Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Swift 3 only runs from root and once

Programming languages, Coding, Executables, Package Creation, and Scripting.
Post Reply
Message
Author
ardawan
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-06-08 05:36

Swift 3 only runs from root and once

#1 Post by ardawan »

Hi,
I've installed Swift 3 language but i can only run it as root and i should type export path command first. It's not permanent.

Code: Select all

root# export PATH="/opt/swift/swift-3.1.1-RELEASE-ubuntu16.10/usr/bin:$PATH"
root# swift
Welcome to Swift version 3.1.1 (swift-3.1.1-RELEASE). Type :help for assistance.
  1> 
if i exit from root and enter again i cant run swift only by typing swift in the terminal

Code: Select all

root# swift
bash: swift: command not found
This is same when im trying to run it from user account(Not root)

How can i fix it and run it like python from anywhere (root or user account)?

Thanks in advance

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus
Posts: 2435
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Swift 3 only runs from root and once

#2 Post by arochester »

Are you supposed to run Swift, or do you write a Swift program and run that? https://developerslogblog.wordpress.com ... an-jessie/

ardawan
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-06-08 05:36

Re: Swift 3 only runs from root and once

#3 Post by ardawan »

arochester wrote:Are you supposed to run Swift, or do you write a Swift program and run that? https://developerslogblog.wordpress.com ... an-jessie/
I follow this tutorial to install it. but my problem is before type "swift" to tun swift interpreter in terminal i must type this long command everytime

Code: Select all

export PATH="/opt/swift/swift-2.2-RELEASE-ubuntu14.04/usr/bin:$PATH"
Otherwise i get this

Code: Select all

bash: swift: command not found
Is there any way to make it permanent?

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus
Posts: 2435
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Swift 3 only runs from root and once

#4 Post by arochester »

Change as appropriate
At this point, you have Swift installed. Next step is to add it to your system PATH:

Code: Select all

1 export PATH=/usr/local/swift-3.0.1-RELEASE-ubuntu16.04/usr/bin:$PATH
If you want to permanently add Swift to your PATH, use:

Code: Select all

1 echo 'export PATH=/usr/local/swift-3.0.1-RELEASE-ubuntu16.04/usr/bin:$PATH' >> .profile
2 source .profile
- https://www.solarianprogrammer.com/2016 ... t-3-linux/

ardawan
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-06-08 05:36

Re: Swift 3 only runs from root and once

#5 Post by ardawan »

arochester wrote:Change as appropriate
At this point, you have Swift installed. Next step is to add it to your system PATH:

Code: Select all

1 export PATH=/usr/local/swift-3.0.1-RELEASE-ubuntu16.04/usr/bin:$PATH
If you want to permanently add Swift to your PATH, use:

Code: Select all

1 echo 'export PATH=/usr/local/swift-3.0.1-RELEASE-ubuntu16.04/usr/bin:$PATH' >> .profile
2 source .profile
- https://www.solarianprogrammer.com/2016 ... t-3-linux/
Before reading your answer I found the way to paste in the profile file.
But I've visited the link and it's good stuff there.
Thanks for sharing

Post Reply