Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

Share your HowTo, Documentation, Tips and Tricks. Not for support questions!.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Revenger
Posts: 382
Joined: 2010-11-16 11:47

Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#1 Post by Revenger »

Since I was using Debian, I never could switch to a resolution higher than 1024x768 with my integrated Intel 865G card and a 17" monitor. I googled a bit, and saw several posts about same problem, so I knew I am not alone. But then I found awesome guide on Ubuntuforums that worked like charm for me.

Just to mention, I ran those commands on Debian 6.0.1 Squeeze with no xorg.conf

So, first I ran

Code: Select all

cvt 1280 1024
And got this.

Code: Select all

$ cvt 1280 1024
# 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
I copied everything after Modeline, and used it with xrandr --newmode, like this

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
But, mode still was not available to switch to. I looked at xrandr output which gave me.

Code: Select all

$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 2048 x 2048
VGA1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1360x768       59.8  
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   848x480        60.0  
   640x480        59.9     59.9  
   1280x1024_60.00   59.9  
There I saw that my monitor was listed as VGA1, and mode is available. Then I typed

Code: Select all

xrandr --addmode VGA1 1280x1024_60.00
And I was surprised, 1280x1024 was available in gnome-display-properties and I was able to switch to it without any problems.

Anyways, It was good until it lasted. After reboot I lost that mode and I had again to type last two commands.
But, as sugested by someone, since I am using gnome, I edited /etc/gdm3/Init/Default file, and added

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA1 1280x1024_60.00
before the

Code: Select all

exit 0
line.
Last edited by Revenger on 2011-05-30 19:01, edited 1 time in total.
Next time someone says 'Go to hell' to me, I come right here.

Do you need bad help?

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#2 Post by bw123 »

A little more info about your hardware, debian version, and your xorg.conf would be helpful too thanks.
resigned by AI ChatGPT

Revenger
Posts: 382
Joined: 2010-11-16 11:47

Re: Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#3 Post by Revenger »

bw123 wrote:A little more info about your hardware, debian version, and your xorg.conf would be helpful too thanks.
Why is such info needed for a tutorial?
Next time someone says 'Go to hell' to me, I come right here.

Do you need bad help?

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#4 Post by bw123 »

This will work for all versions of debian? Why send them to another forum to hunt when you could just put it here? Your thread, just asking for more info.
resigned by AI ChatGPT

Revenger
Posts: 382
Joined: 2010-11-16 11:47

Re: Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#5 Post by Revenger »

bw123 wrote:This will work for all versions of debian? Why send them to another forum to hunt when you could just put it here? Your thread, just asking for more info.
Better?
Next time someone says 'Go to hell' to me, I come right here.

Do you need bad help?

kahinagnu
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-08-15 10:03

Re: Higher video resolution with "Unknown Monitor"

#6 Post by kahinagnu »

hi

your solution doesn't work for me :roll:

Code: Select all

$ cvt 1440 900
# 1440x900 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.30MA) hsync: 55.93 kHz; pclk: 106.50 MHz
Modeline "1440x900_60.00"  106.50  1440 1528 1672 1904  900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync

Code: Select all

$ xrandr --newmode "1440x900_60.00"  106.50  1440 1528 1672 1904  900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

Code: Select all

$ xrandr
[b]xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default[/b]
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1280x1024       0.0* 
   1024x768        0.0  
   800x600         0.0  
   640x480         0.0  
  1440x900_60.00 (0x11c)  106.5MHz
        h: width  1440 start 1528 end 1672 total 1904 skew    0 clock   55.9KHz
        v: height  900 start  903 end  909 total  934           clock   59.9Hz
WHY I HAVE
Failed to get size of gamma for output default

Post Reply