Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Solved] Questions about running Anbox...

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Post Reply
Message
Author
andoru
Posts: 272
Joined: 2014-03-14 16:59

[Solved] Questions about running Anbox...

#1 Post by andoru »

So, seeing as Anbox is available in the Sid repos, I decided to give it a go. I've read the sparse manpage, which referred me to the README.Debian file (which is also pretty sparse).
In it I get this confusing bit:
Then start the anbox-container-manager.service and the
anbox-session-manager.service, anbox-session-manager.service is a systemd
user service.
The former I could start, but the latter, systemd reported it doesn't exist. Am I doing something wrong?
I could not connect adb to Anbox, so I'm guessing the fact that not starting the session manager service causes this.

Also:
Android application can be started from desktop menu.
Since I'm using OpenBox, I have to add entries manually to the menu. Can any kind soul give me the specific command to start this?
Last edited by andoru on 2019-01-01 15:53, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Questions about running Anbox...

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

andoru wrote:
Then start the anbox-container-manager.service and the
anbox-session-manager.service, anbox-session-manager.service is a systemd
user service.
The former I could start, but the latter, systemd reported it doesn't exist. Am I doing something wrong?
How did you try to start it?

I would use

Code: Select all

systemctl enable --now --user anbox-session-manager
If that fails then check the UnitPath:

Code: Select all

systemctl show --property=UnitPath
/usr/lib/systemd/user/anbox-session-manager.service can be copied to any of the directories in that list to be picked up by the `systemctl` command.
andoru wrote:I'm using OpenBox, I have to add entries manually to the menu. Can any kind soul give me the specific command to start this?
Try

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/anbox
Source: https://packages.debian.org/sid/amd64/anbox/filelist
deadbang

andoru
Posts: 272
Joined: 2014-03-14 16:59

Re: Questions about running Anbox...

#3 Post by andoru »

Thanks HoaS for your help! Glad to see you're still around :)

I wasn't aware that user scripts were a thing of their own, nor that they needed a special switch.
Either way, I did what you suggested, but even when copying the script to UnitPath, I get this when trying to start:

Code: Select all

 
Failed to connect to bus: No such file or directory

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Questions about running Anbox...

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

andoru wrote:

Code: Select all

Failed to connect to bus: No such file or directory
Can you enable any other unit files as your normal user?

What is the output of

Code: Select all

loginctl user-status
deadbang

andoru
Posts: 272
Joined: 2014-03-14 16:59

Re: Questions about running Anbox...

#5 Post by andoru »

Ah, therein lies the confusion, I was launching the user service with root. It now works, so thanks for the help!

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Questions about running Anbox...

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Good news indeed :)

Always remember to never run commands as root unless you absolutely have to:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Principle ... _privilege

For future reference I always prepend any commands to be run as root with a # symbol, like this:

Code: Select all

# apt update
If there is no # then the command(s) should be run as the normal user.

Anyway, please add [SOLVED] to the thread title to help others who may encounter this problem, thanks!
deadbang

Post Reply