dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Postby maybeway36 » 2008-05-11 19:18

The command
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

never asks you for your resolution or driver anymore in lenny or sid (or Ubuntu hardy.) Now I really am lost as to how to get my screen to 1024x768.
Whose idea was it to change Xorg to behave this way? Will it be changed back anytime soon?
maybeway36
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2008-02-10 18:52

Postby markharding557 » 2008-05-11 21:08

you can set your resolution by editing xorg.conf.
there will be a section which contains available resolutions,put your prefered one first in the list so this should load at start up.
the file to edit is here
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
markharding557
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2008-01-19 23:42
Location: england

Postby Lou » 2008-05-11 21:14

maybeway36: Hey, i'm with you pal!

There was a good thread discussing this, but i can't find it.

IIRC, you should try:

# xrandr -s 1024x768

PS: i found it:
viewtopic.php?t=26577
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby glf2818 » 2008-05-13 06:07

maybeway36
Install grandr. You can easily change resolution. X is ignoring your screen mode lines now.
George
glf2818
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2005-11-21 01:54
Location: Portage, Indiana

Postby vvokong » 2008-05-17 16:39

i also find this problem when i reinstall lenny today, but it was ok about one week ago, there must be something wrong, i think.

now "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg" can only configure keyboard, leaving other sections empty.

my xorg.conf looks like this:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
EndSection
vvokong
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-05-10 14:17

Postby Bulkley » 2008-05-17 17:06

Lou wrote:There was a good thread discussing this, but i can't find it.


Try http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=26786&highlight=

Xorg has made some changes. Documentation hasn't kept up; at least, I haven't been able to find it.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5845
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Postby Issyer » 2008-05-17 18:31

maybeway36 wrote:The command
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

never asks you for your resolution or driver anymore in lenny or sid (or Ubuntu hardy.) Now I really am lost as to how to get my screen to 1024x768.
Whose idea was it to change Xorg to behave this way? Will it be changed back anytime soon?


I think, it's a bug. It happened to me with amd64. I didn't try to fix anything but Lavene said that manual editing xorg.conf should be OK.
User avatar
Issyer
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

Postby rickh » 2008-05-17 18:44

It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.
Debian-Lenny/Sid 32/64
Desktop: Generic Core 2 Duo, EVGA 680i, Nvidia
Laptop: Generic Intel SIS/AC97
User avatar
rickh
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: 2006-06-29 02:13
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA

Postby Issyer » 2008-05-17 19:35

rickh wrote:It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.

How can it be a feature if the fields in the xorg.conf are blank, and there's no way to edit them except manually? If it is feature, it is a weird feature.
User avatar
Issyer
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

Postby swirling_vortex » 2008-05-17 20:35

Issyer wrote:
rickh wrote:It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.

How can it be a feature if the fields in the xorg.conf are blank, and there's no way to edit them except manually? If it is feature, it is a weird feature.

It's supposed to be a more automated setup so that you shouldn't have to touch the xorg.conf file. However, as we're finding out, this "feature" is having some growing pains. :)

If you use the latest fglrx or nvidia driver, their xorg.conf generating tools have been adjusted to accommodate the newest version of X.
User avatar
swirling_vortex
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 2007-02-16 20:30
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby Issyer » 2008-05-18 01:04

swirling_vortex wrote:If you use the latest fglrx or nvidia driver, their xorg.conf generating tools have been adjusted to accommodate the newest version of X.


Sure I am using. The trick is that nvidia is unsupported on Lenny at all.
User avatar
Issyer
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

Here is what you need

Postby imneo » 2008-05-24 14:26

Here is your answer:

scripts-net.com

hope it will work for you.
:roll:
imneo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2008-05-24 14:08


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable