Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] only Openbox has no Right Click for Touchpad

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Message
Author
rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

[SOLVED] only Openbox has no Right Click for Touchpad

#1 Post by rabidfox »

EDIT: To cut to the chase, the right-click doesn't work on Openbox for this touchpad, but it works in GNOME:

Code: Select all

egrep -i 'synap|alps|etps' /proc/bus/input/devices
N: Name="ETPS/2 Elantech Touchpad"
YAY, SOLUTION: I followed these instructions from Mint Forums that copied it from an Arch tutorial:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=107118
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 8#p1127018

Code: Select all

mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d
cp /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-synaptics.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-synaptics.conf
Then edit the first section so it looks like this:

Code: Select all

Section "InputClass"
Identifier "touchpad catchall"
Driver "synaptics"
MatchIsTouchpad "on"
# This option is recommend on all Linux systems using evdev, but cannot be
# enabled by default. See the following link for details:
# http://who-t.blogspot.com/2010/11/how-t ... rrors.html
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "ClickPad" "true"
Option "EmulateMidButtonTime" "0"
Option "SoftButtonAreas" "50% 0 82% 0 0 0 0 0"
EndSection
//

Hello all,

I've been a long-time Crunchbang user, but I decided to just use Debian with Openbox on my "new" laptop. I did:

apt-get install openbox obconf openbox-themes

And it all returned fine, then when I logged in, the touchpad cursor moves and can move between the two workspaces. But it does not reply to right click or keyboard shortcuts, so I had to reboot manually with the power button. I tried:

apt-get install menu

And it claims it is at the newest version. I don't see any of the familiar Openbox config files in my home folder. The keyboard and mouspad are flawless in Gnome. What am I missing?
Last edited by rabidfox on 2013-10-22 17:26, edited 3 times in total.

Birdy
Posts: 358
Joined: 2013-05-28 13:26

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#2 Post by Birdy »

I've been a long-time Crunchbang user,...
That shows you what it's worth to be a crunchbang user.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#3 Post by MALsPa »

rabidfox wrote:I don't see any of the familiar Openbox config files in my home folder.
It's been awhile since I've installed Openbox in Debian (and I haven't done it yet in Wheezy), but... As a normal user (not as root), you're gonna need to create ~/.confg/openbox and copy the files from (I think) /etc/xdg/openbox into it. Probably the rc.xml, menu.xml, autostart, and environment files.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#4 Post by MALsPa »

There's lots of good info out there, but maybe take a look at this page: http://www.debianuserforums.org/viewtop ... f=9&t=1513

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#5 Post by rabidfox »

Thanks, all. Somehow I thought there would be some example files and the ability for me to edit them while within OB, but I guess that's no longer how it is...?

I'll be back if writing new config files in from another desktop environment doesn't fix the problem.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#6 Post by MALsPa »

rabidfox wrote:I'll be back if writing new config files in from another desktop environment doesn't fix the problem.
Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't think that config files from another desktop environment will help you...

Installing Openbox on your own for the first time isn't necessarily a piece of cake because you have to dig around a bit for information. You've got to do some web searches and do some reading.

Debian's wiki has some good info, but they leave a lot out: https://wiki.debian.org/Openbox

Also see:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Openbox
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Openbox

And:

https://urukrama.wordpress.com/openbox-guide/
http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Contents

As well, you could probably get good help from the CrunchBang forums.

One other thing, keep good notes and save your config files. Those notes and files can make it a breeze next time you install Openbox.

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#7 Post by rabidfox »

Hi MALsPa,

I didn't mean the config files were from another environment, I was just saying that I'd have to write them in another environment because I can't get even a text editor or terminal to open in OB in the state it's in. And that's what surprised me, because I don't remember it being this way.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#8 Post by MALsPa »

Did you add Openbox to a fresh Wheezy GNOME installation, or what?

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#9 Post by rabidfox »

Yes, from the fresh install running GNOME, I installed OB with apt.

Just now I did:

cp -r /etc/xdg/openbox /home/foobar/.config

And I can see the config files. But still no menu, even though apt says it's at its latest version. Still no ability to open a text editor or terminal. Isn't there something wrong?

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#10 Post by rabidfox »

I fixed the keyboard shortcuts and can now get a terminal and editor, but how do I get the menu to open with the right click of the touchpad?

Thanks for being patient with me...

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#11 Post by MALsPa »

Yeah, something's wrong, but I don't know what.

I just now added Openbox to my Wheezy KDE installation, and I'm posting from Openbox right now. Here's my commit log from Synaptic:

Code: Select all

Commit Log for Tue Oct 22 09:53:16 2013

Installed the following packages:
libid3tag0 (0.15.1b-10)
libimlib2 (1.4.5-1)
libobrender27 (3.5.0-7)
libobt0 (3.5.0-7)
nitrogen (1.5.2-1)
obconf (1:2.0.3+20110805+debian-1)
obmenu (1.0-2+nmu1)
openbox (3.5.0-7)
openbox-themes (1.0.2)
tint2 (0.11+svn20111022-3)
Desktop right-click menu is working fine and everything. I haven't configured anything yet, just logged into Openbox to see what would happen.

