Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED]Drivers broadcom 43142

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Message
Author
User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

[SOLVED]Drivers broadcom 43142

#1 Post by awachens »

Hi guys i want to know if i can install broadcom 43142 drivers wifi without internet connection in my hp 11 stream . Can i download and compile the drivers ?
What can i do ? Can i select at installation bc43 driver ? Works fine ?

Regards and thank you !
Last edited by awachens on 2018-01-06 19:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#2 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

https://wiki.debian.org/wl

Easiest if you can arrange a LAN connection temporarily.
Without a connection, you'll need to download the listed packages and transfer them to your system.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#3 Post by awachens »

Hi! Good morning thanks for the fast answer.
I can connect but... I wanna learn how to do without LAN connection. Just offline .
When I try to install Debian say you have not installed gcc.

I check now this link.

Can I download gcc with all dependence’s?

Regards !

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#4 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

If you like.

Maybe check out apt-offline.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#5 Post by awachens »

Good morning. Thx for the answer.

I have tried apt-offline set /tmp/apt-offline.sig

But send me an error like: BASH: apt-offline command no found.

What can i do?

Regards !

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#6 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

You'll have to install it first.
https://packages.debian.org/stretch/apt-offline

Other than that, I don't know as I haven't had the need to use it.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#7 Post by Wheelerof4te »

I have that exact card, and the installation is very simple if you enable non-free repo:

Code: Select all

apt install broadcom-sta-dkms

Code: Select all

reboot
or

Code: Select all

modprobe wl
That is with LAN connected.

Without LAN, you will need to somehow transfer the package and it's dependencies to your computer. No need for apt-offline, just use plain apt:

Code: Select all

apt install ./<packagename>

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#8 Post by awachens »

Hi guys thank you for the answers !

I know how to do with LAN connection, but i wanna practice dependencies etc...

Then.. If i download the package when i try for example: DPKG -i asdaeaw.deb (for example). Then i get an error... I need GCC. I install base 6 of gcc but nothing happens... Continue with error message...

Regards !

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#9 Post by stevepusser »

One can also use a connected machine with the same kernel, module-assistant, and broadcom-sta-source to build debs of the driver. Then you just need to install the debs on the isolated machine. I've done this already in several threads here for users with this Catch-22, and the debs are still available for download.

Code: Select all

apt install module-assistant broadcom-sta-source

m-a prepare

m-a build broadcom-sta
Debs will end up in /usr/src.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#10 Post by debiman »

awachens wrote:I know how to do with LAN connection, but i wanna practice dependencies etc...

Then.. If i download the package when i try for example: DPKG -i asdaeaw.deb (for example). Then i get an error... I need GCC. I install base 6 of gcc but nothing happens... Continue with error message...
you are confusing 2 things:
- installing from packages (whether online or offline, they're the same packages, ending in .deb)
- installing from source, which often requires compiling, that's where gcc comes in.

last time i had to install a wireless driver offline, i did this:

1.
find the first package i need here:
https://www.debian.org/distrib/packages#search_packages
and download it manually.
look at its dependencies, and compare if they're installed already.
if not, download manually.

2.
move it all to a usb stick, go to the machine that needs the driver, and install with

Code: Select all

dpkg -i ....
if there's still dependency problems, go back to 1.

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#11 Post by awachens »

Thx, i do this... But debian say's me need gcc base 6... When i use:

Code: Select all

dpkg -i package.deb
Now i got this, but i can't transfer archive.sig to USB because is only read... Then i broke my debian... And first i should repair fstab.

Regads and thx !

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#12 Post by stevepusser »

It's quite tedious to install all the kernel header and compiler packages you need to build on a isolated machine. Possibly you can use the multiple Debian DVD's as apt sources to get those.

If you have another fresh install with a connection, in exactly the same state as the isolated box, you can use Synaptic to generate a deb download script. Then you just run that script to download the debs, take them to the target box, install them, and then build the driver. But why do that when building the driver debs is much faster and easier on your connected machine?

But the contents of the script would be informative if you want to generate it and post the contents here...then anyone can see what packages they'll need to install.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#13 Post by awachens »

Good morning, i try this with apt-offlien:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-offline set broadcom-offline.sig --install-packages broadcom-sta-dkms
Generating database of package ['broadcom-sta-dkms'] and it's dependenceies.
E: The package could not be located broadcom-sta-dkms
ERROR: FATAL: Something is wrong with the apt system.

¿?

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#14 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

You probably need to update your local package lists to include the non-free section.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#15 Post by awachens »

Yes, i do this and work fine now. But i use modprobe wl and nothing happen... I use ifconfig and say order not found..
I wanna upload screenshot but server don't want..

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, forum-admin@forums.debian.net and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#16 Post by GarryRicketson »

I wanna upload screenshot but server don't want..
http://forums.debian.net/search.php?key ... screenshot

You could have just browsed the forum a little, there must be at least 100 times
the same :Attachments, How to post a screen shot and use code boxes
And 100+ times the same answer,..
Oh, and if you really must use a screen shot, do it right (correctly) , Please
use a thumb nail.
Please
use a thumb nail.

Thanks

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#17 Post by awachens »

mmm... I think is just a personal error...
But thx for the explain ;)

Regards !

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#18 Post by stevepusser »

So, when you installed broadcom-sta-dkms, there was output in the terminal. Did it complete successfully, or did the build fail, as will happen when the compilers and headers are not installed, and has happened umpteen times on this forum? Try a reinstall:

Code: Select all

apt-get install --reinstall broadcom-sta-dkms
Even better, build the driver debs, install them, and put them somewhere safe where you can use them in the future if needed.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
awachens
Posts: 68
Joined: 2016-03-06 11:28

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#19 Post by awachens »

hi, 0 errors installed successful.

When i try for example:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
failed !

Code: Select all

sudo journalctl -xe
failed to read or parse configuration
failed to restart raise network interfaces
failed to read or parse configration /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
failed to restart raise network interfaces

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Drivers broadcom 43142

#20 Post by stevepusser »

Just for kicks, build the deb packages to make sure that your setup is actually working.
MX Linux packager and developer

Post Reply