Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

No hardware rendering on new installation ??

Need help with peripherals or devices?
mwncimawr

No hardware rendering on new installation ??

#1 Post by mwncimawr »

I have installed Debian cinnamon but I have got a message saying that it is running in software rendering rather than hardware, can you help me, Im a newbie so please be gentle. Image

mwncimawr

Re: No hardware rendering on new installation ??

#2 Post by mwncimawr »

My system details Image

stevepusser

#3 Post by stevepusser »

If the command line doesn't freak you out, install inxi and report the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -G
for a better report that you can copy and paste here.

But if you're using the AMD free graphics driver, it requires non-free firmware. It's explained in the Debian wiki, but you can also directly download the package deb file and install it with "dpkg -i" or gdebi. https://packages.debian.org/stretch/fir ... d-graphics
MX Linux packager and developer

mwncimawr

#4 Post by mwncimawr »

Thanks for your help, does this help ?

I don't quite understand the second point, sorry.

mwncimawr

#5 Post by mwncimawr »

I have gdebi installed, but i dont really understand it :)

stevepusser

#6 Post by stevepusser »

From the link I gave you, download the deb package from the link as the bottom of the page. Open a terminal in the folder where the deb was downloaded, or navigate to it in the terminal, and run

gdebi <name_of_deb_file>
Hit Tab to see if the terminal will fill in the name of the deb file for you after you enter "gdebi".