[SOLVED] Can't find higher resolutions

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

[SOLVED] Can't find higher resolutions

Postby ChipOManiac » 2012-12-02 13:44

Well I should have expected some fighting :lol:

My laptop's resolution is currently set at 1024x768.

I don't think this is the maximum, since when I bought it the other day, it was at a resolution of 1366x768 (Windows 7).

But strangely, I can't find anything higher than 1024x678 (low is at 800x600) in the display settings.

Have I screwed something up during the installation for it to come out this way? If so what do I have to do to correct this?

So far I've tried using xrandr to set the resolution, I used:
  • "cvt 1366 768" to get the modeline
  • then created a new mode via "--newmode"
  • added it to "default" via "--addmode"
  • then tried to use the new resolution from the display settings
So far nothing has worked.

Does anyone know what might be wrong? And In case I'm wrong, you're free to slap me on the head :D

Edit:
My screen is a 15.6", if that's of any use.
Last edited by ChipOManiac on 2012-12-04 16:06, edited 1 time in total.
"Chew, if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes!"
- Roy Batty (Blade Runner)

Lenovo ThinkPad T440p (Ястреб "Yastreb")

You had me at "without systemd"
User avatar
ChipOManiac
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-07-29 02:42
Location: Talpittiya, Sri Lanka

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby bw123 » 2012-12-02 14:50

ChipOManiac wrote:
  • "cvt 1366 768" to get the modeline
  • then created a new mode via "--newmode"
  • added it to "default" via "--addmode"
  • then tried to use the new resolution from the display settings
So far nothing has worked.



did you try and set the new mode with xrandr? you might get some more help posting some xrandr output, but there are a lot of similar threads on here, you should do a good search or two like 'resolution' with the driver x is using, and your hardware.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby ChipOManiac » 2012-12-02 15:38

bw123 wrote:
ChipOManiac wrote:
  • "cvt 1366 768" to get the modeline
  • then created a new mode via "--newmode"
  • added it to "default" via "--addmode"
  • then tried to use the new resolution from the display settings
So far nothing has worked.



did you try and set the new mode with xrandr? you might get some more help posting some xrandr output, but there are a lot of similar threads on here, you should do a good search or two like 'resolution' with the driver x is using, and your hardware.


Yes I tried doing that. Here's the output

Code: Select all
$ cvt 1366 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

$ xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

$ xrandr --addmode default 1368x768_60.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

$ xrandr --output default --mode 1368x768_60.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed


Do you think it's something with my kernel version, looking at the other threads makes me think I might have a similar problem.
"Chew, if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes!"
- Roy Batty (Blade Runner)

Lenovo ThinkPad T440p (Ястреб "Yastreb")

You had me at "without systemd"
User avatar
ChipOManiac
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-07-29 02:42
Location: Talpittiya, Sri Lanka

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby bw123 » 2012-12-02 15:47

ChipOManiac wrote:xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default



that's a good error message to search on, seen that a lot. check /var/log/Xorg.0.log using vesa driver or something weird like that?
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby phenest » 2012-12-02 20:39

What video card make/model are you using? 1366x768 might be unobtainable with whatever driver you're currently using.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby ChipOManiac » 2012-12-03 13:12

phenest wrote:What video card make/model are you using? 1366x768 might be unobtainable with whatever driver you're currently using.

According to lspci the card is a

"VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics Controller"

bw123 wrote:
ChipOManiac wrote:xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default



that's a good error message to search on, seen that a lot. check /var/log/Xorg.0.log using vesa driver or something weird like that?


Seems like it loads both the Intel and VESA drivers :shock:

Code: Select all
(II) LoadModule: "intel"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so
(II) Module intel: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 1.7.7, module version = 2.13.0
        Module class: X.Org Video Driver
        ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 6.0
(II) LoadModule: "vesa"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
(II) Module vesa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 1.7.7, module version = 2.3.0
        Module class: X.Org Video Driver
        ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 6.0
(II) LoadModule: "fbdev"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fbdev_drv.so
(II) Module fbdev: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 1.7.6.901, module version = 0.4.2
        ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 6.0
(II) intel: Driver for Intel Integrated Graphics Chipsets: i810,
        i810-dc100, i810e, i815, i830M, 845G, 854, 852GM/855GM, 865G, 915G,
        E7221 (i915), 915GM, 945G, 945GM, 945GME, Pineview GM, Pineview G,
        965G, G35, 965Q, 946GZ, 965GM, 965GME/GLE, G33, Q35, Q33, GM45,
        4 Series, G45/G43, Q45/Q43, G41, B43, B43, Clarkdale, Arrandale,
        Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge,
        Sandybridge, Sandybridge
(II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
(II) FBDEV: driver for framebuffer: fbdev

Last edited by ChipOManiac on 2012-12-04 03:33, edited 1 time in total.
"Chew, if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes!"
- Roy Batty (Blade Runner)

Lenovo ThinkPad T440p (Ястреб "Yastreb")

You had me at "without systemd"
User avatar
ChipOManiac
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-07-29 02:42
Location: Talpittiya, Sri Lanka

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby stevepusser » 2012-12-03 16:34

Sandybridge Intel drivers need a minimum of the xorg and Intel video driver in squeeze-backports, plus an upgrade to the 3.2 backports kernel (and a boot to it).

http://x.debian.net/reference/squeeze-backports.html
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11312
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby ChipOManiac » 2012-12-04 03:27

stevepusser wrote:Sandybridge Intel drivers need a minimum of the xorg and Intel video driver in squeeze-backports, plus an upgrade to the 3.2 backports kernel (and a boot to it).

http://x.debian.net/reference/squeeze-backports.html

I see, I had a little bit of a hunch that this might be the problem, but I wasn't too sure. I'll do this as soon as I get home. You have my thanks sir! :D
"Chew, if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes!"
- Roy Batty (Blade Runner)

Lenovo ThinkPad T440p (Ястреб "Yastreb")

You had me at "without systemd"
User avatar
ChipOManiac
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-07-29 02:42
Location: Talpittiya, Sri Lanka

Re: Can't find higher resolutions: stuck at a stretched 1024

Postby ChipOManiac » 2012-12-04 15:37

Welll I upgraded the kernel, xorg, and intel driver from the backports. Could see the effects just after I restarted, now I'm at 1366x768, and happier.

Thank you stevepusser. And thanks to phenest and bw123 for helping me out.

Thread solved.
"Chew, if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes!"
- Roy Batty (Blade Runner)

Lenovo ThinkPad T440p (Ястреб "Yastreb")

You had me at "without systemd"
User avatar
ChipOManiac
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2011-07-29 02:42
Location: Talpittiya, Sri Lanka

Re: [SOLVED] Can't find higher resolutions

Postby stevepusser » 2012-12-05 05:10

Glad to see the problem is fixed--there's been one or two threads a day for the last week or so that express the same issue, so it's not really hard to come up with the fix!
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11312
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable