[SOLVED] R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics"

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

[SOLVED] R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics"

Postby Tenorio Boëchat » 2018-03-17 13:53

EDIT:
Old title: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to run"
----------------------------------------
Hi,

I'm getting this error when I start a game: Surviving Mars on Steam.
I search around and find that may be my driver. But happens that it alread is the newest version for Stretch.

I searched the manuals and guides, but found nothing specific about the subject.
Incidentally, I found notifications saying that support for the proprietary driver had been dropped.

Can anybody help? Is there a way to use SID driver or even instal the driver from AMD webPage?

Here is the collected information so far:
Code: Select all
$ lsmod | grep amdgpu
amdgpu               1138688  35
ttm                    98304  1 amdgpu
drm_kms_helper        155648  1 amdgpu
drm                   360448  17 amdgpu,ttm,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit           16384  1 amdgpu
mfd_core               16384  1 amdgpu

Code: Select all
$ apt install firmware-amd-graphics
.....
firmware-amd-graphics is already the newest version (20161130-3).

Code: Select all
$ lspci -v
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tonga PRO [Radeon R9 285/380] (rev f1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: XFX Pine Group Inc. Tonga PRO [Radeon R9 285/380]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 33, NUMA node 0
        Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=2M]
        I/O ports at e000 [size=256]
        Memory at fea00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
        Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information: Len=08 <?>
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [200] #15
        Capabilities: [270] #19
        Capabilities: [2b0] Address Translation Service (ATS)
        Capabilities: [2c0] Page Request Interface (PRI)
        Capabilities: [2d0] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
        Capabilities: [328] Alternative Routing-ID Interpretation (ARI)
        Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
        Kernel modules: amdgpu
Last edited by Tenorio Boëchat on 2018-03-17 23:02, edited 1 time in total.
Tenorio Boëchat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-03-17 13:15

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby acewiza » 2018-03-17 18:11

Tenorio Boëchat wrote:I search around and find that may be my driver. But happens that it alread is the newest version for Stretch.

What makes you believe it's a graphics driver issue? Absent further details, I'd be inclined to suspect an application misbehavior until you can find another Stretch R9 graphics runner with the same application (game) returning the same error message.
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.
User avatar
acewiza
 
Posts: 358
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby debiman » 2018-03-17 19:25

what openGL version does your graphics card/driver support?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-03-17 19:57

Tenorio Boëchat wrote:Incidentally, I found notifications saying that support for the proprietary driver had been dropped.

Can anybody help? Is there a way to use SID driver or even instal the driver from AMD webPage?

The open-source amdgpu driver is better is every way, don't bother with the proprietary version.

I'm not sure about OpenGL versions though, my Haswell laptop is pretty poor (Alpine Linux):
Code: Select all
Xanadu: ~ $ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 17.3.6
Xanadu: ~ $
Charlie don't hack
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby Tenorio Boëchat » 2018-03-17 20:44

acewiza wrote:What makes you believe it's a graphics driver issue? Absent further details, I'd be inclined to suspect an application misbehavior until you can find another Stretch R9 graphics runner with the same application (game) returning the same error message.

I found the same problem on game forun's solved by driver update.


debiman wrote:what openGL version does your graphics card/driver support?

This is a good question indeed. I search on AMD site and found nothing on "Radeon R9 280" page.
https://products.amd.com/en-us/search/D ... -R9-280/34

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:The open-source amdgpu driver is better is every way, don't bother with the proprietary version.

I'm not sure about OpenGL versions though, my Haswell laptop is pretty poor (Alpine Linux):
Code: Select all
Xanadu: ~ $ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 17.3.6
Xanadu: ~ $


Here is mine:
Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6

What does that mean? Is my grafics card even older than yours? Or is it just a matter of versions?

- - - - -
Looking at the result of the last command and not finding quotes about OpenGL support on the page ...
I begin to believe that this is the case. Mabe my solution is to buy a new video card.
Tenorio Boëchat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-03-17 13:15

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-03-17 20:48

Tenorio Boëchat wrote:Here is mine:
Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6

What does that mean? Is my grafics card even older than yours? Or is it just a matter of versions?

The Mesa version is because of software (Debian tends to have older packages) but I really don't know how the OpenGL version ties in (sorry).

I think `glxinfo` would show a higher OpenGL version if I had a SkyLake graphics chip (or similar) but I'm not 100% sure.
Charlie don't hack
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby stevepusser » 2018-03-17 22:18

Correct: :D
Code: Select all
$ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Skylake GT2 [HD Graphics 520]
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 179c
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 ) driver: intel Resolution: 1920x1080@60.01hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 520 (Skylake GT2) version: 4.5 Mesa 13.0.6
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.4, Pale Moon 27.9.4, wine-staging 3.12, MPC-QT 18.03, Linux kernel 4.17.8, Krita 4.1.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9729
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: R9 280 "You need an OpenGL 4.5-capable graphics card to

Postby Tenorio Boëchat » 2018-03-17 23:00

I found this:
https://pt.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%A9ri ... eon_R9_290
There I saw that OpenGL version to R9 family goes up to 4.3.
I do not know if it could be trusted, but it falls correctly with my findings.

Thanks to everyone who was willing to help me.

My problem now is: Prices are too high because of bitcoin mining.
Tenorio Boëchat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-03-17 13:15


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable