Beggining with programing microcontrollers

Need help with C, C++, perl, python, etc?

Beggining with programing microcontrollers

Postby boschow » 2007-02-22 00:01

Hi all,
the situation at the company that i work is like this, we have a programmer that is programing a application for about a year and a half, since he is on contract the boss decided to start looking for another programmer and
asked me if i am in the mood to try. I accepted the challenge but the problem suddenly emerged in my mind, i have a little experience with programming PLCs, I wrote programs in SCL language that is similar to Turbo Pascal, but i have no experience with programing micro controllers, that is why i have to ask you guys for some type of advises:
1. What should i know about the micro controller before starting to program?
2. Which book to you suggest to get familiar with the programing?
3. What programing language should i choose for programing ?
4. Please write any type of advice that you think i might found useful.

Thanks a lot for your answers and for your help,
best regards,
BoSCHoW.
boschow

Re: Beggining with programing microcontrollers

Postby njkt » 2007-02-22 01:18

boschow wrote:1. What should i know about the micro controller before starting to program?

2. Which book to you suggest to get familiar with the programing?

3. What programing language should i choose for programing ?

4. Please write any type of advice that you think i might found useful.

All i can really suggest is that you become very familiar with Assembly programming and logic because you'll likely be programming all structures yourself
njkt

Postby Ed Hall » 2007-02-22 03:39