4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graphics?

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-20 21:34

sunrat wrote:You may not need to wait so long. 4.11 is in experimental repo now so you can try it at your own risk. Nothing to lose, I guess. I imagine it will move to unstable shortly after next week's Stretch release.
Kernel upstream are now working on 4.13.


Fantastic, thanks
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-20 21:39

The newest I could find was '4.10.0-rc6-amd64'

Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/experimental.list
sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-cache search linux-image -t experimental

sudo apt-get -t experimental install linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
sudo reboot

sudo aptitude search ~S~i~Aexperimental
i   linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64                                       - Linux 4.10-rc6 for 64-bit PCs (signed)


but (a) same max video resolution, and (b) then virtualbox stopped working.

Code: Select all
sudo /sbin/vboxconfig
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package linux-headers-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
E: Couldn't find any package by glob 'linux-headers-4.10.0-rc6-amd64'
E: Couldn't find any package by regex 'linux-headers-4.10.0-rc6-amd64'

tail /var/log/vbox-install.log
Makefile:186: *** Error: unable to find the sources of your current Linux kernel. Specify KERN_DIR=<directory> and run Make again.  Stop.


I was really happy to be able to go back to 4.9.0.3 - but now I have to choose that manually when booting.

Can I just do an

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64


?

Thx
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby stevepusser » 2017-06-20 21:50

You don't have the linux-headers package for the newer kernel installed. VB needs those to build its kernel drivers, as do proprietary video drivers. An easy way to install headers for the running kernel is to install module-assistant and run

Code: Select all
m-a prepare


as root or with sudo.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8935
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby sunrat » 2017-06-20 23:15

“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby stevepusser » 2017-06-21 00:38

I know the newest Virtual Box has no problems building against the 4.11 headers, so that's one thing you don't need to worry about.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8935
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-22 18:35

Thanks A LOT!

Might have to postpone until after holidays, and then it might have changed again. Do not know how to access sid repo yet, but probably similar to experimental repo, right?


Until then, to get rid of the default booting of the wrong kernel, can I just do an

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64


without danger ?

I now always have to manually select the 4.9 in the boot manager.

Thx
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-22 18:41

by akrueger »Do not know how to access sid repo yet, but probably similar to experimental repo, right?



how to access sid repo
------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://wiki.debian.org/DebianUnstable
------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://wiki.debian.org/DebianUnstable#Does_Sid_have_package_.27.27foo.27.27.3F
How do I install Sid?

The canonical answer is: Debian does not release unstable. You can only upgrade to it from testing. You do that by editing /etc/apt/sources.list and changing your sources from testing to unstable. (If you've currently got an installation of stable, then you should upgrade to testing first and then to unstable.)

The same would apply to your packages, the sources.list file would point t "unstable"
It might not be such a good idea to do this though,..you should read all of the documentation, to be sure if that is really what you want to do.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4438
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-06-22 19:41

thx

to get rid of the default booting of the wrong kernel, can I just do an

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64


without danger ?

I now always have to manually select the 4.9 in the boot manager.

Thx
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-23 21:42

I am not sure on that, I was hoping somebody else might be able to give a answer,
so did not reply immediately.

Sorry,...
I now always have to manually select the 4.9 in the boot manager.

Maybe you need to configure the boot manager ,to use the 4.9 one first, is it Grub ?
I do not know exactly on that, and it would depend on the boot manager.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4438
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby milomak » 2017-06-24 12:41

yes you can just remove the kernel with apt
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-24 15:55

Thanks milomak,
I was worried about this, and concerned that the OP or somebody else, might remove it, and then not be able to boot, glad you have clarified on this.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4438
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby akrueger » 2017-07-21 13:00

Thanks a lot, it went well:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
After this operation, 189 MB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] Y
(Reading database ... 281665 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing linux-image-4.10.0-rc6-amd64 (4.10~rc6-1~exp2) ...
I: /vmlinuz is now a symlink to boot/vmlinuz-4.9.0-3-amd64
I: /initrd.img is now a symlink to boot/initrd.img-4.9.0-3-amd64
/etc/kernel/postrm.d/initramfs-tools:
update-initramfs: Deleting /boot/initrd.img-4.10.0-rc6-amd64
/etc/kernel/postrm.d/zz-update-grub:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background image: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/desktop-grub.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.9.0-3-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.9.0-3-amd64
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda1@/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
Adding boot menu entry for EFI firmware configuration
done

and rebooting still worked. No danger, very good.


Still don't know how to do 4K - but at least that always-having-to-choose-the-old-kernel, so that VirtualBox still works ... is gone again.

Any ideas when a 4K supporting kernel will become part of the standard Debian system?

Thanks.
akrueger
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2017-01-13 19:09

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby pylkko » 2017-07-21 17:54

Did you install the blob that Skylake + require
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby sunrat » 2017-07-22 01:37

pylkko wrote:Did you install the blob that Skylake + require

If you mean intel-microcode, OP installed it.

You won't get a newer kernel in Stretch unless someone backports it and puts it in backports repo. 4.11 is now in testing.
May be worth trying siduction which has firmware included and 4.11.11 kernel (probably 4.12 now, I haven't updated this week) currently if you dist-upgrade after installing. It is based on Sid though and has massive amounts of upgrades almost every day. I'm running it and it works well. You can try it live before installing. https://forum.siduction.org/index.php?board=22.0

It may not even be the kernel that is your problem. Until someone else reports they have a working Kaby Lake system with 4k, we can only guess.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 4K resolution in Debian stretch (testing) on INTEL graph

Postby pylkko » 2017-07-22 04:49

no. I mean the extra non-free video firmware. the blobs required for GuC and DMC etc. i forget the package's name.
don't know if this can make you not see 4k though...

edit: found it

https://packages.debian.org/sid/firmware-misc-nonfree
* Intel "Kabylake" DMC firmware, version 1.01
(i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_01.bin, i915/kbl_dmc_ver1.bin)
* Intel "Kabylake" GuC firmware, version 9.14
(i915/kbl_guc_ver9_14.bin)


According to Intel you also need huc for kbl, but I believe that it is for hevc
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable