Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
chevrox
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-10-29 06:57

Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

#1 Post by chevrox »

CPU: i9-10900
iGPU: Intel UHD Graphics 630
dGPU: NVIDIA Titan RTX
OS: Debian 10
Kernel versions: 4.19, 5.8, 5.9

Issue:
My goal is to use iGPU for some workflow while reserving dGPU for CUDA (hence needing proprietary driver) and 3D applications. I need hardware acceleration to work on the iGPU for a better experience both locally and remotely (via xrdp with glamor enabled, or via TurboVNC). The dGPU works just fine, either on its own, via bumblebee, or via PRIME. The iGPU has been giving me all the trouble. It doesn't work with Xorg at all on kernel v. 4.19 (even without the dGPU), and even on tty the bottom of the screen is blacked out. On 5.8 and 5.9, the iGPU is able to render graphics on llvmpipe, but no matter what I do I can't get hardware acceleration enabled, and this error persists:

Code: Select all

[    18.783] (II) Loading sub module "glamoregl"
[    18.783] (II) LoadModule: "glamoregl"
[    18.783] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libglamoregl.so
[    18.787] (II) Module glamoregl: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    18.787]    compiled for 1.20.4, module version = 1.0.1
[    18.787]    ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.4
[    18.875] (II) modeset(0): Refusing to try glamor on llvmpipe
[    18.876] (EE) modeset(0): glamor initialization failed
So far I have tried pretty much all permutations of the following:
- Updating kernel (4.19.10 - 13, 5.8, 5.9)
- Installing intel-media-va-driver (including non-free version): does nothing
- Deleting /etc/X11/xorg.conf and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d files to use automatic configuration: outputs on llvmpipe and
- Force intel driver with and without forcing acceleration method in xorg.conf with xserver-xorg-video-intel installed: intel driver does not recognize iGPU chipset (on 5.8 and 5.9)
- Force modesetting driver and glamor acceleration method in xorg.conf after uninstalling xserver-xorg-video-intel: no autoconfigured driver matching
- Forcing iGPU in GRUB with

Code: Select all

xdg.force_integrated=1
: does nothing
- Setting dGPU to allow empty initial configuration and to use no screen in xorg.conf: does nothing for iGPU
- Removing all dGPU-related Xorg configuration (except those generated by system): does nothing for iGPU
- Removing all dGPU related Xorg configuration (including those generated by system): broke all output

So far /var/log/Xorg.0.log doesn't show the iGPU binding to its DRI device (but dGPU does), so my last Hail-Mary came to:

- Modifying /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf to include the iGPU also as an output class and relegating dGPU to secondary GPU: well, now iGPU binds to /dev/dri/card0, but I'm still getting the same error message upon loading glamor...

It's also odd (or is it) that both graphics cards are in the same log file, as opposed to one being output to Xorg.1.log. Anyway, here are the full logs and such on the latest try. Any help is appreciated.

Code: Select all

$ uname -a
Linux ubexps 5.9.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.9.6-1~bpo10+1 (2020-11-19) x86_64 GNU/Linux
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rvox1ye1841nj ... g.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2setc954f8ic0a/grub.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0zod995bvew2d ... z.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3gvr4iecwyzav ... i.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vh83owzcgimo0 ... f.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xq103xslbtvn8 ... g.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hhxzou58no1kt ... f.txt?dl=0

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

#2 Post by stevepusser »

Intel tenth-generation GPUs require a newer Mesa than Buster or buster-backports have at present.

There have been reports that some have been able to add the MX 19 main and ahs repository sections to get their backports working on standard Debian.
MX Linux packager and developer

chevrox
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-10-29 06:57

Re: Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

#3 Post by chevrox »

Intel tenth-generation GPUs require a newer Mesa than Buster or buster-backports have at present.

There have been reports that some have been able to add the MX 19 main and ahs repository sections to get their backports working on standard Debian.
Thanks for the tip! I just compiled the latest release of Mesa from their repository (fortunately the missing dependencies are available in backports), uninstalled the older version, rebooted, and voila

Code: Select all

OpenGL renderer string: Mesa Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (CML GT2)

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

#4 Post by stevepusser »

Yeah...Debian had a newer Mesa in stretch-backports, but maybe someone just needs to request it for buster-backports.
MX Linux packager and developer

gordon24186
Posts: 103
Joined: 2013-08-07 19:29
Location: Wa

Re: Cannot get iGPU to work properly with Xorg on Debian 10

#5 Post by gordon24186 »

stevepusser wrote:Intel tenth-generation GPUs require a newer Mesa than Buster or buster-backports have at present.

There have been reports that some have been able to add the MX 19 main and ahs repository sections to get their backports working on standard Debian.
I don't mean to take over the post, but how do you do this exactly? I just got an acer desktop with UHD 630 grapics only and have had no luck getting to load display manager. I'm trying one other option. And gonna attempt to figure out things in this post to see if I can get a display. I already got rid of the windoze stuff on it so I'm S.O.L. in that matter :lol: :lol:

Post Reply