Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Solved] Bring Network up on a minimal install

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
makh
Posts: 651
Joined: 2011-10-09 09:16

[Solved] Bring Network up on a minimal install

#1 Post by makh »

Hi

I use a minimal install within virtualbox.

Today I tried:

Code: Select all

systemctl start network
ifup
wrt:
https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi ... rence/ch05
and
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfiguration

But all failed to do it. I dont have network manager installed.

On my googling, this guy was dishearted too:
https://manurevah.com/blah/en/blog/Debi ... networking

but a reboot to bring the network up sounds silly.

Is there a specific systemd command for it?

Thankyou
Last edited by makh on 2018-07-09 15:17, edited 1 time in total.
ThinkPad E14: Arch, Debian Stable
GUI: Xfce

For new: Try MX Linux, Linux Mint; later join Debian Stable

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#2 Post by bw123 »

I believe the systemd service is 'networking' not network, and it might need
to be restarted instead of started, since it is default enabled at boot.

ifup by itself does nothing, as you would have seen if you ran it?

Code: Select all

# ifup
ifup: no interface(s) specified
ifup: Use --help for help
Your question is a little confusing, I know you have been around a long while. systemd runs ifupdown configuration if it exists, but there is a network component to systemd also, as shown in your link. Why confuse the two? Which do you wish to use?
resigned by AI ChatGPT

User avatar
makh
Posts: 651
Joined: 2011-10-09 09:16

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#3 Post by makh »

Hi

I tried:

Code: Select all

systemctl stop networking
... works

Code: Select all

systemctl start networking
... fails

Code: Select all

systemctl restart networking
... fails

Thankyou
ThinkPad E14: Arch, Debian Stable
GUI: Xfce

For new: Try MX Linux, Linux Mint; later join Debian Stable

User avatar
makh
Posts: 651
Joined: 2011-10-09 09:16

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#4 Post by makh »

hi

I used:

Code: Select all

ifup -a
but its not bringing up the connection.
ThinkPad E14: Arch, Debian Stable
GUI: Xfce

For new: Try MX Linux, Linux Mint; later join Debian Stable

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#5 Post by bw123 »

If you are using ifupdown, then the configuration in /etc/network/interfaces will probably be where the problem is.

The only thing I notice when restarting networking.service is the module for the device needs to be reprobed when using allow-hotplug in the interfaces file. On mine it's modprobe -r b43, then modprobe b43 and this notifies the kernel there is a new device and the iface does it's thing like it was newly inserted.

The better way might be just ifdown -a, change your interfaces file, then ifup -a you don't need to use systemd/systemctl?

ifupdown is pretty old, pretty well documented, thousands of threads on the internet and the forum about how to set it up.
resigned by AI ChatGPT

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#6 Post by debiman »

makh wrote:... fails
... fails
how?
show us.
also

Code: Select all

systemctl | grep -i net

User avatar
makh
Posts: 651
Joined: 2011-10-09 09:16

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#7 Post by makh »

debiman wrote:
makh wrote:... fails
... fails
how?
show us.
also

Code: Select all

systemctl | grep -i net
output:

Code: Select all

sys-devices-pci0000:00-0000:00:03.0-net-enp0s3.device                                    loaded active plugged   82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter) 
sys-subsystem-net-devices-enp0s3.device                                                  loaded active plugged   82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter) 
networking.service                                                                       loaded active exited    Raise network interfaces                                          
network-online.target                                                                    loaded active active    Network is Online                                                 
network.target                                                                           loaded active active    Network
ping:

Code: Select all

ping: debian.org: Temporary failure in name resolution
ThinkPad E14: Arch, Debian Stable
GUI: Xfce

For new: Try MX Linux, Linux Mint; later join Debian Stable

Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#8 Post by Wheelerof4te »

On minimal CLI install, ifupdown manages the network by parsing the configuration from /etc/network/interfaces file.
Obviously, post the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/network/interfaces
See this wiki page for details:
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfiguration

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#9 Post by debiman »

your network is up.
seems to be a name resolution issue.
please show us:

Code: Select all

ping -c3 8.8.8.8

User avatar
makh
Posts: 651
Joined: 2011-10-09 09:16

Re: Bring Network up on a minimal install

#10 Post by makh »

Hi

Default file /etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug enp0s3
iface enp0s3 inet dhcp
Changed the file /etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

# The primary network interface
auto enp0s3
allow-hotplug enp0s3
iface enp0s3 inet dhcp
Now its working, with:

Code: Select all

ifup -a
Thankyou
:)
ThinkPad E14: Arch, Debian Stable
GUI: Xfce

For new: Try MX Linux, Linux Mint; later join Debian Stable

Post Reply