Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Which program language to choose?

Programming languages, Coding, Executables, Package Creation, and Scripting.
MD.Angelov

Which program language to choose?

#1 Post by MD.Angelov »

Hi,

i was thinking to spent some time on building control panel and logout screen for fluxbox. I want also to make them look lika a native part of fluxbox. I have no experience (well... a little bit, but I can't call it real experience) so thats why I ask this question here. Will python suit my needs? I also want to use pyGTK to build some cool interface.

Greets,
Angelov

dasein

Re: Which program language to choose?

#2 Post by dasein »

MD.Angelov wrote:Will python suit my needs?
Yes. Python is an excellent choice for what you're looking to do.

schnuller

#3 Post by schnuller »

No, pyhton is not a good choice.

Now try to figure out which of the both arguments is better ...

MD.Angelov

#4 Post by MD.Angelov »

Haha...a good one. Because I am totally noob in programming I first checked what are the pros and cons of python and 2 other languages (C and C++). C and C++ are very different (and somehow more difficult to manage) than python... so I thought lets do it in python as the things I want to do are not that complex. Anyway... can you tell me what are the benefits if I write this two apps in C/C++ instead of python ?

Greetz,
Angelov

schnuller

#5 Post by schnuller »

I just do chat:
pyhton is said to be more easy. It is rather hip too (many use it), and many do recommend it too. It also is kind of a one-size-fits-all-solution (but then: of what programming language isn't that said? ...)