ACPI hardware issue

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

ACPI hardware issue

Postby pelomedusa » 2018-01-19 21:28

Hello,
I have a problem with my hardware and my debian shows a black screen. Right before the screen goes black, i can see this very quickly (pic below):


From what i can read:
Code: Select all
ACPI Error! [DSCP] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND (20160831/psargs-359)
ACPI Error! [DSCP] Method parse/execution failed (\_SB.PCIO.SATO.SPTS/_GTF)


If i boot with
Code: Select all
acpi=off
i can login and everything works

If i dont, the screen goes black but the shell is still working (i managed to blindly login and to reboot with
Code: Select all
sudo reboot


I have no idea where to start looking. If anyone could tell me which component failed and/or where to find more details, that would be greatly appreciated
Thank you

Image
pelomedusa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-01-19 21:15

Re: ACPI hardware issue

Postby dotlj » 2018-01-19 22:11

User avatar
dotlj
 
Posts: 591
Joined: 2009-12-25 17:21

Re: ACPI hardware issue

Postby pelomedusa » 2018-01-19 22:26

Thank you for your answers.


I think \_SB_.PCI0.LPCB.H_EC.ECAV means it's not the same component. Am i wrong?



AE_ALREADY_EXIST is not the same, i have AE_NOT_FOUND

or
[url]https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=222680[/url
Also, whenever problems like this, check logs.


Also, do you know if this is linked to the error i get in the screenshot (database may be corrupt)?
From what i understand these kind of errors are often linked to NVIDIA drivers, i'll check nvidia logs
pelomedusa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-01-19 21:15

Re: ACPI hardware issue

Postby dotlj » 2018-01-22 06:49

It would be helpful to list your hardware, especially GPU and CPU.

In installing you can modify the kernel boot line by pressing the 'e' key and add nomodeset after the kernel boot line. This may help prevent the problem if you have a newer Nvidia GPU.
For older Nvidia GPUs, you shouldn't need to add anything. Depending on the CPU and GPU, you may however need to modify this is /etc/default/grub or have problems when booting after the installation.
User avatar
dotlj
 
Posts: 591
Joined: 2009-12-25 17:21


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable