Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#1 Post by banderas20 »

Hi all,

I'm using Debian Jessie and I can't get WiFi card to work.

It's listed in lspci, in lshw and in /etc/network/interfaces. However, if I do

Code: Select all

rfkill list
0: hci0: Bluetooth
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
lshw -C network

*-network
description: Ethernet interface
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface


In GNOME the Wifi option is there, but greyed out.

¿Any help?

Thanks!

bigrigdriver
Posts: 145
Joined: 2014-09-01 17:04
Location: East Central Illinois, USA

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#2 Post by bigrigdriver »

Here is the HowTo setup wifi from the Debian wiki.
https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse
Registered GNU/Linux user #170078

Go ask google before you ask on these boards.

It it isn't broken, Tweak It !!!

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#3 Post by banderas20 »

bigrigdriver wrote:Here is the HowTo setup wifi from the Debian wiki.
https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse
Thanks. I've already tried everything with no result.

If I run

iwlist scan

it displays a whole bunch of networks, which means the hardware is working properly.

The thing is my ssid is not broadcasted. I configure it in

Code: Select all

/etc/network/interfaces

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid my_SSID
wpa-psk hash_of_WPA
wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK

and in wpa_supplicant.conf as:

Code: Select all

network={
       ssid="my_SSID"
       psk=hash_of_WPA
       key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
       proto=WPA
       scan_ssid=1
 }
Then I make ifup wlan0

And still not working..

¿Any clue?

I want to remark that my SSID is NOT BROADCASTED.

Thanks!

User avatar
edbarx
Posts: 5401
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#4 Post by edbarx »

So, your networking interfaces are recognised, but you cannot connect to a wifi hotspot. My suggestion is to comment the lines following "iface wlan0 inet dhcp". Keep security settings in wpa_supplicant.conf. I have discarded using ifupdown as it fails to connect to OPEN wifi hotspots. These days I use a low level method to connect except for wired connections that are excellently managed automatically by the operating system.

My method goes something like this:

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 essid mycoolessid
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -B -c /path/to/wpa_supplicant.conf
dhclient -v wlan0
All the above require root privileges.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#5 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

banderas20 wrote:

Code: Select all

wpa-psk hash_of_WPA
Please post the exact command that you used to generate this "hash_of_WPA", whatever that means.

Also, a wpa_supplicant configuration file is *not* needed for Debian's ifupdown connection method.

Finally, "hiding" your SSID does *not* improve security in any way whatsoever so you should probably stop that, if you can ;)
deadbang

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#6 Post by banderas20 »

@edbarx

Thanks. I'll give it a go and provide feedback on the results.

@Head_on_a_Stick.

Sure! From https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse#wpa_supplicant
2. Use the WPA passphrase to calculate the correct WPA PSK hash for your SSID by altering the following example:

Code: Select all

$ wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase
The above command gives the output:

Code: Select all

network={
        ssid="myssid"
        #psk="my_very_secret_passphrase"
        psk=ccb290fd4fe6b22935cbae31449e050edd02ad44627b16ce0151668f5f53c01b
}
you'll need to copy from "psk=" to the end of the line, to put in your /etc/network/interfaces file.
Thank you all.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#7 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Did you type in "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" or did you use your actual SSID and password?

Have you tried broadcasting your SSID, as I suggested?

Your laptop will broadcast the SSID once it is connected so there really is no benefit to be had from "hiding" it.
deadbang

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Debian doesn't enable wireless iface

#8 Post by banderas20 »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Did you type in "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" or did you use your actual SSID and password?

Have you tried broadcasting your SSID, as I suggested?

Your laptop will broadcast the SSID once it is connected so there really is no benefit to be had from "hiding" it.
I typed "wpa_passphrase myssid my_very_secret_passphrase" as the documentation states. I don't want to broadcast mi ssid. It's a personal issue by now.

@edbarx.

I have done as you have said and I have been able to achieve this:

Code: Select all

ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr [edited]  
          inet addr:192.168.1.150  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::de85:deff:fec5:98ca/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7367 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5839 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:9514836 (9.0 MiB)  TX bytes:640368 (625.3 KiB)
But I still cannot access to network. If i set eth0 down, then I have no connectivity at all.

BTW, it's very strange that in

Code: Select all

/etc/network/interfaces

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
I only have "lo". Nothing about eth0. But yet it works.
So I don't see eth0 but I have connectivity. I do see wlan0 but I can't connect.
I don't understant nothing at all. :( :( :(

BTW, i have two

Code: Select all

wpa_supplicant.conf
files

Code: Select all

/etc/dbus-1/system.d/wpa_supplicant.conf
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Thanks!

EDIT: Unplugged Ethernet cable and WiFi worked like a charm :evil: . ¿Why?

Post Reply