how to get UI to debian

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

how to get UI to debian

Postby matyklug » 2018-11-22 14:50

i installed debian and no UI is here, only command line. what i can do to get UI?
matyklug
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-11-22 14:45

Re: how to get UI to debian

Postby arochester » 2018-11-22 15:00

Exactly what did you install, how and from where?
arochester
 
Posts: 1521
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: how to get UI to debian

Postby Segfault » 2018-11-22 17:30

Command line is UI. Did you mean GUI?
Segfault
 
Posts: 914
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: how to get UI to debian

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-22 17:49

Code: Select all
apt install tasksel
tasksel
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10377
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: how to get UI to debian

Postby stevepusser » 2018-11-23 01:55

If you have hardware that is quite new, or requires non-free firmware, you might not be able to get to a GUI on standard Stretch. So...wadda you got?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Calibre 3.47.1, QMPlay2 19.09.03, wine-staging 4.15, Telegram-desktop 1.8.4, Pale Moon 28.7.0, Waterfox 56.2.14
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11088
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable