Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Update via terminal?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
joemartin
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-05-17 12:38

Update via terminal?

#1 Post by joemartin »

Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater or is the appropriate way to update via terminal?

Thanks for the information.

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Update via terminal?

#2 Post by Bulkley »

You can install Synaptic which is pretty good these days. I advise doing major upgrades by using CLI on a console.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Update via terminal?

#3 Post by GarryRicketson »

Normally "synaptic package manager" is installed by default, it is in the menu, "system" "administration" It will ask you to enter your password before you can use it, if your "user" password does not work, the root password will.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Update via terminal?

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

joemartin wrote:Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater
The old updater had gone, it has been replaced with the GNOME equivalent.
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/gnome-packagekit

This is based on patchy memory of other posts on this issue so I may be wrong here.

At any rate, I also advise performing updates from the command line as much more information is provided that way.
deadbang

otyugh
Posts: 49
Joined: 2014-06-17 23:11
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Update via terminal?

#5 Post by otyugh »

Does it perform the flashplayer update ? Most of people I know are addicted to this thing :s

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Update via terminal?

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

otyugh wrote:Does it perform the flashplayer update ?
I don't know, I never use GUIs for package management.

To update FlashPlayer, use:

Code: Select all

# update-flashplugin-nonfree --install
https://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer

It may be worth making this a daily cron job to ensure automatic updates of such a vulnerable piece of software.

Guide here:
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=367732
deadbang

User avatar
@zephyr
Posts: 18
Joined: 2014-09-17 21:34
Location: Apache, Oklahoma USA

Re: Update via terminal?

#7 Post by @zephyr »

If you are running testing or sid, smxi is an excellent way to keep your PC updated and also fix and install other apps. It can be found herehttp://smxi.org/site/install.htm. Just follow directions and use ctrl+alt+F1. You will need an administrators password. This is how I keep all my sid installs updated. Thanks-zephyr
ZephyrLinux

jesus92gz
Posts: 121
Joined: 2015-02-06 18:07

Re: Update via terminal?

#8 Post by jesus92gz »

How to update your system?

Code: Select all

# apt-get update && apt-get upgrade
You could set up a cron job or anacron job to run this command (customised, along with -y option, for example) automatically and, mailing some user or saving the logs with the result. https://wiki.debian.org/CronAnacronAtBatchSchedulers

I normally update manually with command when the computer starts and periodically. This is because it is a personal computer and I'm not that worried in keeping my system up to date, since I'm not offering any services, but in a server I would advise to create a custom cron job.

User avatar
vinnywright
Posts: 22
Joined: 2015-06-07 20:40

Re: Update via terminal?

#9 Post by vinnywright »

I prefer to use the "dist-upgrade" option ,,,, like

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .

so lets say " package-X-ver-1 " gets upgraded to ver-2 ,,,,,,,,, "upgrade" will only install updates to ver-1 and will not remove ver-1 for ver-2 ,,,,,,,,,"dist-upgrade" will remove ver-1 and move you to ver-2 and whatever depends as well.

VINNY
system76 Bonox8
i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores
Image

Randicus
Posts: 2663
Joined: 2011-05-08 09:11

Re: Update via terminal?

#10 Post by Randicus »

vinnywright wrote:"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .
With Testing and Sid, but not with Stable, since Stable does not receive newer packages. I assume someone asking how to install updates is using Stable. Hopefully the OP will not be confused.

millpond
Posts: 698
Joined: 2014-06-25 04:56

Re: Update via terminal?

#11 Post by millpond »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
joemartin wrote:Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater
The old updater had gone, it has been replaced with the GNOME equivalent.
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/gnome-packagekit

This is based on patchy memory of other posts on this issue so I may be wrong here.

At any rate, I also advise performing updates from the command line as much more information is provided that way.
Debian shold still have the 'auto-update' feature (I dont use it).
For Stable where there are normally only modest amount of packages, the command line is probably simplest if not autoupdating.

But for a flood of packages, as in a dist-upgrade or testing updates, personally I find Synaptic preferable. It will let you know if packages are trying to delete key programs. or create dependency problems. Often, after installing around the problem files, the dependency problems fix themselves. Also synaptic has the option to 'fix broken packages' that often resolves dependency problems.

User avatar
kiyop
Posts: 3983
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Update via terminal?

#12 Post by kiyop »

millpond wrote:Also synaptic has the option to 'fix broken packages' that often resolves dependency problems.
Is the option different from "apt-get install -f"?

$ man apt-get
gives:
-f, --fix-broken
Fix; attempt to correct a system with broken dependencies in place.
This option, when used with install/remove, can omit any packages
to permit APT to deduce a likely solution. If packages are
specified, these have to completely correct the problem. The option
is sometimes necessary when running APT for the first time; APT
itself does not allow broken package dependencies to exist on a
system. It is possible that a system's dependency structure can be
so corrupt as to require manual intervention (which usually means
using dpkg --remove to eliminate some of the offending packages).
Use of this option together with -m may produce an error in some
situations. Configuration Item: APT::Get::Fix-Broken.
I also often use

Code: Select all

dpkg --configure -a
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/

User avatar
kiyop
Posts: 3983
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Update via terminal?

#13 Post by kiyop »

Randicus wrote:
vinnywright wrote:"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .
With Testing and Sid, but not with Stable, since Stable does not receive newer packages.
Does it mean that "apt-get dist-upgrade" is useless on stable?
I know that stable does not install newer version of packages.

Reminder for myself:
https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/apt- ... #s-upgrade
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/

Post Reply