Which DE will you use on Buster?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Which DE choice for Debian Buster?

Gnome
11
19%
KDE
9
16%
Cinnamon
3
5%
Xfce
18
31%
MATE
2
3%
LXQt
4
7%
Enlightenment
0
No votes
Other
11
19%
 
Total votes : 58

Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby KBD47 » 2019-04-13 21:52

Curious which desktop choice you will make for Buster, or have already made if you are running Buster right now.
KBD47
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2011-09-04 09:07

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby No_windows » 2019-04-13 22:06

Xfce is what I typically use. I have not touched Buster yet. I've got some used parts piled up, waiting for me to try to build a useful computer. I will probably try Buster on it. I don't even know what the CPU is, right now... it's hand me down stuff.
No_windows
 
Posts: 469
Joined: 2015-08-05 03:03

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Bulkley » 2019-04-13 23:36

Openbox with Tint2 if I can dist-upgrade my Stretch the way I like it, including openrc boot. If not I may stay with Stretch or look to another OS. Having explored Buster I don't see much worth upgrading for.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5846
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-04-14 07:49

Still with dwm for buster :)

I tried to get velox working but although I installing it and got the desktop running the keybinds wouldn't work and I got frustrated and gave up after a while. Maybe I'll go back to it at a later date.

@Bulkley: Devuan beowulf works fine with OpenRC (using sysvinit as PID1) and one forum member claims to have got it working with openrc-init[1] but Debian buster won't load the input devices for the graphical desktop under OpenRC.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10613
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-04-14 09:05

I will use GNOME and Sway. Mostly Sway.
Because of that, I plan on using Sid.
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby fred44nl » 2019-04-14 09:20

I have LXDE installed, which I hardly use.
everything goes over SSH
Debian 10 - Buster on Compulab Fitlet2
User avatar
fred44nl
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2018-07-14 08:54

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Funkygoby » 2019-04-14 09:45

Nothing will change, Xfce.

I recently had the occasion to use Gnome3 for a while but I prefer Xfce.
No experience with KDE since ~2008.
I am curious about tiling WM though
Funkygoby
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2009-08-13 09:25

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby KBD47 » 2019-04-14 15:54

I'm thinking I will use Buster with KDE, though tempted to use MATE as I typically do.
KBD47
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2011-09-04 09:07

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Nili » 2019-04-14 16:18

Plain and simple Openbox + Tint2
Devuan / Fluxbox (lean & mean)
User avatar
Nili
 
Posts: 377
Joined: 2014-04-30 14:04
Location: $HOME/♫♪

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby sgage » 2019-04-14 19:46

I'm using MATE with Buster (buster is my daily driver Debian now, for quite a while actually). I've been using MATE since wheezy, and it works very well for me - the standard panel at the top, and the Plank dock at the bottom. Very efficient and effective. I don't really care for any of the others, and I've tried them all.
sgage
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 2013-03-10 21:00

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby rivenathos » 2019-04-14 21:02

I am running GNOME, Xfce, and MATE on separate hard drives. My stable of hardware prefers different desktop environments. Luckily, Debian has always covered my bases.
Running Debian on Dell: OptiPlex 3010, Inspiron 1545, and an Inspiron 531.
Linux User #461545
Savannah, Georgia, USA
User avatar
rivenathos
 
Posts: 216
Joined: 2009-01-09 11:57
Location: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby Bloom » 2019-04-14 21:19

For me, only XFCE. Nothing else comes close.
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby milomak » 2019-04-14 22:27

if it means anything i am currently using budgie in sid
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1998
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby sunrat » 2019-04-14 22:32

KDE Plasma 5 is way better in Buster than it ever was in Stretch.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2882
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Which DE will you use on Buster?

Postby KBD47 » 2019-04-14 23:49

sunrat wrote:KDE Plasma 5 is way better in Buster than it ever was in Stretch.


I agree. KDE is much nicer out of the box on Buster.
KBD47
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2011-09-04 09:07

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable