Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED]Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Message
Author
pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

[SOLVED]Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#1 Post by pythagorasmk »

I have asked this question earlier, but there was no answer. I am trying again.
I am having problems with suspend to ram function in debian 10.2 (previously in debian 9.x). When I select the "suspend to ram" from start menu, system goes to suspended mode, but wake up is the problem. The system freezes and screen is black black. I have to do hardware reset to my machine. In windows, suspend to ram is working, so my hardware is not the problem.
I have "Gigabyte P61-DS3-B3" motherboard, and "Nvidia GeForce 210" graphics card. I think that the problem is with the driver of the graphics card. I am using KDE.
Last edited by pythagorasmk on 2019-11-25 22:33, edited 1 time in total.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#2 Post by L_V »

What is reporting this:

Code: Select all

apt list acpi upower uswsusp pm-utils

Code: Select all

systemctl cat systemd-suspend.service | grep -v '#'
systemctl cat suspend.target | grep -v '#'

Code: Select all

journalctl -ax | grep suspend | tail -15

Code: Select all

free -mh

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#3 Post by pythagorasmk »

L_V wrote:What is reporting this:

Code: Select all

apt list acpi upower uswsusp pm-utils

Code: Select all

Listing... Done
acpi/stable 1.7-1.1 amd64
pm-utils/stable 1.4.1-18 all
upower/stable,now 0.99.10-1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
uswsusp/stable 1.0+20120915-6.2 amd64

Code: Select all

systemctl cat systemd-suspend.service | grep -v '#'

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Suspend
Documentation=man:systemd-suspend.service(8)
DefaultDependencies=no
Requires=sleep.target
After=sleep.target

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/lib/systemd/systemd-sleep suspend

Code: Select all

systemctl cat suspend.target | grep -v '#'

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Suspend
Documentation=man:systemd.special(7)
DefaultDependencies=no
Requires=systemd-suspend.service
After=systemd-suspend.service
StopWhenUnneeded=yes

Code: Select all

journalctl -ax | grep suspend | tail -15

Code: Select all

Nov 20 20:42:37 xxxxxxx sudo[2701]:   xxxxxxx : TTY=pts/0 ; PWD=/home/xxxxxx/c ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/systemctl cat systemd-suspend.service
Nov 20 20:43:09 xxxxxxxx sudo[2705]:   xxxxxxx : TTY=pts/0 ; PWD=/home/xxxxxxx/c ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/systemctl cat suspend.target

Code: Select all

free -mh

Code: Select all

              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          7.8Gi       4.7Gi       237Mi        60Mi       2.8Gi       2.7Gi
Swap:          14Gi       8.0Mi        14Gi

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#4 Post by L_V »

Not sure to correctly estimate the RAM capacity still available for suspend.
Can you try this to see what happen

Code: Select all

# echo -n mem > /sys/power/state

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#5 Post by pythagorasmk »

After:
#echo -n mem > /sys/power/state
power is on, but the screen goes black. <ctrl>+<alt>+<back space> and <ctrl>+<alt>+<del> does nothing. I have to hardware reset machine.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#6 Post by L_V »

Can you successively try these boot kernel parameters (then 2 trials)

noapic
acpi_sleep=s3_bios

to see what happen with this command

Code: Select all

$ systemctl suspend
EDIT: this command as user, not as root.

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#7 Post by pythagorasmk »

noapic
System goes in suspend mode, power is off, but the wake up is the problem. After wake up the screen is black. I have to reset.
acpi_sleep=s3_bios
System does not go into suspend mode, power is on but the screen is black. I have to reset.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#8 Post by L_V »

well well well .....
Then install uswsusp , and try

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/s2ram

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#9 Post by pythagorasmk »

/usr/sbin/s2ram
System goes in suspend mode, power is off, but after few seconds the system wake ups by itself and starts the BOOTING PROCES.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#10 Post by L_V »

Then it's going to be difficult.
Something around nvidia driver which needs to be fine-tuned.
Last chance.....
Install pm-utils, and then

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/pm-suspend

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#11 Post by pythagorasmk »

/usr/sbin/pm-suspend
System goes in syspend mode, the problem is again wake up. After wake up the screen is black. I have to reset.
BTW I am using nouveau, not the nvidia driver.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#12 Post by L_V »

I don't really know if installing acpi can help or not.
You have to try again previous commands with acpi installed.
If still no success, investigate hibernate i/o suspend.

And take some time to look around for nvidia users (I've no experience with nvidia).
I suppose some extra scripts are needed to facilitate wake-up process, but it will be a bit tricky, and I cannot test.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#13 Post by stevepusser »

Often that's an ACPI bug in the BIOS, and there may not be a fix for Linux.
Does the caps lock LED work even if the screen is still black, or is that not working also?
MX Linux packager and developer

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#14 Post by pythagorasmk »

I don't really know if installing acpi can help or not.
It helped. Now pm-suspend is working.
I have another question. How to configure KDE to use pm-suspend, so I can configure KDE after 30 min to suspend the machine?

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#15 Post by L_V »

Great man !!!!! Champagne !
You need to modify /lib/systemd/system/systemd-suspend.service
and replace

Code: Select all

ExecStart=/lib/systemd/systemd-sleep suspend
by

Code: Select all

ExecStart=/usr/sbin/pm-suspend
It will not be specific to KDE.
Now for the 30 min timeout, you need to make some custom script.
Let's consider your suspend problem is solved.
Your KDE suspend timeout is another subject.

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#16 Post by pythagorasmk »

Great man !!!!! Champagne !
Not so fast. We are close to solution, but I must report this strange behavior. First time when I am issuing the pm-suspend command, everything is working perfectly, The system can be waked up, but If I issue the command second time, the system goes in suspend mode, but after wake up screen is black.
I can say that, if I issue the s2ram command, the command reports device or resource busy.
If I issue the systemctl suspend command system is trying to go into the sleep mode but it is not happening, only the Hard Drive is working non-stop.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#17 Post by L_V »

Ok I understand: no champagne.
I cannot do more for you.
So sorry.

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#18 Post by pythagorasmk »

Thanks anyway, you are the first who have tried to solve this problem.

L_V
Posts: 1477
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#19 Post by L_V »

You now need to experiment a bit more by yourself with your specific configuration (BIOS/Nvidia etc).
Always difficult to reproduce exact same configuration to support efficiently.
You now know where some pieces of the puzzle are hidden !
And may be you'll find a second helper.

pythagorasmk
Posts: 148
Joined: 2015-01-18 03:40
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Probems with suspend to ram in debian 10.2

#20 Post by pythagorasmk »

Is it possible to report this problem to Debian developers, so they can include patch in next release of Debian?

Post Reply