Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
GonzaloP
Posts: 37
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#1 Post by GonzaloP »

Hi,

I just installed bumblebee following the instructions in the debian page (running debian buster) and when I execute:

Code: Select all

optirun --debug glxgears -info -vv
Returns:

Code: Select all

[  286.718083] [DEBUG]Reading file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  286.718457] [DEBUG]optirun version 3.2.1 starting...
[  286.718466] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  286.718468] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  286.718471] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  286.718473] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH: 
[  286.718476] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  286.718478] [DEBUG] Accel/display bridge: auto
[  286.718480] [DEBUG] VGL Compression: proxy
[  286.718483] [DEBUG] VGLrun extra options: 
[  286.718485] [DEBUG] Primus LD Path: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/primus:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/primus:/usr/lib/primus:/usr/lib32/primus
[  286.725965] [DEBUG]Using auto-detected bridge primus
[  299.402115] [INFO]Response: No - error: [XORG] (EE) NOUVEAU(0): Failed to initialise context object: 2D_NVC0 (0)

[  299.402131] [ERROR]Cannot access secondary GPU - error: [XORG] (EE) NOUVEAU(0): Failed to initialise context object: 2D_NVC0 (0)

[  299.402134] [DEBUG]Socket closed.
[  299.402148] [ERROR]Aborting because fallback start is disabled.
[  299.402151] [DEBUG]Killing all remaining processes.
I uncommented the DBus line in bumblebee.conf yet the error persists.
Also, when I run lsmod | grep nvidia no record is found, I am not sure if that could be related to this issue.

Any suggestions on what to try?

Thanks

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Looks like you're still using nouveau and the lsmod output suggests that the NVIDIA module wasn't built.

Did the build process complete successfully when you installed the drivers or did it fail? Or did you pay no attention to the output and proceed blithely onward? I'm guessing the latter :)

This will set up the build environment for you:

Code: Select all

# apt install module-assistant
# m-a prepare
And I think this will attempt to rebuild the NVIDIA module:

Code: Select all

# dpkg-reconfigure nvidia-driver # or whichever package you tried to install
Once it has finished run this command in the same terminal before doing anything else:

Code: Select all

echo $?
If the output is anything other than "0" (zero) then the build failed and you should probably post the entire output from the build here for somebody[1] to have a look at.

[1] Not me, I'm not even supposed to be helping non-free loving heathens like you. You didn't see me, right? *Winks and taps nose*
deadbang

GonzaloP
Posts: 37
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#3 Post by GonzaloP »

Thank you very much Head_on_a_Stick, I will keep you out of the records ;)

I followed the instructions and when I do echo $? I get 0, yet, when I try to run glxgears with optirun I keep getting the same error.

Ideas?

Thanks

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#4 Post by stevepusser »

Are you using the driver that nvidia-detect said was right for your hardware when you ran it?
MX Linux packager and developer

GonzaloP
Posts: 37
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#5 Post by GonzaloP »

I installed it by following the guide in https://wiki.debian.org/Bumblebee, and basically by running:

Code: Select all

apt-get install bumblebee primus
The installation finished without any error, and I don't have nvidia-detect installed.

Suggestions?

Thanks

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

GonzaloP wrote:I installed it by following the guide in https://wiki.debian.org/Bumblebee, and basically by running:

Code: Select all

apt-get install bumblebee primus
Oh, my apologies, you're trying to use Bumblebee with nouveau. I presumed you wanted to use the proprietary drivers.

Is your user in the bumblebee group?

Code: Select all

groups
That's in guide so go back and read it properly this time.

If that doesn't fix things try installing the firmware:

Code: Select all

# apt install firmware-misc-nonfree
deadbang

GonzaloP
Posts: 37
Joined: 2015-10-23 17:13

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#7 Post by GonzaloP »

My user is in bumbleebee and firmware installed, yet keep getting the error.... I would prefer to not use the nvidia repository, but I can't make it work with the free ones.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Bumblebee: Failed to initialise context

#8 Post by stevepusser »

Can you install inxi and give us the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Gxx
so we can see exactly what hardware you do have? And telling us the model of your laptop sure would help too.
MX Linux packager and developer

Post Reply