Bumblebee and NVIDIA

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Bumblebee and NVIDIA

Postby GonzaloP » 2020-11-15 11:59

Hi,

I just upgraded to debian bullseye and I had to set up again my Geforce MX150.
I followed the instructions in https://wiki.debian.org/Bumblebee yet I am finding some weird behavior:

1) If I run 'optirun glxgears -info' I get 70 frames/sec and glxgears appears in nvidia-smi (meaning, it is running via GPU) yet my CPU is running glxgears at 110%.

2) When I run 'primusrun glxgears -info' it runs at 60 frames/sec and glxgears appears in nvidia-smi and the CPU usage is 90%

3) If I run 'glxgears' runs at 60 frames/sec, it doesn't show up in nvidia-smi and the CPU usage is 7%.

So I am confused, in the test 1 and 2 the CPU usage should be a way lower since it says (at least nvidia-smi) that it is running on the GPU, and in test 3 the CPU usage should be higher since it is running on CPU. Plus, the frame rate seems to be the same in the 3 different tests.

Is my GPU actually running the processes? Any suggestion?

Thank you very much
GonzaloP
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee and NVIDIA

Postby stevepusser » 2020-11-15 19:09

glxgears is not a true benchmark.

Also, it also needs special flags with the Nvidia driver, which you should be able to find quickly with any quick web search.

The 60 fps with the Intel driver is the screen refresh rate, and does not reflect reality.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12182
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Bumblebee and NVIDIA

Postby zotras » 2020-12-23 16:45

Hi All, I hope this is the right place to ask this. Please tell me if I'm supposed to create a new topic or otherwise.

I have an ROG GL551JW Asus laptop with Nvidia GTX 960m Discrete graphics card.
I am running Debian unstable and I want primus-vk (pvkrun) to work for games that require vulkan.
Obviously running
Code: Select all
primusrun glxgears
and
Code: Select all
pvkrun glxgears
both work since pvkrun doesn't try to use vulkan unless it's actually necessary (as far as I understand it).
However, when running
Code: Select all
pvkrun vulkaninfo
I get the following errors:

Code: Select all
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libvulkan_radeon.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libvulkan_intel.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
INTEL-MESA: warning: Haswell Vulkan support is incomplete
ERROR at /build/vulkan-tools-tihVv9/vulkan-tools-1.2.154.0+dfsg1/vulkaninfo/vulkaninfo.h:248:vkGetPhysicalDeviceSurfaceFormats2KHR failed with ERROR_INITIALIZATION_FAILED


Games that don't need vulkan work fine with primusrun so I am expecting this is because of vulkan. Is there any way that I can resolve this?
zotras
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-12-23 16:26

Re: Bumblebee and NVIDIA

Postby zotras » 2020-12-30 06:03

This has been fixed by a recent update. I can now run pvkrun vulkaninfo. Crash Bandicoot and Dota Underlords now work (with specific steam play compatibility versions).

I should now be able to play most games in my steam library. Obviously excluding things with anti-cheat etc.
zotras
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-12-23 16:26


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

fashionable