startpage and their broken captcha

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

startpage and their broken captcha

Postby GarryRicketson » 2019-06-07 16:35

Has anyone else encountered problems with startpage and a broken captcha they recently started using ?
In the past I all ways suggested using them, but that is a thing of the past. They have started using a broken captcha, yes, you have to answer the captcha before you can do a search, that is bad enough to start with, but the captcha does not work, even if you are very careful and type in the correct text, it will error, and say it timed out. So I contacted them, and the truth comes out, they do track your IP, and if it is a IP they don't like, well you are out of luck, the captcha will never be solveable, also, if you are using a VPN, that could cause the captcha, ...you will not be allowed to do your search using startpage. Any way fortunately there are other search engines that do still work.
They also said, if I do to many searches, that can trigger the block,...bah, so much for startpage, and no point in suggesting doing some searches before asking a question, if that is the way it is going to be, setting a limit to how many searches someone can do ! Absurd,...sometimes it does take changing the keywords, and trying several times, to find results that are use full, by setting a limit to how many searches can be done, renders the search engine useless. Maybe it is just me, or has anyone else run into this, maybe not since so many people don't bother to try searching first, and now I join the crowd, no point in trying to search first if the search engines start using broken captchas. Actually though, I have not had the problem with google,and the duck duck quack quack one, however the google search engine gives mostly results that are just spam sites, with advertising campaigns, and almost zero useful info. Maybe I should do some searches, and see what other search engines are available. -----searching-------
Oh no, the broken captcha again, ---.... so , what other search engines do members here suggest ?
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby arochester » 2019-06-07 17:17

what other search engines do members here suggest ?


https://medium.com/searchencrypt/these- ... 5778415c78

I'm trying swisscows. https://swisscows.com/
arochester
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-06-07 17:50

GarryRicketson wrote:They have started using a broken captcha

I'm not seeing that here (UK).

Have you tried disabling javascript? That gets rid of their silly advert links for me :D
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10613
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby GarryRicketson » 2019-06-07 21:03

Thanks for the links, and I will try that on the java script.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby golinux » 2019-06-07 21:16

GarryRicketson wrote: . . . however the google search engine gives mostly results that are just spam sites, with advertising campaigns, and almost zero useful info. Maybe I should do some searches, and see what other search engines are available . . .
I haven't seen the captcha . . . my IP must not be suspect. But in the past months I haven't been able to get good search results. Yes, I use operators but the algorithm keeps feeding me useless **** that has nothing to do with what I want. Seems Google is learning how to "jail" information" and instead provide propaganda. We are discussing search result issues over at Devuan also.
May the FORK be with you!
User avatar
golinux
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: 2010-12-09 00:56
Location: not a 'buntard!

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby KBD47 » 2019-06-07 21:47

I don't see it and I use Startpage every day as my home page and search engine. Try adding Startpage to your browser:
https://support.startpage.com/index.php ... my-browser
KBD47
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 2011-09-04 09:07

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby golinux » 2019-06-07 22:03

KBD47 wrote:I don't see it and I use Startpage every day as my home page and search engine. Try adding Startpage to your browser . . .
He's already using startpage. If you ever were to land on a tainted exit node in a VPN, you'd probably see it. If you have a clean static IP, you probably never will.
May the FORK be with you!
User avatar
golinux
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: 2010-12-09 00:56
Location: not a 'buntard!

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby GarryRicketson » 2019-06-07 22:44

