Connecting my 2 clients to my server

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby sarksloane » 2018-03-10 06:59

Hi, How can I connect my 2 clients(POS terminal) to my server?

I installed Floreant POS and Mysql as my database in my server(stretch). I tried some steps on how to configure for client-server networking using Switch so that I can connect my 2 Floreant POS terminal to my server but no luck.

I can able to connect my 2 POS terminal to my Mysql database in my server if I plug and connect my switch to my commercial internet router. But if I unplug or disconnect the ethernet cable from my internet router, the connection was lost and I cannot connect anymore from my server.

I put check in SSH during my installation in server. How can i connect my 2 clients using switch? what are the steps?

thanks.
sarksloane
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2017-01-17 04:21

Re: Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby debiman » 2018-03-10 11:03

i connect to my debian server via ssh.
is that working?
the rest of your question seems to be specific to some POS software (what's POS?), and you have proivded (almost) NO detail or anything that could be called a valid problem description.
please read the first link in my signature.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby TonyT » 2018-03-11 11:46

FYI - PoS = Point of Sale
Assign the server and the 2 terminals each with a static ip address and all on the same subnet.
192.168.1.2 - server
192.168.1.3 - PoS #1
192.168.1.4 - PoS #2 (corrected typo)
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway - empty
DNS - empty
Connect all to a switch. They should be able to communicate with each other.
Note, if the network cards don't support auto-negotiate then you'll need to use crossover cat5 cables.
Last edited by TonyT on 2018-03-13 12:17, edited 1 time in total.
TonyT
 
Posts: 555
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby sarksloane » 2018-03-13 03:23

thank you TonyT and debiman.. I will give an update once I tried..
sarksloane
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2017-01-17 04:21

Re: Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby NFT5 » 2018-03-13 04:25

TonyT wrote:192.168.1.3 - PoS #1
192.168.1.3 - PoS #2


192.168.1.4 for POS #2?
User avatar
NFT5
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 2014-10-10 11:38
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Connecting my 2 clients to my server

Postby TonyT » 2018-03-13 12:17

NFT5 wrote:
TonyT wrote:192.168.1.3 - PoS #1
192.168.1.3 - PoS #2


192.168.1.4 for POS #2?

Yes, my typo, thanks.
TonyT
 
Posts: 555
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable