Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

bash script to perform an action

Programming languages, Coding, Executables, Package Creation, and Scripting.
PsySc0rpi0n

bash script to perform an action

#1 Post by PsySc0rpi0n »

Hello.

I'm quite new to bash script and I've been reading the essentials to try to accomplish some task.

The task is to build a command to then run in terminal.

The command is supposed to have a variable number of parameters. Those parameters are inside a file, one parameter per line.

I already have a function to read the lines, store them in an array and count how many lines were read.

The command is something like:

Code: Select all

app-command argument-1 "" "{\"param-1\":0.01,\"param-2\":0.02}" 1 "" "[\"param-3\",\"param-4\"]"

In this example, the command will use 4 arguments that were load from the file.

My help request is to know how can I build that command based on the number of arguments read from the file.

I would appreciate some hints!
Thanks
Psy

phenest

Re: bash script to perform an action

#2 Post by phenest »

Here is a bash script:

#!/bin/bash

param=($(cat $1))

count=${#param[@]}
n=0
while [ $n -lt $count ]
do
    echo ${param[$n]}
    let n++
done
Save as script.sh and then to use:

Usage: ./script.sh FILE
PS Don't forget to make the script executable.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

PsySc0rpi0n

#3 Post by PsySc0rpi0n »

phenest wrote:Here is a bash script:

#!/bin/bash

param=($(cat $1))

count=${#param[@]}
n=0
while [ $n -lt $count ]
do
    echo ${param[$n]}
    let n++
done
Save as script.sh and then to use:

Usage: ./script.sh FILE
PS Don't forget to make the script executable.