Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Which hardwares need firmwares?

Need help with peripherals or devices?
zodac11

Which hardwares need firmwares?

#1 Post by zodac11 »

I am pretty new to linux, and loved it! I managed to understand and solve the problems about installations, apt, and basic commands, however I have not managed to understand one thing. Where can I check which hardwares do I have (like graphic card,sound card,touchpad etc.) and where to look for their drivers? If the drivers are already installed, how can I verify them?

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus

Re: Which hardwares need firmwares?

#2 Post by arochester »

The best test is: Does it work? Yes or No?

If it works, it works. If it ain't broke don't try to fix it.

You can use apps to find out about your hardware with things like:
lspci/lsusb
hardinfo
inxi

zodac11

#3 Post by zodac11 »

arochester wrote:The best test is: Does it work? Yes or No?

If it works, it works. If it ain't broke don't try to fix it.

You can use apps to find out about your hardware with things like:
lspci/lsusb
hardinfo
inxi
The problem is I am not sure if my graphics card is working or not. How to be sure that it works? There are certain things like the touchpad, it does work but does not have all the functions. USB's are also problematic to be understood if they are working with 3.0 speed or not. Is there some kind of hardware checking softwares apart from hardinfo which gives the main information but not the drivers?

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus

#4 Post by arochester »

Does your computer have a MAKE and MODEL so people might look it up?

dasein

#5 Post by dasein »

arochester wrote:Does your computer have a MAKE and MODEL so people might look it up?