Intel Fortan

Need help with C, C++, perl, python, etc?

Intel Fortan

Postby gillbates » 2007-01-30 21:42

Hello,

I am new to the forum. I have been active in ubuntuforums and recently installed Debian Etch on all my systems. A university student.

I have had lots of trouble getting the wireless up and running on my TP 42. Ipw2200 card. fglrx is still not working. Havent spent much time on it yet... Radeon 9600 on it.

Anyway, Has anyone successfully installed Inter Fortran compiler in Debian? I had in Ubuntu. I no longer use Ubuntu. So just wondering if its the same process or not. I don't want to break my system. I thot good to know before I try. :)

Thanks
gillbates
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-01-30 21:39

Postby thamarok » 2007-01-30 21:50

Debian is known for breaking easily, isn't it ;)
Well, I don't know what you did to get it to work in Ubuntu, but this HOWTO seems to also work on Debian:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=89571

EDIT: And probably an even easier method:
http://www.gfd-dennou.org/library/gtool4/debian.htm.en
Even though they provide Sarge debs, I'm 100% sure they will work with Etch harmlessly.
thamarok
 

Postby gillbates » 2007-01-31 00:03

thank you. i followed the ubuntu-howto to install ifort in ubuntu.
The second link, is there already a deb version for ifort?

i have another concern. I have amd64 system and i installed testing/etch 32 bit. (the 64bit boot CD just hanged during installation.)

So will it work if I download gt4f90io-ifc9_20070116_i386.deb from here?
http://www.gfd-dennou.org/library/gtool ... fc9/sarge/

thanks
gillbates
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-01-30 21:39

Postby thamarok » 2007-01-31 12:57

I think it will work.. because I haven't tested it. Try your luck and see if it works.
thamarok
 

Postby gillbates » 2007-02-18 06:09

thanks...i used the intel sh script to install on to my 32 bit and its ok.

now i have a 64b AMD system...and it seems they (intel) dont have a package for it :(
gillbates
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-01-30 21:39

Postby blue penquin » 2007-02-26 18:49

gillbates wrote:thanks...i used the intel sh script to install on to my 32 bit and its ok.

now i have a 64b AMD system...and it seems they (intel) dont have a package for it :(


Well I'm waiting....waiting...and still...waiting....what is the final outcome of the saga? Did you get the FORTRAN installed and running on your AMD System?
Regards

blue penguin
User avatar
blue penquin
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2007-02-01 02:31
Location: High Desert USA

Postby gillbates » 2007-02-28 14:36

no... there is no amd 64 version from 'intel'..... :roll: so i installed gfortran for the time being...may be will try something else...
gillbates
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2007-01-30 21:39


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable