Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-07-09 21:37

I am kind of short on time at the moment, so will be brief.

I wonder, if this:http://virtualcloudzz.blogspot.com/2013/08/fujitsu-server-raid-configuration-steps.html is more like what you have ?
It is a image , so I was unable to copy/paste any text, but look at step 9.
It says that is to format,...

Well if I don't ask I won't learn... how do I mount it?

It is not to hard, there are various methods, you can use keywords:
Code: Select all
How to mount a usb device on Debian
to search.
If the one link I show is not what you want. Also there is "man mount", but
your live Debian might not have the man command and pages.
https://linuxconfig.org/howto-mount-usb-drive-in-linux
At a glance, looks ok, sorry, not trying to be rude, or"brush" you off, I
really do have some chores to do, and don't have time to write all the steps.
Guess for now, that is about it.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5053
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-10 09:06

Please see below for the outputs of lspci and lsblk. The Debian live usb mounted the usb drive formatted as fat32 as soon as I plugged it in, which made life a little bit easier.

Note however that I cleared the RAID configuration and set the SATA controller to AHCI mode now, so I appreciate this isn't the output we were ideally looking for. I am going try the Software RAID mode in the debian installer.

lspci -nn
Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/Ivy Bridge DRAM Controller [8086:0158] (rev 09)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection [8086:1502] (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1c2d] (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1c10] (rev b4)
00:1c.6 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 7 [8086:1c1c] (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1c26] (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge [8086:244e] (rev a4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation C202 Chipset Family LPC Controller [8086:1c52] (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller [8086:1c02] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1c22] (rev 04)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82574L Gigabit Network Connection [8086:10d3]
03:07.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] ES1000 [1002:515e] (rev 02)

lsblk
Code: Select all
NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
loop0    7:0    0   1.8G  1 loop /lib/live/mount/rootfs/filesystem.squashfs
sda      8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk
sdb      8:16   0 465.8G  0 disk
sdc      8:32   1  57.8G  0 disk
├─sdc1   8:33   1     2G  0 part /lib/live/mount/medium
└─sdc2   8:34   1   416K  0 part /media/user/d-live 9.4.0 ci amd64
sdd      8:48   1  57.8G  0 disk
└─sdd1   8:49   1  57.7G  0 part /media/user/usb
sr0     11:0    1  1024M  0 rom 
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-07-10 13:14

Good job on that, I just woke up, and yes this is info we need, last night I could not sleep well, so I did a whole bunch of searches, and reading.
First, I need to apologize, on the Virtual Drive part, or VD (Virtual Disk), so I was not approaching this correctly. It seems there should be some sort of method or software with your bios software, the VD is formatted when you create it to some extent, but you still need a way to tell the VD to start, and use the USB medium with the intstaller on it, if the VD is set up correctly,it would detect the USB device, boot with that , and then you install. Hope that makes sense, I should have a coffee before saying any more, but also here is a bunch of links,
that may or may not be of use,
One question, Have you been able to actually start the VD, ? Does it try to boot with the USB device, and Debian, ? can you clarify on that , the procedure you are using. ?
If you are just booting the computer with the Live Debian usb device, no it would not be able to see a Virtual Disk of any kind. I will explain more after coffee, and chores, here is the links:
===========================
http://manuals.ts.fujitsu.com/file/4390 ... -ug-en.pdf
11.4.2 Installing Linux on the managed server after
configuration
I The mouse can be used but not synchronized during Linux installation.
I Whenever you change a remote storage medium, you must remove the
remote storage connection for the currently connected medium and then
connect the new medium as remote storage.
After configuration has been completed, the Installation Manager displays the
following dialog page:
============================
https://www.alteeve.com/w/Configuring_H ... u_Primergy
=====================
http://manuals.ts.fujitsu.com/file/1146 ... ide-en.pdf
===============================
https://www.fujitsu.com/global/Images/c ... x150s6.pdf
===============================
http://www.fujitsu.com/global/support/p ... y/drivers/
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5053
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-10 14:16

I created the RAID Array and the Virtual Disk on top of the array, I then initialized the array. This was all done in the RAID BIOS.

I then booted the Debian installer out the wi-... *ahem* I mean booted into the Debian installer, went through the setup and go to the point where I could choose the disk to install to, but the only disk I had to choose from was the USB Stick that the installer was on, it could not see the VD from what I had configured at all.
=====
I unfortunately cannot say whether the suggestion of passing the extra argument to the debian installer would or would not have worked. As I cleared the array, changed the SATA controller to AHCI mode, then used Gparted Live to create new GPT partition tables on both drives, then I booted into the installer, and followed THIS GUIDE.

The install is now running but it is currently stuck at "Installing the base system"/"Installing core packages..." but not sure whether it just takes a long time due to running on a software RAID or something?
EDIT: IT is now on Unpacking libc6:amd64... so it isn't frozen just taking a long time.
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-10 15:30

So the install has been running for about 2 hours now, and it's still on "Installing base system"/"Unpacking dpkg".

This is crazy slow, past experience with a Debian install has been just a few minutes...
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-07-10 16:54

If the install is advancing, even very slowly , do not abort it . In some of the documentation I read last night, I remember seeing something about it could take several hours, depending on the OS.
In your first post:
Using USB Drive with bootable ISO: Debian 9.4.0 AMD64 NetInst

Are you sure it is also able to connect to internet, if it can not establish a connection, it will only be able to install a very minimal system ?
It sounds like it has connected, and is going ok, obviously though , the speed will depend a lot on how good your internet connection is, for me , mine is very poor, and slow, installing a full version of Debian, with DE, is essentially impossible. To download a full version, with DE, and make a CD or DVD can take up to 12 hours or more, for me, ... but any way that is another topic.
Also, some where , you mentioned about using Debian, with the CinnamonDE,
is that what you are trying to install ?
A DE of any kind, would slow down the install considerably, they are all rather bloated, === looks like I am going to drift into another topi , sorry, but anyway,
that leads to one more question, Why, or what is the purpose for setting up the
Virtual Disk or disks, ? Are you planning to setup a webserver,,and hosting, or what ?
I know, your reasons really don't matter, but on the other hand there is some things I would like to suggest, but I need to know more about what you plan to do with this, I mean it is much more then just a Desktop PC, it is intended as a server, etc,... if it is just experimenting , to learn, then I have several suggestions, if it is intended to be a on-line server, then I also have some suggestions, but I need to know more about what your intentions , plans are for this machine.
I still have not had breakfast, just finished chores, etc,... will be back later.
P.S,
>then I booted into the installer, and followed THIS GUIDE.

I took a quick look at the guide, and it seems ok,... any way I need to get some food in me, or I really will start rambling, it is hard to concentrate and stay on topic when one is hungry.
In a nut shell, I was thinking to suggest trying to setup another VD , and install something simple, small to it, Debian can be rather difficult even on a real HD,
but for now ,we will have to just see how this goes, since it appears to be installing, ...
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5053
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-10 17:31

GarryRicketson wrote:If the install is advancing, even very slowly , do not abort it . In some of the documentation I read last night, I remember seeing something about it could take several hours, depending on the OS.

I've left the machine on at the office with the install running, just switched the monitor off is all. Hopefully it'll be done by the morning.

GarryRicketson wrote:Are you sure it is also able to connect to internet, if it can not establish a connection, it will only be able to install a very minimal system ?

I believe it connected ok, as it attempted DHCP first (which is disabled on our network), then I setup the connection manually and it accepted the settings, didn't give any errors and got the time from a NTS.
I did completely forget I was using a netinst iso, that probably would explain why it's taking so long... our network is shite as I explained briefly below. I think I need to wake up a bit when doing this stuff I'm not even remembering the basics...

GarryRicketson wrote:the speed will depend a lot on how good your internet connection is

The internet line is pretty good to the router, but our switch or something along those lines is configured poorly, as the speeds per device are much slower than the full line capacity... we inherited a shit setup from a previous company - long story and topic for another day...

GarryRicketson wrote:you mentioned about using Debian, with the CinnamonDE,
is that what you are trying to install ?

I was using a Debian live USB with CinnamonDE to test the server, it's also what I used to get the lsblk and lspci outputs... I'm not actually installing that and I have no intentions of putting a DE on the server in question when it's actually up and running (which it hopefully will be tomorrow considering that I have left the installer running for the night).

GarryRicketson wrote:A DE of any kind, would slow down the install considerably,

Precisely why I am going to avoid it.

GarryRicketson wrote:that leads to one more question, Why, or what is the purpose for setting up the
Virtual Disk or disks, ? Are you planning to setup a webserver,,and hosting, or what ?

Just playing around to see if I could get it working really... it will be a webserver amongst other things but only on an intranet... but the server will have internet access.

GarryRicketson wrote:there is some things I would like to suggest, but I need to know more about what you plan to do with this

  • Web Server (nginx & php most likely)
  • Database Server (mariadb)
  • General other play/test environment junk

GarryRicketson wrote:I still have not had breakfast

Mate this isn't that important, go get some food absolutely... but thank you for all of your help so far, I very much appreciate it.
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-07-10 21:48

Your welcome,
(which it hopefully will be tomorrow considering that I have left the installer running for the night).

Hmm, at the end of the install, it finishes up with the grub installation, at which point you are asked if you want to install grub, and where, I suppose as long as the connection does not time out or get broken, or something, it won't matter.
Any way I guess we just need to wait and see, tomorrow how it turned out.
Thanks for clarifying on what your plans are for the server, interesting project,...
For the moment I am going to hold off on any suggestions, until we see if the Debian install works. good luck
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5053
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-11 08:20

So I got right to the end of the installation, at the point as you mentioned of installing GRUB. I tried both disks and they both give a 'fatal error' when trying grub-install. Looks like the next hurdle... I followed this guide (I think very) precisely, and it mentioned nothing about potentially getting this error.

EDIT: I realised I had missed out on creating a bootable partition on the array... and worse yet I cannot edit the partitions on array now... so I am going to start again.
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-11 13:44

Had further issues with install freezing up when I was trying to partition the drives the second time around... on the back of this I decided that at least based on what I was going to use this server for, it was taking me too much time.

I installed on a single drive and all is now working.
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-07-11 14:00

Is the "single drive" the actual HD, or a Virtual Disk, ?
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5053
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Trying to install on LSI RAID on TX100 S3

Postby KF-Dale » 2018-07-11 15:12

GarryRicketson wrote:Is the "single drive" the actual HD, or a Virtual Disk, ?

The actual hard drive, the server only has 1 drive connected now, and it's guided partitioning across the full HD.
KF-Dale
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-07-05 07:14

Previous

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable