Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] apt-get upgrade

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Message
Author
User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

[SOLVED] apt-get upgrade

#1 Post by demon »

Please when I do apt-get upgrade, following appears:

Code: Select all

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
  mplayer
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Also when some updates come, in updates manager there is some info first about mplayer.
What can I do with that mplayer, is there something missing to it?

Thanks
Last edited by demon on 2009-01-06 20:41, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
Telemachus
Posts: 4574
Joined: 2006-12-25 15:53
Been thanked: 2 times

#2 Post by Telemachus »

It might be that you need to do an "apt-get dist-upgrade" (even though you aren't really upgrading to another level of Debian). By default, apt-get (or aptitude) upgrade only upgrades packages you already have installed. If package A has an update to package A' which requires two new dependencies, then you need to run apt-get dist-upgrade to get it to install the new A' and also the two new bits. Bottom line, try "apt-get dist-upgrade" and see what that says.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#3 Post by demon »

It said this:

Code: Select all

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
  mplayer
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
Telemachus
Posts: 4574
Joined: 2006-12-25 15:53
Been thanked: 2 times

#4 Post by Telemachus »

Ah, ok. Well, that's odd then. Can you post the output of these two commands, please?
cat /etc/debian_version
cat /etc/apt/sources.list

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#5 Post by demon »

ah, yeah, probably I changed my sources list from that time I installed mplayer.

so

cat /etc/debian_version

Code: Select all

4.0
cat /etc/apt/sources.list

Code: Select all

#deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian sid main

deb http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main

deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org etch main

deb http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#6 Post by EMD »

demon wrote:cat /etc/apt/sources.list

Code: Select all

#deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian sid main

deb http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main

deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org etch main

deb http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main
# 1. Please tell me that you don't mix Sid and Etch.

# 2. The version of mplayer in the Debian repositories is not the same as the one in Debian-Multimedia. That's probably what's causing the problem. Quite frankly, if mplayer is working and your system is stable, I wouldn't worry about it too much.
.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#7 Post by demon »

1#
You right :) I don't mix it. that's why I put in front of the line #
The reason why, coz I am using mount 3g (my windows disk is NTFS), that's why I installed 3g, then I put # to that repository and ran again apt-get update + apt-get upgrade


2#
Well mplayer usually run normally, but sometimes run with some red info message, like not supported format or something. Usually I am using Totem, quite fine.
So, you mean I should comment the multimedia repository as well? And do apt-get update + apt-get upgrade? To fix my mplayer updating behavior...
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
Telemachus
Posts: 4574
Joined: 2006-12-25 15:53
Been thanked: 2 times

#8 Post by Telemachus »

demon wrote:1#
You right :) I don't mix it. that's why I put in front of the line #
The reason why, coz I am using mount 3g (my windows disk is NTFS), that's why I installed 3g, then I put # to that repository and ran again apt-get update + apt-get upgrade
When you installed 3g, do you remember any messages about other programs being installed as well? (Say, any libraries like libc6 or say gcc?) The danger with adding anything from Sid is that it drags in major dependencies. To be honest, it sounds like you already have mixed Sid and Etch.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#9 Post by demon »

well, of course I remember, there was message, not really sure which one, maybe something about libc6, but I think it was not installed.

when I am using that mount comand:

Code: Select all

# mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda5 /media/wdisk_d 
this is the output:

Code: Select all

WARNING: Deficient Linux kernel detected. Some driver features are
         not available (swap file on NTFS, boot from NTFS by LILO), and
         unmount is not safe unless it's made sure the ntfs-3g process
         naturally terminates after calling 'umount'. If you wish this
         message to disappear then you should upgrade to at least kernel
         version 2.6.20, or request help from your distribution to fix
         the kernel problem. The below web page has more information:
         http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#fuse26
but the MS windows disk is mounted, and working fine here in linux, so should I worry anything? At the moment no troubles at all.

EDIT: Oh, wait I just checked in Synaptic my packages, and there is already libc6 installed. Is it not good?
Last edited by demon on 2007-11-07 22:38, edited 2 times in total.
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#10 Post by EMD »

demon wrote:1#
You right :) I don't mix it. that's why I put in front of the line #
The reason why, coz I am using mount 3g (my windows disk is NTFS), that's why I installed 3g, then I put # to that repository and ran again apt-get update + apt-get upgrade
demon wrote:

Code: Select all

WARNING: Deficient Linux kernel detected. Some driver features are
         not available (swap file on NTFS, boot from NTFS by LILO), and
         unmount is not safe unless it's made sure the ntfs-3g process
         naturally terminates after calling 'umount'. If you wish this
         message to disappear then you should upgrade to at least kernel
         version 2.6.20, or request help from your distribution to fix
         the kernel problem. The below web page has more information:
         http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#fuse26
If you're using NTFS-3G, you really should upgrade your kernel. You can read more about this issue at the NTFS-3G website. For more details than you could ever possibly want, check out my HowTo read and write to an MS Windows XP partition.

Because you already mixed Etch and Sid, please be very careful about upgrading from now on. Sid already did upgrade libc6 and libgcc1

Because you're using NTFS-3G, I still advise you to upgrade your kernel with Etch-backports, but ONLY upgrade the kernel.

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-image-2.6.22-3-686

demon wrote:2#
Well mplayer usually run normally, but sometimes run with some red info message, like not supported format or something. Usually I am using Totem, quite fine.
So, you mean I should comment the multimedia repository as well? And do apt-get update + apt-get upgrade? To fix my mplayer updating behavior...
There's no need to upgrade your software. You might want to comment out the multimedia repository if you don't need it anymore. Just be sure to run apt-get update if you do.

What you need to do is add codecs to augment the formats mplayer can support. Here's how (I think) you can do that. First, download the binary codecs from the mplayer website to your home directory. Then:

$ tar -xjf essential-20071007.tar.bz2
$ su
Password:
# mkdir /usr/lib/win32
# cp ~/essential-20071007/* /usr/lib/win32/
# exit

Hope this helps,
- Eric
Last edited by EMD on 2007-11-07 23:05, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#11 Post by demon »

1# OK I read that, so if I wanna upgrade my kernel, how can I do that?

Also I wanna stick with Etch for a while, so what to do now, only upgrade kernel? Is that mean when I upgrade kernel to version 2.6.20 that I am leaving Etch?
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#12 Post by EMD »

demon wrote:1# OK I read that, so if I wanna upgrade my kernel, how can I do that?

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-image-2.6.22-3-686

If you need the headers (e.g. to install a module for a wireless card), run the line above and also run:

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-headers-2.6.22-3-686
demon wrote:Also I wanna stick with Etch for a while, so what to do now, only upgrade kernel?
ONLY upgrade the kernel.

Note: I edited my previous response to add some details, so you may want to reread it.
.
Last edited by EMD on 2007-11-07 23:04, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#13 Post by demon »

Well, I see. Thanks a lot. I'll go for it.

Code: Select all

# apt-get -t etch-backports linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 
Oh, this is the output of upgrading:

Code: Select all

E: Invalid operation linux-image-2.6.22-3-686
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#14 Post by EMD »

demon wrote:Well, I see. Thanks a lot. I'll go for it.

Code: Select all

# apt-get -t etch-backports linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 
Oh, this is the output of upgrading:

Code: Select all

E: Invalid operation linux-image-2.6.22-3-686
Ah! I forgot the word "install"

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-image-2.6.22-3-686

I'll also fix my previous posts.

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#15 Post by demon »

I try again and output is:

Code: Select all

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
E: Couldn't find package linux-image-2.6.22-3-686
so let me guess> uncomment my first line in sources list > apt-get update> comment out again a try this upgrade again?
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#16 Post by EMD »

The details are in my HowTo read and write to an MS Windows XP partition. Read the section on using Etch-backports, then add Etch-backports to your sources list and run:

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-image-2.6.22-3-686

Do NOT do a "dist-upgrade"

User avatar
demon
Posts: 341
Joined: 2007-09-26 19:04
Location: Prague

#17 Post by demon »

So I set up all and ran:

Code: Select all

# apt-get -t etch-backports install linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Suggested packages:
  linux-doc-2.6.22
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  linux-image-2.6.22-3-686
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 26 not upgraded.
Need to get 18.3MB of archives.
After unpacking 55.2MB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://www.backports.org etch-backports/main linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 2.6.22-5~bpo.1 [18.3MB]
Fetched 18.3MB in 29s (623kB/s)
Preconfiguring packages ...
Selecting previously deselected package linux-image-2.6.22-3-686.
(Reading database ... 70189 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 (from .../linux-image-2.6.22-3-686_2.6.22-5~bpo.1_i386.deb) ...
Done.
Setting up linux-image-2.6.22-3-686 (2.6.22-5~bpo.1) ...
Running depmod.
Finding valid ramdisk creators.
Using mkinitramfs-kpkg to build the ramdisk.
Running postinst hook script /sbin/update-grub.
You shouldn't call /sbin/update-grub. Please call /usr/sbin/update-grub instead!
Searching for GRUB installation directory ... found: /boot/grub
Searching for default file ... found: /boot/grub/default
Testing for an existing GRUB menu.lst file ... found: /boot/grub/menu.lst
Searching for splash image ... none found, skipping ...
Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-3-686
Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-5-686
Updating /boot/grub/menu.lst ... don
so it looks like there will be another option in my GRUB menu right? SO I will choose the new one right? Should I reboot and choose it?

Before do that, still my kernel after command

Code: Select all

uname -a
is:

Code: Select all

Linux expert 2.6.18-5-686 #1 SMP Wed Oct 3 00:12:50 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux
Also can I leave my sources now like this?

Code: Select all

#deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian sid main
deb http://www.backports.org/debian etch-backports main contrib non-free

deb http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.cz.debian.org/debian/ etch main

deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org etch main

deb http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main
And then run apt-get update + apt-get upgrade?
Debian Testing 64

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#18 Post by EMD »

demon wrote:so it looks like there will be another option in my GRUB menu right? SO I will choose the new one right? Should I reboot and choose it?
Yes. You'll now have a choice of kernels at boot time. Reboot and choose the new one.

If you would like to check the grub menu before rebooting you can examine the /boot/grub/menu.lst file.
demon wrote:Before do that, still my kernel after command

Code: Select all

uname -a
is:

Code: Select all

Linux expert 2.6.18-5-686 #1 SMP Wed Oct 3 00:12:50 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux
The output of uname -a will depend on the kernel you chose at boot time.
demon wrote:Also can I leave my sources now like this?
I would comment out backports and run apt-get update
demon wrote:And then run apt-get update + apt-get upgrade?
There's no need to run another upgrade.
.
Last edited by EMD on 2007-11-07 23:50, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Telemachus
Posts: 4574
Joined: 2006-12-25 15:53
Been thanked: 2 times

#19 Post by Telemachus »

Just to clarify my previous post: libc6 is a system requirement, so it's not that having libc6 is bad. Here's its description from "aptitude show libc6"
Description: GNU C Library: Shared libraries
Contains the standard libraries that are used by nearly all programs on the
system. This package includes shared versions of the standard C library and the
standard math library, as well as many others.
The thing is that when a part of your system as basic as libc6 gets moved up to the Sid/Unstable level then it can tend to drag other parts with it. And if your gcc gets moved up, for example, then you can have trouble with modules since the kernel will want modules built with the same gcc that built the kernel. People often think, "I will just upgrade this one program to Sid and then keep everything else in Etch," but for this sort of reason it can cause problems. (Problems are not inevitable but they can happen.)

User avatar
EMD
Posts: 983
Joined: 2007-06-10 03:03
Location: /dev/tty7 (Don't deny it. You're here too!)

#20 Post by EMD »

Thanks Telemachus.

Until I read your post, I thought that forum members were more timid about keeping a mixed system than necessary.

Now I understand their reasons.

Post Reply