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#12 Post by rabidfox »

Okay, let me have a look.
Last edited by rabidfox on 2013-10-22 16:12, edited 2 times in total.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#13 Post by MALsPa »

/var/log/apt/history.log

Here's mine:

Code: Select all

Start-Date: 2013-10-22  09:53:32
Commandline: synaptic
Install: libobrender27:i386 (3.5.0-7, automatic), openbox-themes:i386 (1.0.2, automatic), obconf:i386 (2.0.3+20110805+debian-1, automatic), tint2:i386 (0.11+svn20111022-3), openbox:i386 (3.5.0-7), obmenu:i386 (1.0-2+nmu1), libid3tag0:i386 (0.15.1b-10, automatic), libimlib2:i386 (1.4.5-1, automatic), nitrogen:i386 (1.5.2-1), libobt0:i386 (3.5.0-7, automatic)
End-Date: 2013-10-22  09:53:58

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#14 Post by rabidfox »

Here's mine:

Code: Select all

Commandline: apt-get install openbox
Install: openbox-themes:amd64 (1.0.2, automatic), obconf:amd64 (2.0.3+20110805+debian-1, automatic), libobrender27:amd64 (3.5.0-7, automatic), openbox:amd64 (3.5.0-7), libid3tag0:amd64 (0.15.1b-10, automatic), libimlib2:amd64 (1.4.5-1, automatic), libobt0:amd64 (3.5.0-7, automatic)
It didn't help, but later on I did:

Code: Select all

Commandline: apt-get install openbox obconf openbox-themes
Install: openbox-themes:amd64 (1.0.2), openbox:amd64 (3.5.0-7)
Commandline: apt-get install obmenu
Install: python-glade2:amd64 (2.24.0-3+b1, automatic), obmenu:amd64 (1.0-2+nmu1)
Commandline: apt-get install tint2
Install: tint2:amd64 (0.11+svn20111022-3)
Commandline: apt-get install nitrogen
Install: nitrogen:amd64 (1.5.2-1)
Commandline: apt-get install lxappearance
Install: lxappearance:amd64 (0.5.2-1)
Commandline: apt-get install xcompmgr gmrun
Install: xcompmgr:amd64 (1.1.5-1), gmrun:amd64 (0.9.2-2.1)
Obmenu is 'at the latest version'.

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#15 Post by MALsPa »

What if you try plugging a mouse in, for the time being? So that you can right-click on the desktop to bring up the menu.

Also, you might need to run update-menus for the Debian menu. See man update-menus.

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#16 Post by rabidfox »

Excellent idea.

I plugged in a mouse, and its right click brings up the menu.

Sadly, no reply from the touchpad. Now we know what it is! But how to fix it?

User avatar
kiyop
Posts: 3983
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#17 Post by kiyop »

I have similar issue (right-click does not show root-menu) on a debian machine since I updated squeeze to wheezy several months ago.
I solved the issue on a debian machine by removing (purging) all packages relating to xorg and openbox and reinstalling xorg and openbox several months ago.
But on one of my machine, I did not solve by the above method. I modified ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml so that pressing ALT+q shows root-menu.

Code: Select all

    <keybind key="A-Q">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
In my case, I do not use touchpad. I use mouse.
Last edited by kiyop on 2013-10-22 16:44, edited 3 times in total.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/

MALsPa
Posts: 678
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#18 Post by MALsPa »

Do you have xserver-org-input-synaptics installed? Sorry, don't know a lot about this because I use a mouse with my laptops -- I hate touchpads. But once (in the Sid-based Semplice Linux) I used synclient from that package to turn the touchpad off. See man synclient. Careful, I might be leading you down the wrong path with this.

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#19 Post by rabidfox »

I have xserver-org-input-synaptics, should I attempt to remove it?

I don't think the whole touchpad is off, since I can still move the cursor and maneuver between desktops.

rabidfox
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

#20 Post by rabidfox »

kiyop wrote:I have similar issue (right-click does not show root-menu), on a debian machine since I updated squeeze to wheezy.
I have solved the issue on a debian machine by removing (purging) all packages relating to xorg and openbox and reinstalling xorg and openbox.
I modified ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml so that pressing ALT+q shows root-menu.

Code: Select all

    <keybind key="A-Q">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
In my case, unpluging and re-pluging mouse does not solve the issue.
I tried putting that in my rc.xml, but no change.

I'm kind of sketched out about purging and reinstalling all the xorg stuff, is it really okay? It sounds dangerous to me. Do I have to do that outside of GNOME?
Last edited by rabidfox on 2013-10-22 16:46, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply