Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

APT-GET problem

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
kepler
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-02-18 20:29

APT-GET problem

#1 Post by kepler »

Hi,

I recently changed of computer; but I made a partition Linux ext2, a swap, a fat32 and the major ntfs - where the Windows XP is.

I never had problems until now: when I go to Debian and try to do an "apt-get update", or "apt-get install buid-essentials", etc, I get the error "temporary failure resolving...etc.". :roll:

I digged the net, and it seems that one possibility is that Debian doesn't catch my internet connection (!!!) The only difference is that I have a second computer connected to the major one. But it doesn't make sense.

Can someone help me out here? I need Gcc (gpp) to compile a C++ program.

Kind regards,

Kepler

Lavene
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 4958
Joined: 2006-01-04 04:26
Location: Oslo, Norway

#2 Post by Lavene »

Can you confirm that you can/ can't connect to the internet? For example simply ping a site you know is online, like

Code: Select all

ping www.debian.org
If you get a ping reply your internet connection is fine. If that's the case please post your /etc/apt/sources.list

Tina :)

kepler
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-02-18 20:29

Troubles...

#3 Post by kepler »

Hi,

Well, the problem is that I receive:
ping: unknown host www.debian.org
I tested other addresses, with the same result. In Windows it works fine, but in the Linux partition it seems that I don't have internet - it wasn't a problem before.

The sources.list is:
#deb file:///cdrom/ sarge main

deb ftp://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ testing main
deb-src ftp://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ testing main

deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main
Someone told me that I must configure the resolv.conf file. But how? Using wich IPs? Using wich IPs ( there's the IP, the DNS, the Gateway...)? One of the lines is unknown to me:
nameserver 81.92.192.3



Kind regards,

Kepler

Lavene
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 4958
Joined: 2006-01-04 04:26
Location: Oslo, Norway

#4 Post by Lavene »

Ok, your internet conection is obviously not working. Are you behind a firewall/ router? I'm no expert on this but on my system the resolv.conf points to my router's IP and the router assign an IP to each machine on my network.

If you're not behind a firewall/ router I would guess that resolve.conf should point to your ISP's nameserver... but I'm really not sure I'm afraid. Anyone else have an idea?

Tina :)

kepler
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-02-18 20:29

#5 Post by kepler »

Well, case closed. I've reinstalled Debian again. It seems that it was using the wrong network interface.

Thanks anyway. But I still have a problem

Kind regards,

Kepler

User avatar
Red
Posts: 69
Joined: 2006-04-20 12:36

#6 Post by Red »

Configuration eth0

Code: Select all

#ifconfig -a
#ifconfig eth0 down
#ifconfig 212.50.26.57(your IP) netmask 255.255.255.128 up
#route add default gw 212.50.26.1 (GATEWAY)
#echo nameserver 212.50.0.10(DNS 1) > /etc/resolv.conf
#echo nameserver 212.50.0.22(DNS 2 if you have) >> /etc/resolv.conf
Good luck!

User avatar
Red
Posts: 69
Joined: 2006-04-20 12:36

#7 Post by Red »

Sorry i miss eth0 in third row, so the true commands are

Code: Select all

#ifconfig -a
#ifconfig eth0 down
#ifconfig eth0 212.50.26.57(your IP) netmask 255.255.255.128 up
#route add default gw 212.50.26.1 (GATEWAY)
#echo nameserver 212.50.0.10(DNS 1) > /etc/resolv.conf
#echo nameserver 212.50.0.22(DNS 2 if you have) >> /etc/resolv.conf 

Guest

#8 Post by Guest »

I have the same problem...ping results in unknown server.
I don't understand that eth0 thing. I need to know what it is if you think I should need to edit/reconfig it.

By the way, how do I edit a file if I can't get on line to install any packages and thus have no editor since I am using debian netinstall (base install)?

ajdlinux
Posts: 2452
Joined: 2006-04-23 09:37
Location: Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia

#9 Post by ajdlinux »

The Debian base has one editor: nano. It is very easy to use, easier than vi.

Post Reply