Compiz in Debian testing.

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby fabrixx » 2016-01-03 16:55

Hi.

I not see Compiz in Debian testing (only sid) how can i install it?

Thanks
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby dasein » 2016-01-03 17:04

Before you go installing buggy software on your system, maybe think about what it means for a package to be in Sid but not Testing.

(Offered as food for thought.)
User avatar
dasein
 
Posts: 7775
Joined: 2011-03-04 01:06
Location: Terra Incantationum

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby Bulkley » 2016-01-03 17:25

Compiz is really cool looking and fun to show off to your friends but I can't think of any other use. The thrill wears off quickly.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5995
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby kedaha » 2016-01-03 18:27

fabrixx wrote:Hi.

I not see Compiz in Debian testing (only sid) how can i install it?

Thanks

Compiz packages in sid are currently only available from debports, which isn't for amd64 or i386.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3148
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby fabrixx » 2016-01-04 21:50

Ok thanks.
I want compiz for Debian Mate
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby sunrat » 2016-01-05 01:23

I want a Maserati. :)
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3194
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2016-01-05 02:32

Compiz died.
You can dig up it's corpse at snapshots.debian.org but those zombie packages will likely eat your Mate's brains.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 5074
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby kedaha » 2016-01-05 09:55

dilberts_left_nut wrote:Compiz died.
You can dig up it's corpse at snapshots.debian.org but those zombie packages will likely eat your Mate's brains.

To paraphrase Mark Twain, I hope "the reports of Compiz's death are greatly exaggerated" if, as the wikipedia entry on Compiz says:
...a small team continues to work on Compiz with version 0.9.12 being the current focus of development.[22]
Further details at compiz-team

I see at compiz.org:
The latest stable release of the Compiz 0.8 series is 0.8.8.
The latest stable release of the Compiz 0.9 series is 0.9.12.2 [with added MATE integration] and bug reports can be found here.

Anyone interested in installing on Debian "jessie," might like to use or adapt the Compiz_Last_Ride script provided there. I've had a look at the script but would advise against running the end part which ends with the make install routine; it'd be much better to skip that part and to build Debian packages from there. I'd also advise running make before installing any nvidia packages which may throw a spanner in the works.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3148
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2016-01-05 10:55

Ah, ok - a hand bursts forth from the ground then ... :)

This seemed fairly definitive at the time - looks like someone stepped up.

The 0.9 branch was never packaged for Debian, just the 0.8 branch (last updated in 2011) which is likely to have some issues on newer systems.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 5074
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby kedaha » 2016-01-05 16:45

dilberts_left_nut wrote:Ah, ok - a hand bursts forth from the ground then ... :)

:D
Just to confirm that bulding Compiz from source 0.9.12.2 source went without a hitch on a VirtualBox amd64 "jessie" system except that - rather than make install - I just resorted to using checkinstall which means it looks like it can be done properly with dh-make.
It would be nice if some maintainer could check out this latest version of Compiz with a view to getting it into sid and then it could be backported.
Note: Just to add that, when I get round to it, I'll post again about this under a different topic title about "Compiz in stable."
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3148
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby fabrixx » 2016-01-07 19:26

Thank you
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby kedaha » 2016-01-07 22:14

To add to what I wrote in my previous post:
I ran the quaintly-named "Compiz_Last_Ride" script manually in a VirtualBox instance of Debian stable and after enabling the proprietary nvidia driver found that the script seems "to do what it says on the tin." and gets the compiz 0.9.2.12 version up and running using the make install commands in the script in jessie rather than with the debs made with checkinstall; for example, the desktop cube worked but there were a few glitches which might not occur if it were run on a proper installation. But even if it worked in "stretch", there's no knowing what might happen in the course of time since testing can change quite a lot. And because this upstream version is unavailable in official deb packages, it might easily mess up your system.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3148
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby swirler » 2016-01-27 18:14

Compiz 0.9.12 works in Ubuntu and Mint (OK, the way things work in Ubuntu and Mint) and -more importantly- works flawlessly (as far as I've seen) in Knoppix 7.6 with spectacular effects.

I think it's about time that it gets back in Debian.
swirler
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 2013-11-24 11:19

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby tsujan » 2016-05-21 14:58

Believe it or not, Compiz still works smoothly under Debian Testing :)

Yesterday I felt nostalgic for it. Google led me to Arch pages as usual. I grabbed Arch PKGBUILD files and patches for Compiz-0.9.12.2 and Emerald-0.9.5 and started the hard job of patching, changing and compiling without much hope. But,to my surprise, not only the compilation finished successfully but also Compiz worked smoothly under LXQt (my preferred DE)!

When I enabled its JPEG and PNG plugins, it crashed but after I restarted it, the plugings were enabled and it worked OK with all its fancy effects! I cleared '/var/lib/systemd/coredump' and logged out/in several times but no Compiz coredump has been created. That's while kwin creates coredumps on logging out.

I think Compiz will work until Wayland comes.
tsujan
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2011-03-21 09:51

Re: Compiz in Debian testing.

Postby tsujan » 2016-05-21 23:07

Compiz-0.8.12.3 is even better and completely functional under Debian Testing. It has the blur effect, which is disabled in v0.9.12.2.
tsujan
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2011-03-21 09:51

Next

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable