Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Making a multi choice Menu using a bash script

Programming languages, Coding, Executables, Package Creation, and Scripting.
GarryRicketson

Making a multi choice Menu using a bash script

#1 Post by GarryRicketson »

This is really my first attempt at doing some sort of "program" with just a bash script.
I notice so many packages, or program installers just use a "bash script" to do the job,
and "bash" is maybe the most powerful tool that comes with Debian, and other linux distros. So I decided to start trying to do something with it.
So this is my first project, been looking at some tutorials, and have lots of links to some pretty good ones. But any way, I am trying to learn about making a multi choice menu.
I found some examples in different tutorials,the example I used, just had 2 options, and neither really did anything.
It just:
1 . printed and displayed a "hello world", 2 . quit ... so I looked some more, and did figure out how to get option 1. start the w3m web browser, that works fine. I added options 1 thru 6 and it show 7 options, including the "quit" option.
Problem, no matter how I try to add the 2nd option, I get errors, I tried all sorts of places, and remove the lines, that the error message showed to be "error", still no, went back to the tutorial, but do not find anything I can understand, maybe some other tutorial, but any way, maybe someone can help get me going on this too,.. here is what I have so far.
The first part works great, when I select 1 it start the w3m browser, and connects here,
when I quit the browser, it does not return to the menu.
---edited:"it returns to the menu",..should have been:

script#1

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash