Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

mouse pointer won't move on Stretch 9.3

Need help with peripherals or devices?
dadwhiskers

mouse pointer won't move on Stretch 9.3

#1 Post by dadwhiskers »

I did a full install of Stretch 9.3, and at boot the mouse pointer won't move. The mouse worked as it should on V. 8.8, which I replaced with 9.3. So, I can't log in, or do anything except to push the power or reset buttons, and open and close the DVD.

Any clues would be good, as being a noob, I have none. Thanks.

GarryRicketson

Re: mouse pointer won't move on Stretch 9.3

#2 Post by GarryRicketson »

1st make sure the cat didn't eat the mouse, and also that it is plugged in.
Any clues would be good,---snip---
Yes , it would be good if we had some clues as to what kind of hardware, mouse with a tail, or touch pad ,or what ?etc,...Ok , we do know it was working before, but with no clues or details, like what firm ware it has etc, not even a clue about the DE, either,...My crystal ball says, maybe some firmware is missing .
Did you try this ? mouse pointer won't move on Stretch 9.3

dadwhiskers

#3 Post by dadwhiskers »

Clues:
Desktop
GA-990XA-UD3 Gigabyte MB
AMD FX-8120 3.1Ghz 8-core
Graphics - Radeon 6790
16 GB DDR3 1600 memory
Generic Chinese USB optical mouse
Dell USB keyboard
(Also, the OS didn't recognize my Logitech wireless
mouse and keyboard - they were turned on during
and after installation)
I don't know what firmware (drivers) Stretch might
use, as I haven't been able to log in.
What's a DE?
I searched the internet and this site and got nothing
more similar than a pointer freeze in some FPS game
I also looked in the bios, and all USB options were activated