Should Debian 10 default to Wayland?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Re: Should Debian 10 default to Wayland?

Postby oswaldkelso » 2019-05-13 21:16

Hoas. Thanks for your replys. I'm still not convinced that wayland is ready for Debian stable but somewhat reasured I won't be effected by it at least for the next few years. Time will tell. As for bloat! It's not libreoffice that's bloated it's the browser :-)

2.1 MiB + 554.5 KiB = 2.7 MiB icewm
2.1 MiB + 844.0 KiB = 2.9 MiB tint2
3.2 MiB + 100.0 KiB = 3.3 MiB hald
3.7 MiB + 276.5 KiB = 3.9 MiB dhclient (2)
2.4 MiB + 1.7 MiB = 4.1 MiB lilyterm
3.6 MiB + 621.0 KiB = 4.2 MiB wicd-monitor
4.7 MiB + 639.0 KiB = 5.3 MiB wicd
8.5 MiB + 486.0 KiB = 9.0 MiB bash (4)
9.4 MiB + 7.3 MiB = 16.8 MiB Xorg
65.1 MiB + 2.3 MiB = 67.4 MiB soffice.bin
251.0 MiB + 9.0 MiB = 260.1 MiB seamonkey
---------------------------------
410.7 MiB
=================================
bash-4.3#

This is the minus bloat version viewtopic.php?f=3&t=59034&p=698768#p698768
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Should Debian 10 default to Wayland?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-05-14 15:59

oswaldkelso wrote: 3.2 MiB + 100.0 KiB = 3.3 MiB hald

The 1980s called — they want their hardware enumeration software back :mrgreen:

But seriously: very impressive, well done.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10605
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Should Debian 10 default to Wayland?

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-05-15 19:51

I have here a perfectly usable Sway with swaybg and Waybar, all running on Buster. Standard config for any i3wm user. The only newer compile lib you need so far is json-c, but it's easy to build.

Best things about Waybar are that it's using nearly identical syntax to i3status, it comes with sane default config file, with added bonus of having tray icons.
As a reminder, GNOME doesn't have tray icons by default. Sad.

If GNOME on Wayland isn't ready for Buster for you, remember that you have other options.
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Should Debian 10 default to Wayland?

Postby sjukfan » 2019-06-03 15:43

Depends on how stable Wayland is. Both stable as in "not buggy", but also "stable in development". Will there be large changes in Wayland in the future? If yes, then I say no, it's not suitable to be default. (And yeah, the same goes for Gnome.)
Bullseye amd64, Core 2 Quad Q9550
Buster amd64, Intel Xeon E3-1240 v3
Sid ppc, PowerPC 7447a
Sid ppc64, PowerPC 970FX
User avatar
sjukfan
 
Posts: 386
Joined: 2010-03-01 19:39

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable