Should I rma my new motherboard

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby Ellen1910 » 2017-12-29 04:25

4.9.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.65-3+deb9u1 (2017-12-23) x86_64 GNU/Linux

For sound I rely on a coax connection from an onboard SPDIF header to a DAC. A few weeks ago I purchased an H270 board with a Realtek ALC1220 on it and experienced trouble, namely: randomly sound coming from the SPDIF header drops out for a half second -- no hiss, no crackling, just silence for a half second. Line-out (analog) never cuts out.

I had the same setup on my G41 board and never had that problem. But then I was using jessie. So I installed the identical stretch system on that old box. The G41 continued to show no problems whatsoever.

Tonight, for the first time and all on its own, analog sound began playing through the SPDIF circuit. As I write this post I'm listening to vlc which thinks I'm on "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo." pavucontrol agrees [Configuration shows "Analog Stereo Output (unplugged)"].

device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"

But the sound is coming from the SPDIF header; it's the only thing that's attached to my stereo, and the sound is experiencing the silence "drops."

Note below: analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority: 9900, not available)

Code: Select all
dido@topos:~$ pactl info
Server String: unix:/run/user/1000/pulse/native
Library Protocol Version: 32
Server Protocol Version: 32
Is Local: yes
Client Index: 26
Tile Size: 65472
User Name: dido
Host Name: topos
Server Name: pulseaudio
Server Version: 10.0
Default Sample Specification: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
Default Channel Map: front-left,front-right
Default Sink: alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo
Default Source: alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo.monitor
Cookie: 9543:081e


Code: Select all
dido@topos:~$ pactl list sinks
Sink #14
   State: RUNNING
   Name: alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo
   Description: Built-in Audio Analog Stereo
   Driver: module-alsa-card.c
   Sample Specification: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
   Channel Map: front-left,front-right
   Owner Module: 6
   Mute: no
   Volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
           balance 0.00
   Base Volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
   Monitor Source: alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1f.3.analog-stereo.monitor
   Latency: 5965 usec, configured 8000 usec
   Flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY
   Properties:
      alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
      device.api = "alsa"
      device.class = "sound"
      alsa.class = "generic"
      alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
      alsa.name = "Generic Analog"
      alsa.id = "Generic Analog"
      alsa.subdevice = "0"
      alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
      alsa.device = "0"
      alsa.card = "0"
      alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
      alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xef420000 irq 135"
      alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
      device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1f.3"
      sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0"
      device.bus = "pci"
      device.vendor.id = "8086"
      device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
      device.product.id = "a2f0"
      device.form_factor = "internal"
      device.string = "front:0"
      device.buffering.buffer_size = "352800"
      device.buffering.fragment_size = "176400"
      device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
      device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
      device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
      device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
      alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek Generic"
      alsa.components = "HDA:10ec1220,1458a0b6,00100003 HDA:8086280b,80860101,00100000"
      module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
      device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
   Ports:
      analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority: 9900, not available)
      analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority: 9000, not available)
   Active Port: analog-output-lineout
   Formats:
      pcm


Could this be a software problem? Anyone have an idea what's causing the problems?
Ellen1910
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-09-30 13:49

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby steve_v » 2017-12-29 09:11

Do you have the same problem if you use ALSA directly, without pulseaudio?
I'm not familiar with this chipset, which driver are you using? snd_hda_intel? (lspci -v)
I'm thinking it's fairly new, you might want to play with a newer kernel or some of the knobs on your driver module...

The real "is it a hardware problem" test is to boot Windoze with the official manufacturers drivers, as lousy as that idea is.
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby acewiza » 2017-12-29 13:15

If it's in like a 30-day return window or depending on your warranty, there's no shame in returning it to try a different board. It's not your job to sort out driver and firmware incompatibilities.
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.
User avatar
acewiza
 
Posts: 358
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby steve_v » 2017-12-29 13:36

acewiza wrote:If it's in like a 30-day return window or depending on your warranty, there's no shame in returning it to try a different board.

I dunno man, there's something about returning things that aren't broken that just doesn't sit right with me. That's not what warranties are for AFAIK, and doing some research before purchase is definitely the buyers job...
Then again, I suspect this "RMA if I don't like it" is a 'murican thing. Nobody offers this kind of warranty around here.

Aside, decent soundcard or external DAC for the win. I have never encountered an onboard sound chipset that didn't sound like arse (or HDD head actuators to be more precise).
Out of curiosity, what DAC are we using here?
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby Ellen1910 » 2017-12-29 15:30

Do you have the same problem if you use ALSA directly, without pulseaudio?
I'm not familiar with this chipset, which driver are you using? snd_hda_intel? (lspci -v)
I'm thinking it's fairly new, you might want to play with a newer kernel or some of the knobs on your driver module...

The real "is it a hardware problem" test is to boot Windoze with the official manufacturers drivers, as lousy as that idea is.


I've got Windows XP installed, but Kaby Lake processors don't boot Windows XP. Yes as to snd_hda_intel. BTW I didn't need the cli hint on this one, but I will on others. Keep those hints comin'; I have no shame.

I'll be back with the answer to your ALSA-only question.
Ellen1910
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-09-30 13:49

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby acewiza » 2017-12-29 15:41

steve_v wrote:I dunno man, there's something about returning things that aren't broken that just doesn't sit right with me.

Broken can be a relative term, in cases like this. It's not that simple when you are talking about a machine that may conceivably be used in practically limitless ways.
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.
User avatar
acewiza
 
Posts: 358
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby Ellen1910 » 2017-12-29 15:47

steve_v wrote:
Aside, decent soundcard or external DAC for the win. I have never encountered an onboard sound chipset that didn't sound like arse (or HDD head actuators to be more precise).
Out of curiosity, what DAC are we using here?


Ross Martin AUDIO 24 BIT DAC (Burr Brown PCM1794 DAC).

Not to turn this thread into an onboard-outboard DAC controversy, but I think the ALC889 and the one I have now (ALC1220) -- at least on the AD side -- are excellent.
Ellen1910
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-09-30 13:49

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby steve_v » 2017-12-29 18:43

Nice :D
A bit fancier than my Auzentech PCI card indeed.
I was thinking about external, but the auzen turned up cheap and it had the high output levels, low noise and socketed opamps I wanted.
As far as inboard-outboard goes, the only real reason I can see for an external DAC is noise. But hey, this card is hooked directly to a 350W (homebrew) power amp and 102db/W drivers... I don't hear any noise. :P
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby Ellen1910 » 2017-12-30 00:54

Ellen1910 wrote:
I'll be back with the answer to your ALSA-only question.


First time investigating PulseAudio/ALSA. Ordinarily, I expect seamlessness from the Debian maintainers. I mean what do I pay them for anyway?

Here's what I've done. First, edited /etc/pulse/client.conf [autospawn = no]; then,

Code: Select all
root@topos:/home/dido# systemctl --dido stop pulseaudio.socket
root@topos:/home/dido# systemctl --dido stop pulseaudio.service


When I closed the pavucontrol widget, I was logged out of the desktop. Huh? Now, I can't connect with any of the pulseaudio commands, so I assume I'm on ALSA, only. But -- here's alsa-info.sh


Code: Select all
!!DMI Information
!!---------------

Manufacturer:      Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name:      H270-Gaming 3
Product Version:   Default string
Firmware Version:  F6


!!Kernel Information
!!------------------

Kernel release:    4.9.0-4-amd64
Operating System:  GNU/Linux
Architecture:      x86_64
Processor:         unknown
SMP Enabled:       Yes


!!ALSA Version
!!------------

Driver version:     k4.9.0-4-amd64
Library version:    1.1.3
Utilities version:  1.1.3


!!Loaded ALSA modules
!!-------------------

snd_hda_intel


!!Sound Servers on this system
!!----------------------------

Pulseaudio:
      Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
      Running - Yes


!!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
!!-----------------------------

 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xef420000 irq 135


!!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
!!--------------------------------------

00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device a2f0


!!Advanced information - PCI Vendor/Device/Subsystem ID's
!!-------------------------------------------------------

00:1f.3 0403: 8086:a2f0
   Subsystem: 1458:a0b6


!!Modprobe options (Sound related)
!!--------------------------------

snd_pcsp: index=-2
snd_usb_audio: index=-2
snd_atiixp_modem: index=-2
snd_intel8x0m: index=-2
snd_via82xx_modem: index=-2


!!Loaded sound module options
!!---------------------------

!!Module: snd_hda_intel


But notice --

Code: Select all
[i]!!Sound Servers on this system
!!----------------------------

Pulseaudio:
      Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
      Running - Yes[/i]


So, if I'm on ALSA, only, then, the answer to your question is I'm experiencing the same problems -- half second glitches and sound on both the SPDIF and line-out headers. I will say alsamixer can mute each of those outputs -- "Master" and "S/PDIF" -- separately.
Ellen1910
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-09-30 13:49

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby golinux » 2017-12-30 01:45

Why not get rid of pulseaudio? It's #*^#* software.
May the FORK be with you!
User avatar
golinux
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: 2010-12-09 00:56
Location: not a 'buntard!

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby steve_v » 2017-12-30 05:12

Ellen1910 wrote:So, if I'm on ALSA, only, then, the answer to your question is I'm experiencing the same problems

In that case, (FWIW, the standard ALSA test is 'aplay' with a .wav to a hardware PCM) then I bump my "newer kernel " suggestion.

golinux wrote:Why not get rid of pulseaudio? It's #*^#* software.

My thoughts too, but if it's not the problem in this case, ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Should I rma my new motherboard

Postby Ellen1910 » 2017-12-30 05:26

A discovery when pulseaudio is disabled --

Clicking the vlc Audio button and selecting "Audio Device" generates some 33 choices -- same as $ aplay -L.

Choosing an analog or digital device solves my problem of analog appearing on the SPDIF output. The line-out jack appears to carry only the analog signal and the SPDIF header only the digital signal -- as they should but seem to have gotten confused under pulse audio.

But the half-second sound "drop" on the SPDIF output is still occurring.
Ellen1910
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-09-30 13:49

G41 - H270

Postby llivv » 2018-01-02 05:25

I'm trying to guess what the diffs are between the G41 and the H270
First of all the new hardware prolly doesn't have stable drivers available yet - ie: firmware
If you are comfortable running a sid install, that is another thing I'd try, if I had an extra empty partition on the machine.

another thing to double check if you haven't already is the coax - both ends - than another cable - just to double and triple check current status.

sounds like a nice setup

edit: you might also try connecting to the dac using analog out instead of the spdif or an optical out (if you have one) to see if you get the same behavior
in the kitchen with Julia
The Past, Christmas Present and Future
Get on the Dbus to Bcan
User avatar
llivv
 
Posts: 5634
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable