Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] Failed to active SWAP

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

[SOLVED] Failed to active SWAP

#1 Post by Max500 »

I installed Debian 9.5 (32bit) in VMWare. Then there was no problem.
Immediately after the installation was offered an update:

linux-image-4.9.0-7-686-pae -> linux-image-4.9.0-8-686-pae

From this point on, I see this at boot:
"Failed to active SWAP"
"Dependency failed for swap"

If I choose the old kernel when booting, it works perfectly.
Last edited by Max500 on 2018-09-17 15:49, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

arzgi
Posts: 1185
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#2 Post by arzgi »

Welcome to the forums Max500!

Is there a swap in the system?

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#3 Post by Max500 »

arzgi wrote:Is there a swap in the system?
Yes! If I choose the old kernel when booting, it works perfectly.
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

arzgi
Posts: 1185
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#4 Post by arzgi »

VM does not help trouble shooting, as it is one movig part more, but let's try anyway.

In working Debian 4.9.0-7 kernel,

Code: Select all

cat /etc/fstab 
post output.

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#5 Post by Max500 »

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=b2c2df73-fbd7-4c10-9115-89af200c0ee3 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=e88bd156-cfe5-4ef9-b8fd-b5e3f8ccf3c1 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/sr0        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

User avatar
4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 2696
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#6 Post by 4D696B65 »

on both kernels as root

Code: Select all

blkid

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#7 Post by Max500 »

On 4.9.0-7:

Code: Select all

/dev/sr0: UUID="2018-07-14-11-41-07-00" LABEL="Debian 9.5.0 i386 1" TYPE="iso9660" PTUUID="443f9803" PTTYPE="dos"
/dev/sda1: UUID="b2c2df73-fbd7-4c10-9115-89af200c0ee3" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="b8b3f226-01"
/dev/sda5: UUID="e88bd156-cfe5-4ef9-b8fd-b5e3f8ccf3c1" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="b8b3f226-05"
On 4.9.0-8:

Code: Select all

/dev/sr0: UUID="2018-07-14-11-41-07-00" LABEL="Debian 9.5.0 i386 1" TYPE="iso9660" PTUUID="443f9803" PTTYPE="dos"
/dev/sda1: UUID="b2c2df73-fbd7-4c10-9115-89af200c0ee3" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="b8b3f226-01"
/dev/sda5: UUID="e88bd156-cfe5-4ef9-b8fd-b5e3f8ccf3c1" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="b8b3f226-05"
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#8 Post by p.H »

Does the system display information about why it failed to activate the swap ?

Can you activate the swap manually ?

Code: Select all

swapon -v -U e88bd156-cfe5-4ef9-b8fd-b5e3f8ccf3c1
swapon -v /dev/sda5

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#9 Post by Max500 »

Boot screen: here

swapon -v -U e88bd156-cfe5-4ef9-b8fd-b5e3f8ccf3c1
and
swapon -v /dev/sda5

Code: Select all

swapon: /dev/sda5: found signature [pagesize=4096, signature=swap]
swapon: /dev/sda5: pagesize=4096, swapsize=1608515584, devsize=1608515584
swapon /dev/sda5
swapon: /dev/sda5: swapon failed: Invalid argument
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#10 Post by p.H »

I cannot view the boot screen at the moment, will review it later.
Can you check the latest kernel messages with dmesg right after the swapon failure ?

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#11 Post by Max500 »

Only one line:

Code: Select all

[ 2587.754654] Truncating oversized swap area, only using 0k out of 1570812k
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#12 Post by p.H »

A quick search with this message suggests it is a regression on 32-bit PAE kernels due to the Intel L1TF vulnerability mitigation patches.
https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/8/20/172
A Debian bug exists but it does not seem to have much activity :
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=906992

Max500
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-09-16 16:39

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#13 Post by Max500 »

Thanks for the help! Helped a lot.
I changed to non-pae kernel and everything works perfectly.
Sorry for any mistakes. English is not my native language

arzgi
Posts: 1185
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Failed to active SWAP

#14 Post by arzgi »

Max500 wrote:Thanks for the help! Helped a lot.
I changed to non-pae kernel and everything works perfectly.
Great news! If case is now clear, can you please edit the your first post's header in the thread, and add [SOLVED] to the front. So every one browsing would see, that thread does not require more actions, or something searching for help would see possible solution.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [SOLVED] Failed to active SWAP

#15 Post by p.H »

Using the non-PAE kernel is not a perfect solution, but rather a workaround.
The main drawback is that it does not support the NX bit (preventing execution of data pages).

Post Reply