Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Vagrant can't run.

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
hack3rcon
Posts: 746
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54
Has thanked: 48 times

Vagrant can't run.

#1 Post by hack3rcon »

Hello.
I installed "VirtualBox 6.0_6.0.4" and "Vagrant" on Debian 9.8 but when I want to run Vagrant then it show me below error:

Code: Select all

$ vagrant up
No usable default provider could be found for your system.

Vagrant relies on interactions with 3rd party systems, known as
"providers", to provide Vagrant with resources to run development
environments. Examples are VirtualBox, VMware, Hyper-V.

The easiest solution to this message is to install VirtualBox, which
is available for free on all major platforms.

If you believe you already have a provider available, make sure it
is properly installed and configured. You can see more details about
why a particular provider isn't working by forcing usage with
`vagrant up --provider=PROVIDER`, which should give you a more specific
error message for that particular provider.
And "VirtualBox" show me below error:

Code: Select all

$ virtualbox
Qt FATAL: QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display 
Aborted
How can I solve it?

Thank you.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Vagrant can't run.

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hack3rcon wrote:I installed "VirtualBox 6.0_6.0.4" [...] on Debian 9.8
How? That package was removed from Debian stable (because it's crap).

For vagrant try following the advice that you posted:

Code: Select all

vagrant up --provider=virtualbox
deadbang

hack3rcon
Posts: 746
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54
Has thanked: 48 times

Re: Vagrant can't run.

#3 Post by hack3rcon »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
hack3rcon wrote:I installed "VirtualBox 6.0_6.0.4" [...] on Debian 9.8
How? That package was removed from Debian stable (because it's crap).

For vagrant try following the advice that you posted:

Code: Select all

vagrant up --provider=virtualbox
Why, It is crap?
I installed the last version of Vagrant and problem solved.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Vagrant can't run.

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hack3rcon wrote:Why, It is crap?
The package was removed from the stable release because Oracle like to hide VirtualBox bugs from their users:

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=794466

The VB devs usually can't be bothered fixing the bugs anyway, which should give you some idea as to the quality of the software.

But don't take my word for it, the kernel developers also share this opinion:
Dave Jones wrote:The number of bug reports we get from people with virtualbox loaded are truly astonishing. It's GPL, but sadly that doesn't mean it's good.
https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/10/6/317
hack3rcon wrote:I installed the last version of Vagrant
And again the question would be: how did you do this?

You have read the first link in my signature, right?
deadbang

hack3rcon
Posts: 746
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54
Has thanked: 48 times

Re: Vagrant can't run.

#5 Post by hack3rcon »

I downloaded the .deb package from Vagrant website and installed it manually.
What is a replacement for Vagrant?
Is it true that VirtualBox based on KVM?

Thanks.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Vagrant can't run.

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hack3rcon wrote:What is a replacement for Vagrant?
Ask the interweb, I don't even know what Vagrant is.
hack3rcon wrote:Is it true that VirtualBox based on KVM?
No.

KVM is a Linux kernel module that allows for hardware-based virtualisation and is best used with QEMU.

https://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Main_Page

It is true that VirtualBox can make use of the KVM module but their implementation is as crap as the rest of their software and less effective than QEMU.
deadbang

Post Reply