.

anyone else knows that?

Thanks a lot!
Andreas
Last edited by akrueger on 2017-06-08 12:40, edited 1 time in total.
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-08 11:58

akrueger wrote:
sunrat wrote:Also I notice your system is using modesetting driver. I'm not sure but think it should be using intel driver. Not sure how to fix that.

anyone else knows that?


This archlinux page https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/in ... stallation says:

Note: Some (Debian & Ubuntu, Fedora, KDE) recommend not installing the xf86-video-intel driver, and instead falling back on the modesetting driver for fourth generation and newer GPUs. See [1], [2], Xorg#Installation, and modesetting(4).


So is it a conscious Debian decision, to go for 'modesetting' ? And 'modesetting' does not support 4K ?
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-08 12:05

akrueger wrote: xf86-video-intel driver


How to install that?

Code: Select all
apt install xf86-video-intel
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xf86-video-intel

Code: Select all
apt-cache search video-intel
xserver-xorg-video-intel - X.Org X server -- Intel i8xx, i9xx display driver
xserver-xorg-video-intel-dbg - X.Org X server -- Intel i8xx, i9xx display driver (debug symbols)

Code: Select all
apt install xserver-xorg-video-intel
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
xserver-xorg-video-intel is already the newest version (2:2.99.917+git20161206-1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 3 not upgraded.


So that was already there. What do try now? Thanks!

akrueger wrote:
sunrat wrote:Also I notice your system is using modesetting driver. I'm not sure but think it should be using intel driver. Not sure how to fix that.


anyone else knows that?

Thanks a lot! Andreas
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-08 12:12

Those who got 4K working, please post the results of these commands

Code: Select all
uname -a
inxi -GSM
xrandr

which other commands could help to debug this?

thanks
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby sunrat » 2017-06-08 22:14

akrueger wrote:
sunrat wrote:I had 4K working on a Skylake system with Jessie + backport kernel and firmware so it should work in Stretch

which kernel number?

It was about a year ago, probably 4.6 or so.
As I said, now changed to Nvidia so current info irrelevant.

I haven't heard of anyone else here using KabyLake yet, so no experience of differences that we can help with, or whether it's a kernel thing or config. This is a users forum, not devs or otherwise experts.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) ?

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-09 14:59

Thanks a lot.
sunrat wrote:This is a users forum, not devs or otherwise experts.

Where would you point me to, there must be experts out there who have more knowledge about this than us users, right? Where do they gather?
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby sunrat » 2017-06-09 22:22

Looks like support is still a work in progress, meaning maybe kernel 4.11:
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... e-Patching

https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=d ... ui=english
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-09 22:32

Ah, now that could explain it. So ... then perhaps it's still Windows for now, and trying Linux again in autumn.

As you can see above I had thought it was a question of config, and finding the right software and drivers. But ... there aren't any yet. Good to know.

Thanks a lot! Very helpful info!

Enjoy your weekend.
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby sunrat » 2017-06-09 23:38

You may not need to wait so long. 4.11 is in experimental repo now so you can try it at your own risk. Nothing to lose, I guess. I imagine it will move to unstable shortly after next week's Stretch release.
Kernel upstream are now working on 4.13.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: peer and 6 guests

fashionable