Exactly, and I have removed startpage from my book marks, so no, I am not using Startpage any more. I did contact their support, and surprisingly got a reply, but the reply was so absurd, and the excuses so poor, ... in any event, it did make it clear to me that they are a bunch of liars,...give it some thought, they claim to respect your privacy, but are using the IP you have to decide to block you from using the search engine, or permit you to use it, they pretend to be private, but work hand in hand with google, ...I am through with startpage, and will not be going back to using them ever.
They also tried to tell me maybe it was because I use a VPN, which I don't, but even if I did, that is not a good excuse to throw up walls, with a damn captcha that does not work. If your privacy was being respected, the server would not even know you are using a VPN, or tor, go figure. If the captcha at least worked , it would not be so bad, I don't really mind typing in some text, and then continue, but the captcha does not work, even if one types in the correct text, any way, it is no big deal, I don't need startpage, there are others that do work well,......The thing that really annoyed me, is they deny that the captcha does not work, and tried to blame it on me using a VPN, but I do not use a VPN, my IP is dynamic, so I get what the ISP gives me, and that leads to what a bunch of liars these people at startpage are, they do check your IP, and if it is from a ISP they do not approve of, or some VPN, they deny access to the stinking search engine. If they are checking your IP, and what ISP you use, or determining that it is a VPN, What else do they check, and share with Google ?.... think about it.
When I did some searches, using a new search engine, I did find some stuff about others that have had problems, many were using tor browsers, the point is, a search engine that claims to be private, has no business , sniffing your methods of browsing , then deciding to block you. What browsers,ISP, or VPN you are using, is none of their business, or they could at least be honest, and admit, "We check your IP,browser,ISP, and if it is a VPN as well, and if we do not approve of your browsing methods , you will not be allowed access" The pretending to be so private, etc, is a bunch of lies
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2019-06-07 23:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby sunrat » 2019-06-07 23:02

No problems with Startpage here and I use it a lot.
Having a blocklist is not the same as tracking your IP. Maybe your reputation as a cybercriminal has caught up with you @GarryRicketson! :mrgreen:
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2880
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby oswaldkelso » 2019-06-08 07:39

Startpage works as expected here as does, duckduckgo and qwant

That said they all return shit results. So poor in fact it's a cause for concern. I mean I can't be the only person in the world that's using icewm with tint2! Being the freetard I am I try and stick to searx and gigablast and if I could manage to build a yacy package for my Dragora3 machine I'd use that even if it's a bit fat.
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby None1975 » 2019-06-08 11:25

Also, i'm not seeing that here (LT).
OS: Debian 10.1 Buster / WM: Xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 946
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby trinidad » 2019-06-08 12:11

"What browsers,ISP, or VPN you are using, is none of their business"

Startpage from its inception has fought litigation from the EU and the US for access to its user base information. That battle is ongoing. Now in the US major ISPs are completely accessible and cooperative with government requests for user base information. Spectrum, Verizon, etc. and most social media like Facebook etc. and certainly complete access to Google. In the case of some major ISPs like Spectrum and Verizon LTE your ISP can jump your search and return their own results with page that has their own search engine labeling, of course this only happens with Google and so is known to be a concession or by agreement. It can also happen with Startpage because of Google but it is not a result Startpage approves or agrees to. Whatever is going on with Startpage it is not because of business or government pressures, but more likely a result of those pressures on your ISP. You use a computer. You use the WWW. There is no tin hat that can protect you, and no such thing as privacy.

TC
You can't believe your eyes if your imagination is out of focus.
trinidad
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 2016-08-04 14:58

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby GarryRicketson » 2019-06-08 12:56

Yea, I know on the privacy thing, and actually don't really care about that, my private life does no go online. Mostly I just find it really annoying to have to solve a captcha just to do a search, and even that would not be so bad if the captcha actually worked, another one that can be very annoying is the Google REcaptcha, but so far I have not seen that come up when just trying to do a search. Also I do understand using a captcha, to help keep spambots from registering to a forum or website, but to use a search engine ? What next ?
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-08 15:03

Hi Garry, on a few occasions google asked me if I was a bot because I was searching a lot of email addresses of suspected bots. :shock:
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2438
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: startpage and their broken captcha

Postby golinux » 2019-06-08 15:32

4D696B65 wrote:Hi Garry, on a few occasions google asked me if I was a bot because I was searching a lot of email addresses of suspected bots. :shock:
My go-to bot detectors are these two sites:

https://www.stopforumspam.com/search
https://cleantalk.org/blacklists

That helps keep the registrations on the db I admin very clean. Only if someone passes but still feels a little spammy will I try a regular search.
May the FORK be with you!
User avatar
golinux
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: 2010-12-09 00:56
Location: not a 'buntard!

Next

Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable