Abruptly lost sound

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 03:15

[quote="sunrat"]Long shot - do you have any timidity packages installed?
Code: Select all
apt list --installed timidity*

Code: Select all
ckosloff@notosh:~$ apt list --installed *timidity*
Listing... Done
timidity/stable,now 2.14.0-8 amd64 [installed,automatic]
ckosloff@notosh:~$

I think that should do the trick. I had problems with timidity in the past, same computer.
If I try to complete remove with Synaptic it will take away kde-full and that package is useful. will try to purge from command line or simply remove without using complete removal.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 03:27

removed timidity, it took away kde-full but that did not impact impact system.
BUT NO SOUND is coming out of damn speakers
I am out of ideas, if I don't get help with this, I will have to reinstall system and work for like a week to get it workable again.
Please somebody help.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby sunrat » 2020-11-23 04:40

Losing kde-full won't matter, it's only a metapackage. I thought the timidity issue was fixed ages ago but saw someone post they encountered it a few days ago.
Work through the chain logically.
What application are you using to play audio? Does it show in Playback tab of pavucontrol and are the meters moving? Is the correct sink shown in the dropdown list? Are your speakers plugged in correctly? Does a different application work?
You could also try bypassing PulseAudio completely. Some players allow you to select direct ALSA output. I use DeadBeef but it's not in the repo. Maybe Clementine, Gmusicbrowser, QodLibet, Audacious?
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 13:32

sunrat wrote:Losing kde-full won't matter, it's only a metapackage. I thought the timidity issue was fixed ages ago but saw someone post they encountered it a few days ago.
Work through the chain logically.
What application are you using to play audio? Does it show in Playback tab of pavucontrol and are the meters moving? Is the correct sink shown in the dropdown list? Are your speakers plugged in correctly? Does a different application work?
You could also try bypassing PulseAudio completely. Some players allow you to select direct ALSA output. I use DeadBeef but it's not in the repo. Maybe Clementine, Gmusicbrowser, QodLibet, Audacious?

Application is built-in Analog stereo, that is the sink I see in pasystray. don't know about drop down list, there is also Analog Stereo duplex, tried but it does not work either.
Would like to try something that is in repo, maybe audacious?
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 13:35

Installed audacious, how select to play ALSA directly?
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-11-23 18:42

ckosloff wrote:cannot post output of command, exceeds max. characters allowed

Well that's not a good sign...

Run this to upload the output to a pastebin client:
Code: Select all
aptitude search '?narrow(?installed, !?origin(debian))' | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

It will return a URL, please post that here.

ckosloff wrote:I don't usually use third-party, try to stick to official Debian

Then why do you have those non-Debian repositories?

ckosloff wrote:the remark was way off the mark

We'll see :mrgreen:
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13041
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby sunrat » 2020-11-23 19:49

ckosloff wrote:Installed audacious, how select to play ALSA directly?


Output > Audio Settings > Audio > Output plugin - change dropdown to "ALSA Output"
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 20:02

Ok, I decided to test only with built-in speakers, unplugged external, so there will be no question of cables.
ALso set audacious to ALSA accrding to instructions, trouble is that I don't listen to music from playlists, if there is a clip with sound on the web and I play it won't output sound.
Output is muted somewhere in system, how can I find this?
Last edited by ckosloff on 2020-11-23 20:13, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby stevepusser » 2020-11-23 20:12

What did you install from that dodgy :D buster-backports repository, and why is it left enabled contrary to their instructions?

Note that a newer kernel may also need newer non-free sound firmware packages to match from buster-backports.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12182
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 20:15

stevepusser wrote:What did you install from that dodgy :D buster-backports repository, and why is it left enabled contrary to their instructions?

Note that a newer kernel may also need newer non-free sound firmware packages to match from buster-backports.


Backports are official Debian stuff, firmware linux non-free is installed and it is latest version.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-11-23 20:25

stevepusser wrote:dodgy :D buster-backports repository

The dodgy repositories to which I was referring were these:
ckosloff wrote:
Code: Select all
 500 http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/deb stable/main i386 Packages
     release v=1.0,o=Google, Inc.,a=stable,n=stable,l=Google,c=main,b=i386
     origin dl.google.com
 500 http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/deb stable/main amd64 Packages
     release v=1.0,o=Google, Inc.,a=stable,n=stable,l=Google,c=main,b=amd64
     origin dl.google.com
 500 http://linux.dropbox.com/debian buster/main amd64 Packages
     release o=Dropbox.com,a=buster,n=buster,l=Dropbox Debian Repository,c=main,b=amd64
     origin linux.dropbox.com
 500 http://linux.dropbox.com/debian buster/main i386 Packages
     release o=Dropbox.com,a=buster,n=buster,l=Dropbox Debian Repository,c=main,b=i386
     origin linux.dropbox.com

The backports repository is not dodgy, although their use should be limited.

stevepusser wrote:why is it left enabled contrary to their instructions?

Where exactly in the instructions does it say that the backports repositories should be disabled after installing the packages?

And if they are not meant to be left enabled then why do the Debian developers provide a backported kernel metapackage and why does the Release file have "ButAutomaticUpgrades: yes"?

We've had this discussion before over at the MX forums — I've always insisted that it is correct to leave the backports repository enabled (to ensure that any packages installed from there are kept up to date) and I'm still right :mrgreen:
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13041
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby sunrat » 2020-11-23 21:39

ckosloff wrote:Ok, I decided to test only with built-in speakers, unplugged external, so there will be no question of cables.
ALso set audacious to ALSA accrding to instructions, trouble is that I don't listen to music from playlists, if there is a clip with sound on the web and I play it won't output sound.
Output is muted somewhere in system, how can I find this?


You're making this hard. You never mentioned that it's sound from the internet that doesn't work, that's another layer of complexity. Play a local audio file first.
Muting is usually in pavucontrol or alsamixer. Check alsamixer for any levels with an "M" at the bottom. There are often more than one level which need to be up and unmuted.

As to the backports repo, by default they have a priority of 100 which iirc means packages will only be installed from there if specified, not automatically. It should be safe to leave it enabled. Not sure about that talkplugin repo though; it could be messing with sound or god knows what else.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 21:56

sunrat wrote:
ckosloff wrote:Ok, I decided to test only with built-in speakers, unplugged external, so there will be no question of cables.
ALso set audacious to ALSA accrding to instructions, trouble is that I don't listen to music from playlists, if there is a clip with sound on the web and I play it won't output sound.
Output is muted somewhere in system, how can I find this?


You're making this hard. You never mentioned that it's sound from the internet that doesn't work, that's another layer of complexity. Play a local audio file first.
Muting is usually in pavucontrol or alsamixer. Check alsamixer for any levels with an "M" at the bottom. There are often more than one level which need to be up and unmuted.

As to the backports repo, by default they have a priority of 100 which iirc means packages will only be installed from there if specified, not automatically. It should be safe to leave it enabled. Not sure about that talkplugin repo though; it could be messing with sound or god knows what else.


I don't have any talkplugin repo in my sources.list.
Anyway, sound was lost before any change to the system, which was working fine.
Sorry for not mentioning sound from internet, didn't realize it would be a hardship.
Alsamixer show auto-mute mode "Enabled", How disable that?
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-23 22:15

Disabled auto mute mode in alsa mixer, still no sound from internet, raised volume to max in master and speaker, SOL.
How?
F6 to select generic audio, not HDMI
Use horizontal arrows to navigate to auto-mute
Use vertical arrows to disable
ESC
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

Re: Abruptly lost sound

Postby ckosloff » 2020-11-24 00:27

Thinking about it, it is not only internet sound that was lost.
I use KDE and plasma desktop has certain sounds that can be enabled for events.
Enabled sounds no longer work either.
User avatar
ckosloff
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2011-12-29 15:08
Location: South Florida, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

fashionable