HDA Intel missing Digital out

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby jmggs » 2020-04-26 15:30

I have a Asus P7P55E-Pro motherboard with VT1828S. The card is onboard. I have analog outputs and also extra SPDIF Coaxial and Optical out.
Running Debian 10.3 64bit with 4.19.0-8-amd64 kernel

# aplay -l | grep card
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 0: VT1828S Analog [VT1828S Analog]
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 2: VT1828S Alt Analog [VT1828S Alt Analog]
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 3: VT1828S Digital [VT1828S Digital]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]

I only have built in audio analog, also have tried pulse audio volume control but no options for digital audio. How can enable digital audio?
The audio control https://ibb.co/MZjdV8p/
Thanks
jmggs
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2010-12-27 18:41

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby Dai_trying » 2020-04-26 15:54

You could try alsamixer from a terminal, if you don't have it installed you can install the alsa-utils package.

You might need to press F6 (in alsamixer) to select the card and it will hopefully show your "S/PDIF 1" and maybe more (2,3,4....) sometimes they are muted
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 924
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby jmggs » 2020-04-26 15:57

Dai_trying wrote:You could try alsamixer from a terminal, if you don't have it installed you can install the alsa-utils package.

You might need to press F6 (in alsamixer) to select the card and it will hopefully show your "S/PDIF 1" and maybe more (2,3,4....) sometimes they are muted


I have tried that but no sound show 00 and not muted. Why it don't show Built-in Digital out? The SPDIF it there but no option in Gnome to select see the image.https://ibb.co/MZjdV8p
Thanks
jmggs
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2010-12-27 18:41

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby Dai_trying » 2020-04-26 16:03

Have you tried selecting a different profile from the drop-down?
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 924
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby jmggs » 2020-04-26 16:21

Dai_trying wrote:Have you tried selecting a different profile from the drop-down?


only have Analog Stereo Out, Analog Surround 2.1, 4.0, 4.1, 5.0, 5.1, 7.1. in that drop-down menu.
jmggs
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2010-12-27 18:41

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby Dai_trying » 2020-04-26 18:50

I have a P7P55 LX in a box, I will get it out tomorrow (too late here to start going through storage) although it has the VT1708S so not quite the same, but I will take a look anyway as I'm locked down her so it'll make a change from gardening. :lol:
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 924
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby jmggs » 2020-04-26 20:32

Thanks!
jmggs
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2010-12-27 18:41

Re: HDA Intel missing Digital out

Postby Dai_trying » 2020-04-30 04:55

I have this box booted and have the following
Code: Select all
dave@i3540:~$ aplay -l | grep card
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 3: VT1708S Digital [VT1708S Digital]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]


Alsamixer shows "S/PDIF" and "S/PDIF Default" options, although I do not have anything to test the output is working or not...
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 924
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests

fashionable