[solved] strange pulseaudio occurrence

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

[solved] strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2019-12-19 16:15

so using sid

but the the strange thing is that to get audio working i need to run kodi for audio to work in any other application

what do you need from me to help? inxi output

Code: Select all
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 100 Series/C230 Series Family HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Tonga HDMI Audio [Radeon R9 285/380] driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.2.0-21.2-liquorix-amd64


i'm guessing something that has changed and i haven't setup the config properly?
Last edited by milomak on 2020-03-29 19:41, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-12-19 16:44

Can we see the output of
Code: Select all
aplay -l

Both before and after kodi fixes the problem. Thanks!
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11508
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2019-12-20 19:07

this is all very strange. rebooted. on reboot loaded up firefox, and went to youtube. audio played
Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CS4206 Analog [CS4206 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CS4206 Digital [CS4206 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 12: HDMI 6 [HDMI 6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


while youtube was playing, opened up amarok and audio played
Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CS4206 Analog [CS4206 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CS4206 Digital [CS4206 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 12: HDMI 6 [HDMI 6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


killed youtube and amarok. reopened amarok. no audio
Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CS4206 Analog [CS4206 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CS4206 Digital [CS4206 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 12: HDMI 6 [HDMI 6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


tried clementine. no sound,
Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CS4206 Analog [CS4206 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CS4206 Digital [CS4206 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 12: HDMI 6 [HDMI 6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


went back to youtube. there's sound
Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CS4206 Analog [CS4206 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: CS4206 Digital [CS4206 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 12: HDMI 6 [HDMI 6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2019-12-20 19:51

how can i get a more comprehensive log for pulseaudio?

# journalctl -b | grep pulseaudio
Code: Select all
Dec 20 22:25:19 mac dbus-daemon[733]: [system] Activating via systemd: service name='org.freedesktop.RealtimeKit1' unit='rtkit-daemon.service' requested by ':1.41' (uid=1000 pid=2100 comm="/usr/bin/pulseaudio --daemonize=no " label="kernel")
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20


Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2020-01-08 17:03

Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2020-01-10 22:50

how do i get a pulseaudio log?
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby peter_irich » 2020-01-11 07:10

Try adjust /etc/pulse/daemon.conf, man daemon.conf, errlog and dbglog.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 1268
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2020-03-18 20:33

it seems for now over 2 kernels, the experimental repos don't need kodi

Code: Select all
$ apt-cache policy pulseaudio
pulseaudio:
  Installed: 13.99.1-1
  Candidate: 13.99.1-1
  Version table:
 *** 13.99.1-1 100
          1 http://debian.mirror.ac.za/debian experimental/main amd64 Packages
          1 http://ftp.is.co.za/debian experimental/main amd64 Packages
          1 http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian experimental/main amd64 Packages
          1 http://debian.inf.tu-dresden.de/debian experimental/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby Del » 2020-03-19 17:59

Sorry if I've missed any info already posted but I'm tired and have other things on my mind ATM :( FWIW here are my thoughts...

Pulseaudio can direct 2 or more audio sources playing simulataeniously to 2 or more outputs of your choice. ie music playing in a media player can be sent to bluetooth headphones while a Youtube video in a browser plays video and audio via HDMI.

pavucontrol (Pulseaudio volume control) can be used to control through which device audio plays. Play audio in a program that is silent and use pavucontrol to see where audio is being directed. The output device can changed using pavucontrol.

I've also found that deleting PA's config directory works.

Rename /home/$USER/.config/pulse to something else then as a user rather than root
pulseaudio -k

If the .config/pulse driectory isn't re-created (it may take a few seconds) try logging out or rebooting.

PA has caused me problems over the years and renaming the ~/,config/pulse directory and killing te PA daemon has never failed but PA could just be trying to play via a device that is simply turned off.
Del
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-06 07:26

Re: strange pulseaudio occurrence

Postby milomak » 2020-03-29 19:40

the experimental pulse solution did not work consistently.

for other reasons, i removed pulse and am back on alsa and that seems to be taking. so i will leave it at that for now.

interestingly it seems whatever app previously required pulse as a dependency has removed that. so here we are for now.

i also take it that being an imac, a lot more issues are likely to manifest in terms of hardware compatibility.
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable