Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

aptitude kaput at my end

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

aptitude kaput at my end

#1 Post by Job »

aptitude for updating/upgrading gives me the following:

Code: Select all

dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable
and

Code: Select all

dpkg: warning: 'start-stop-daemon' not found in PATH or executable
path should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin, and /sbin

I have followed some guides from other people who had/have similar issues, particularly people using ubuntu. I have not been able to fix my issue. My troubles are most likely sitting with "libc6" and "libc-bin". My next try is to grab those from experimental but I am hesitating waiting to see if something will change. After all I am using buster. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Merci.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#2 Post by stevepusser »

Sounds like you have created your very own FrankenDebian. We can't help you if you don't let us know exactly what you did following the Ubuntu advice, though.

The easiest way to fix this would be to restore from your backup of the last known sane working state of your system.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 2696
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#3 Post by 4D696B65 »

Code: Select all

su
changed to

Code: Select all

su -
else you will get those path errors

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#4 Post by debiman »

obviously, you should try to install the packages conteining these executables, and/or check your path and/or check permissions (you are running dpkg with elevated privileges?).

also, these are just warnings.
something actually not working?
Job wrote:My troubles are most likely sitting with "libc6" and "libc-bin".
if you know this already, then you also know that you likely broke your system. or so i'm told: libc problems are hard to fix.

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#5 Post by Job »

debiman wrote:obviously, you should try to install the packages conteining these executables, and/or check your path and/or check permissions (you are running dpkg with elevated privileges?).

also, these are just warnings.
something actually not working?
Job wrote:My troubles are most likely sitting with "libc6" and "libc-bin".
if you know this already, then you also know that you likely broke your system. or so i'm told: libc problems are hard to fix.
:cry:

Steve, I did not add any Ubuntu stuff on my machine. I follow the guide without going outside of Debian packages.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#6 Post by Job »

4D696B65 wrote:

Code: Select all

su
changed to

Code: Select all

su -
else you will get those path errors

Code: Select all

su -
set me straight. Thanks a bunch.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#7 Post by debiman »

Job wrote:

Code: Select all

su -
set me straight. Thanks a bunch.
oh!
so that was the solution?
fwiw, i have long since set an alias for su:

Code: Select all

alias su='su -'

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#8 Post by Job »

My solution is to stick with

Code: Select all

su -
. I re-installed guilty packages but that did not work.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#9 Post by stevepusser »

Since everyone else that's running Stretch doesn't have your problem, I find it very hard to believe that you don't have a broken system. You installed packages from Debian testing or Sid on Stretch--is that true or not?
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
llivv
Posts: 5340
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#10 Post by llivv »

4D696B65 wrote:

Code: Select all

su
changed to

Code: Select all

su -
else you will get those path errors
Thanks 4D696B65
su -
worked for me as well in the situation I posted here http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=138837

if you can link to or point to and explaination of why su - finds the command paths or why su -c'command' no longer finds them?
I can see some of my bash scripts possibly failing in the near future.
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.

User avatar
4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 2696
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#11 Post by 4D696B65 »

llivv wrote: Thanks 4D696B65
su -
worked for me as well in the situation I posted here http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=138837

if you can link to or point to and explaination of why su - finds the command paths or why su -c'command' no longer finds them?
I can see some of my bash scripts possibly failing in the near future.
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 03#p678703

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#12 Post by Job »

stevepusser wrote:Since everyone else that's running Stretch doesn't have your problem, I find it very hard to believe that you don't have a broken system. You installed packages from Debian testing or Sid on Stretch--is that true or not?
Sorry to disappoint but since I upgraded from Stretch to Buster I haven't played such games. I really don't need any package that requires downstream or upstream.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#13 Post by stevepusser »

if you're running Debian testing instead of a release, you should make that clear in the first sentence or title of your first post; not leave it to be discovered ten posts in. I assume you're running a released version in the absence of that information. Not everyone is going to have read every single post of yours where you started using testing, either.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#14 Post by Job »

stevepusser wrote:if you're running Debian testing instead of a release, you should make that clear in the first sentence or title of your first post; not leave it to be discovered ten posts in. I assume you're running a released version in the absence of that information. Not everyone is going to have read every single post of yours where you started using testing, either.
Steve, I did but I am guessing like all of us you read too fast. Check the last line of my original post.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#15 Post by stevepusser »

OK, I missed that, but really, you should make it clear in the thread title or in the first line of the post that you're running a development version, not a released version.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 4015
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#16 Post by bw123 »

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Stretch - Devuan - Jessie (Media Center, yes, believe it)
too much false advertising on TV these days
resigned by AI ChatGPT

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#17 Post by Job »

bw123 wrote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Stretch - Devuan - Jessie (Media Center, yes, believe it)
too much false advertising on TV these days
I run all those + a buster box...your point is!?
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

User avatar
Job
Posts: 813
Joined: 2006-12-30 20:20
Location: no clue
Contact:

Re: aptitude kaput at my end

#18 Post by Job »

stevepusser wrote:OK, I missed that, but really, you should make it clear in the thread title or in the first line of the post that you're running a development version, not a released version.
Noted.
#aptitude install life
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Debian 12 - FreeBSD

Post Reply