Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Missing firmware drivers in Debian 9 on Asus X441UA

Need help with peripherals or devices?
ashikuzzaman.ar

Missing firmware drivers in Debian 9 on Asus X441UA

#1 Post by ashikuzzaman.ar »

Hello there,

I'm a new Debian user and I have been using Ubuntu since 7 years. I'm not a geek in Debian and I'm facing a lot of problem after installing fresh Debian 9. In live mode it's running very well. After installing It's showing that some firmware are missing and they are failed to load. I have listed some of them and they are: i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_01.bin, rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin, rtl_bt/rtl8723b_config.bin, rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw, rtl_bt/rtl8723b_fw.bin, etc with error code -2.

I found an article from this forum related to this topic, and this is the link http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=72645. In this article they described that if system runs file then ignore that warning. After booting my laptop all are functioning fine but if I restart wifi router then my system freezes and blinks and then session logged out after some time. In boot time system freezes too long time for this warning log. This is really a horrible problem!

If that firmwares are missing then why and how wifi, bluetooth and lan is working after booting the system. If they are working then why that is necessary to load another firmware.

As far I learn, those firmwares are non-free. If I don't want to use them then what is the procedure to avoid them and stop this warning messages. This process kills too many time in booting process. System crush or freezing is too annoying while working something important.