Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

[Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#1 Post by amashee »

If anybody is using a debian system with a VPN check for DSN leaks with https://ipleak.net/.

I dont know if there is something wrong with my hardware, but my debian system has a DSN leak issue with ipv6.

How do i disable ipv6 permanently ?

This method fixes temporarily >>

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf
"then added the following to the bottom of the file and saved it."

net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.default.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.lo.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.tun0.disable_ipv6 = 1
net.ipv6.conf.ens4.disable_ipv6 = 1

"next i entered this"

Code: Select all

sudo sysctl -p
But with each reboot i have to re enter "

Code: Select all

sudo sysctl -p
" to disable ipv6.
Last edited by amashee on 2019-01-12 08:01, edited 4 times in total.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: HOW to Disable ipv6

#2 Post by p.H »

To disable the IPv6 subsystem (not recommended because some programs may rely on it), add "ipv6.disable=1" to the kernel command line.
To disable IPv6 on all network interfaces, add "ipv6.disable_ipv6=1" to the kernel command line.
If using GRUB as the boot loader, see in /etc/default/grub.

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: HOW to Disable ipv6

#3 Post by amashee »

p.H wrote:To disable the IPv6 subsystem (not recommended because some programs may rely on it), add "ipv6.disable=1" to the kernel command line.
To disable IPv6 on all network interfaces, add "ipv6.disable_ipv6=1" to the kernel command line.
If using GRUB as the boot loader, see in /etc/default/grub.
Hello p.H

The above mentioned method did not work, but thank you for helping!
Last edited by amashee on 2019-01-11 10:36, edited 1 time in total.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#4 Post by p.H »

What do you mean by "did not work" ?
Which method ? I described two.
What is the output of

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/*/disable_ipv6

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#5 Post by amashee »

p.H wrote:What do you mean by "did not work" ?
Which method ? I described two.
What is the output of

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/*/disable_ipv6
thank you for the reply p.H

i did the second method you suggested. i added the line "ipv6.disable_ipv6=1" to /etc/default/grub. But it did not stop the DSN leak or in other words did not disable ipv6.

the output to

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/*/disable_ipv6
is
1
1
0
1
1
0

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#6 Post by p.H »

You did not post the output of the first command to check that the parameter has been passed to the kernel.
Did you run "update-grub" after editing /etc/default/grub as instructed in the file header comment and reboot ?
Note that you must not add the option as a new line, but to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX (or so) value.

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#7 Post by amashee »

p.H wrote:You did not post the output of the first command to check that the parameter has been passed to the kernel.
Did you run "update-grub" after editing /etc/default/grub as instructed in the file header comment and reboot ?
Note that you must not add the option as a new line, but to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX (or so) value.
output of the first command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
is as follows>>>
  • BOOT_IMAGE=/vmlinuz-4.9.0-8-amd64 root=/dev/mapper/apple--vg-root ro ipv6.disable_ipv6=1 quiet
output of the second command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/*/disable_ipv6
is as follows>>>
  • 1
    1
    0
    1
    1
    0
I added " GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=ipv6.disable_ipv6=1 "to /etc/default/grub
I tried it both with and without the Quotation marks in between ipv6.disable_ipv6=1 . Next i ran

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#8 Post by p.H »

Weird. All interfaces should have ipv6_disable=1. Can you find out which interfaces in /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf have ipv6_disable=0 ?

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#9 Post by Bulkley »

amashee wrote:If anybody is using a debian system with a VPN check for DSN leaks with https://ipleak.net/.

I dont know if there is something wrong with my hardware, but my debian system has a DSN leak issue with ipv6.
When I first learned about and tried ipleak.net I was shocked at how much was revealed. My connection was leaking every which way but safe. Many of the links were the result of browser trackers and geo-locaters. Upon checking I found that my VPN had a newer, better version of its software which I installed. The biggest surprise was that some of the VPN servers leaked like a sieve. Did you read that correctly? Yes you did. There are some jurisdictions that are flaky at best, probably because of local conditions. So, I learned to avoid servers in England and to prefer safer places like the Netherlands. I now always open a browser with ipleak.net as the home page and check it before proceeding.

BTW, beware of imitators like ipleak.org or ipleak.com or whatever.

millpond
Posts: 698
Joined: 2014-06-25 04:56

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#10 Post by millpond »

From ipleak:
Mozilla Firefox: Type "about:config” in the address bar. Scroll down to “media.peerconnection.enabled”, double click to set it to false.
Google Chrome: Install Google official extension WebRTC Network Limiter.
Opera: Type "about:config" in the address bar or go to "Settings". Select "Show advanced settings" and click on "Privacy & security". At "WebRTC" mark select "Disable non-proxied UDP".

NB:
If you are now connected to a VPN and between the detected DNS you see your ISP DNS, then your system is leaking DNS requests
Keyword is *your* -VPN server DNS address/location does not count.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#11 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

amashee wrote:with each reboot i have to re enter "

Code: Select all

sudo sysctl -p
" to disable ipv6.
Try

Code: Select all

# systemctl enable systemd-sysctl.service
I think it should already be enabled though :?
deadbang

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#12 Post by amashee »

thank you guys for the support!

I think the issue is related to hardware.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [ISSUE] HOW to Disable ipv6

#13 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

amashee wrote:I think the issue is related to hardware.
How did you arrive at this conclusion?

What is broken, exactly?
deadbang

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#14 Post by amashee »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
amashee wrote:I think the issue is related to hardware.
How did you arrive at this conclusion?

What is broken, exactly?
I'm running Linux-firmware for (ath10k).
I came up with that assumption, because sometimes my network(Wifi) crashes and restarts. Apparently i am not the only one with this problem.
I got this from the manufactures website.
link below->>
https://www.killernetworking.com/killer ... and-arch-3

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#15 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Thanks for the link, I'm sure others will find that useful.
deadbang

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#16 Post by amashee »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Thanks for the link, I'm sure others will find that useful.
No Problem! :D

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#17 Post by p.H »

amashee wrote:I came up with that assumption, because sometimes my network(Wifi) crashes and restarts. Apparently i am not the only one with this problem.
I got this from the manufactures website.
This KB article does not mention IPv6 and I fail to see how a hardware malfunction would have any effect on IPv6 kernel settings.
Having two issues does not mean that they are related.

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#18 Post by amashee »

p.H wrote:
amashee wrote:I came up with that assumption, because sometimes my network(Wifi) crashes and restarts. Apparently i am not the only one with this problem.
I got this from the manufactures website.
This KB article does not mention IPv6 and I fail to see how a hardware malfunction would have any effect on IPv6 kernel settings.
Having two issues does not mean that they are related.
P.h

You are probably right,but for some reason i no longer have any Ipv6 DSN leaks, from my debian system. This is not a joke, but everything seems to be functioning right now.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#19 Post by p.H »

What did you change ?

amashee
Posts: 11
Joined: 2019-01-11 06:32

Re: [Solved>> faulty hardware ] HOW to Disable ipv6

#20 Post by amashee »

p.H wrote:What did you change ?
i followed the instructions at https://www.killernetworking.com/killer ... and-arch-3 .

Updated the network-Wifi driver and followed the instructions from my very first post.

Post Reply