Keyboard freezes sometimes ?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Keyboard freezes sometimes ?

Postby PM » 2007-06-22 12:11

Using: Debian 4.0, Kde

My keyboard frees (have an interruption) sometimes and not working at all when I'm writing something in Iceweasel (in forums etc).
Keyboard is not working in other program either like Bashconsole, Kedit etc under the keyboard interruption.
It's very strange because my mouse is working just fine when the keyboard interruption appears.
The only solution to solve the keyboard interruption is to log out from Kde completely and log in again, then its working fine.
But it's frustrating.
What is wrong ?

Has it something to do with the keyboard deamon thats not working correctly ?
What deamon is responsible for the keyboard functionality ? :twisted:
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby Lou » 2007-06-22 23:44

Post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Have you done a dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg?
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby PM » 2007-06-23 12:42

Lou wrote:Post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Code: Select all
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
   FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
   FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
   # path to defoma fonts
   FontPath   "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load   "i2c"
   Load   "bitmap"
   Load   "ddc"
   Load   "dri"
   Load   "extmod"
   Load   "freetype"
   Load   "glx"
   Load   "int10"
   Load   "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "CoreKeyboard"
   Option      "XkbRules"   "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel"   "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout"   "se"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Configured Mouse"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "CorePointer"
   Option      "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
   Option      "Protocol"      "ImPS/2"
   Option      "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "nVidia Corporation G71 [GeForce 7900 GT/GTO]"
   Driver      "nv"
   BusID      "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "SyncMaster"
   Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Device      "nVidia Corporation G71 [GeForce 7900 GT/GTO]"
   Monitor      "SyncMaster"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      1
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      4
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      8
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      15
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      16
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      24
      Modes      "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
   Screen      "Default Screen"
   InputDevice   "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice   "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode   0666
EndSection

Lou wrote:Have you done a dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg?

No, why should I do that fore ?
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby Lou » 2007-06-23 14:29

PM wrote:Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "se"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection


Lou wrote:Have you done a dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg?

No, why should I do that fore ?


That's the first step in this situations. To see if by changing something, it might affect the rest. Especially when the xorg.conf is not posted.

Your xorg.conf looks fine to me, so it might be something to do with KDE. Although, i use '/dev/psaux' in my Device ps2 mouse.
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby Chapter 6 » 2007-06-23 15:01

There's probably nothing wrong with your configuration. You're probably just trying to do more than your system can handle. I have the same problem when I'm visiting certain sites. I will not be able to type anything for a minute or so while my system is busy "doing things".

What are the spec's of your system? Most likely culprit is that you're using a system that is too slow to keep up with the heavy demands you're putting on it, or you're low on memory. You might want to scale down your KDE environment a bit if you're running on an old PC with 256MB of RAM or less. Or, you could try a less resource hungry desktop environment.

If you have a lot of useless processes running, kill some of them. Those little things that monitor the weather or give you a stock ticker, can put a lot of strain on an already taxed system. Add a bloated desktop environment on top of that, with some bloated applications (web browsers, etcetera) and you've got a recipe for a non-responsive system.
"Now the body of one soul I adore wants to die
You have always told me you'd not live past 25
I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife."

-- Alice in Chains, Sludge Factory
Chapter 6
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 2007-05-10 02:06
Location: Fog of War

Postby PM » 2007-06-23 18:33

Ok, thx all for reply.

I hate intermittent failures there I can't understand the reason for the error.

My machine has the following capacity and has all it need for running heavy applications like KDE and so on.
Motherboard:ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE
Cpu:AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Ram:CORSAIR TWINX2048-3500LLPRO DDR SDRAM 2GB
Harddrive:SEAGATE Barracuda 7200.9 300GB SATA 16MB 7200RPM
PCI Express Graphic Card:ASUS GeForce EN7900GT/2DHT/ 256MB PCI
Chassi: COOLERMASTER Stacker 830
Power:SEASONIC S12 600W
Keyboard: ACER 6512-TA


The problem with the keyboard has never occurd earlier.
It is very peculiar.:?
Well, thx anyway.:)
Last edited by PM on 2007-06-23 21:30, edited 1 time in total.
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby PM » 2007-06-23 21:10

Sorry Debians ! The problem is back !!!
It happend again when I was in KEdit.
I typed some letters and suddenly the keyboard not responding.
The keyboard was malfunctioning again.
Nothing responded on the keyboard at all when I try typing letters, not NumLock, CapsLock, ScrollLock, nothing works !!!! Keyboard=Stonedead !!!!

I don't like this at all !!! :evil:

It'd never happends in Fedora when I used that dist.
Keyboard is fixed when I do a 'Logout' and do 'startx' again in the console only mode.

What is this ???
It's so confusing.
It can't be the hardware 'keyboard' for it is functioning again after a logout/in.

This is a 'tuffy' so I need help on this one !! Sorry ! :cry:
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby Chapter 6 » 2007-06-23 22:04

PM wrote:Ok, thx all for reply.

I hate intermittent failures there I can't understand the reason for the error.

My machine has the following capacity and has all it need for running heavy applications like KDE and so on.
Motherboard:ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE
Cpu:AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Ram:CORSAIR TWINX2048-3500LLPRO DDR SDRAM 2GB
Harddrive:SEAGATE Barracuda 7200.9 300GB SATA 16MB 7200RPM
PCI Express Graphic Card:ASUS GeForce EN7900GT/2DHT/ 256MB PCI
Chassi: COOLERMASTER Stacker 830
Power:SEASONIC S12 600W
Keyboard: ACER 6512-TA


The problem with the keyboard has never occurd earlier.
It is very peculiar.:?
Well, thx anyway.:)


AMD Athlon and 2GB memory... Hmmm, no idea then... Good luck. :lol:
"Now the body of one soul I adore wants to die
You have always told me you'd not live past 25
I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife."

-- Alice in Chains, Sludge Factory
Chapter 6
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 2007-05-10 02:06
Location: Fog of War

Postby PM » 2007-06-23 22:19

Ok !

Maybe I switch over to GNOME and see if the problem persist ...

Is KDE junk or what ?

Sad, because I like KDE very mutch.
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby Chapter 6 » 2007-06-23 22:22

I personally don't like KDE, but a lot of people seem to like it -- and they have no problems with it. Given the specs of your system, I doubt that you're pushing it too hard. Do you have a whole pile of crap running on your box?
"Now the body of one soul I adore wants to die
You have always told me you'd not live past 25
I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife."

-- Alice in Chains, Sludge Factory
Chapter 6
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 2007-05-10 02:06
Location: Fog of War

Postby PM » 2007-06-23 22:36

Don't now, here is it anyway.
I don't now what all is and if I need it. 8)
Code: Select all
Philip:~# ps -A
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
    1 ?        00:00:00 init
    2 ?        00:00:00 migration/0
    3 ?        00:00:00 ksoftirqd/0
    4 ?        00:00:00 events/0
    5 ?        00:00:00 khelper
    6 ?        00:00:00 kthread
    9 ?        00:00:00 kblockd/0
   10 ?        00:00:00 kacpid
  141 ?        00:00:00 kseriod
  181 ?        00:00:00 pdflush
  182 ?        00:00:00 pdflush
  183 ?        00:00:00 kswapd0
  184 ?        00:00:00 aio/0
  647 ?        00:00:00 ata/0
  648 ?        00:00:00 ata_aux
  650 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_0
  651 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_1
  667 ?        00:00:00 khubd
  765 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_2
  766 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_3
  776 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_4
  777 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_5
 1074 ?        00:00:00 kjournald
 1259 ?        00:00:00 udevd
 1660 ?        00:00:00 kpsmoused
 1692 ?        00:00:00 kgameportd
 2772 ?        00:00:00 kmirrord
 3053 ?        00:00:00 portmap
 3294 ?        00:00:00 syslogd
 3300 ?        00:00:00 klogd
 3318 ?        00:00:08 hpiod
 3321 ?        00:00:00 python
 3407 ?        00:00:00 acpid
 3426 ?        00:00:00 cupsd
 3434 ?        00:00:00 dbus-daemon
 3442 ?        00:00:01 hald
 3443 ?        00:00:00 hald-runner
 3449 ?        00:00:00 hald-addon-acpi
 3456 ?        00:00:00 hald-addon-keyb
 3470 ?        00:00:00 hald-addon-stor
 3472 ?        00:00:00 hald-addon-stor
 3483 ?        00:00:00 dhcdbd
 3490 ?        00:00:00 NetworkManager
 3504 ?        00:00:00 avahi-daemon
 3505 ?        00:00:00 avahi-daemon
 3516 ?        00:00:00 NetworkManagerD
 3564 ?        00:00:00 exim4
 3619 ?        00:00:00 inetd
 3654 ?        00:00:00 rpc.statd
 3673 ?        00:00:00 atd
 3680 ?        00:00:00 cron
 3714 tty1     00:00:00 login
 3715 tty2     00:00:00 getty
 3716 tty3     00:00:00 getty
 3717 tty4     00:00:00 getty
 3720 tty5     00:00:00 getty
 3721 tty6     00:00:00 getty
 3732 ?        00:00:00 dhclient
 3798 tty1     00:00:00 bash
 5807 tty1     00:00:00 startx
 5823 tty1     00:00:00 xinit
 5824 tty7     00:00:35 Xorg
 5828 tty1     00:00:00 x-session-manag
 5856 ?        00:00:00 ssh-agent
 5859 ?        00:00:00 dbus-daemon
 5860 tty1     00:00:00 dbus-launch
 5888 tty1     00:00:00 start_kdeinit
 5889 ?        00:00:00 kdeinit
 5892 ?        00:00:00 dcopserver
 5894 ?        00:00:00 klauncher
 5896 ?        00:00:00 kded
 5901 tty1     00:00:00 kwrapper
 5903 ?        00:00:00 ksmserver
 5904 ?        00:00:00 kwin
 5906 ?        00:00:00 knotify
 5908 ?        00:00:00 kdesktop
 5909 ?        00:00:00 kio_file
 5911 ?        00:00:01 kicker
 5914 ?        00:00:06 artsd
 5922 ?        00:00:00 konsole
 5924 ?        00:01:08 firefox-bin
 5926 ?        00:00:00 klipper
 5927 ?        00:00:00 kalarmd
 5929 pts/1    00:00:00 bash
 5938 ?        00:00:00 gconfd-2
 6004 ?        00:00:00 icedove
 6008 ?        00:00:00 run-mozilla.sh
 6013 ?        00:00:01 icedove-bin
 6024 pts/1    00:00:00 su
 6025 pts/1    00:00:00 bash
 6032 ?        00:00:00 kdesud
 6063 ?        00:00:00 kdesu
 6071 pts/3    00:00:00 su
 6073 pts/3    00:00:00 kdesu_stub
 6076 ?        00:00:01 konqueror
 6078 ?        00:00:00 kdeinit
 6081 ?        00:00:00 dcopserver
 6083 ?        00:00:00 klauncher
 6085 ?        00:00:00 kded
 6089 ?        00:00:00 kio_file
 6211 ?        00:00:00 kio_thumbnail
 6224 pts/1    00:00:00 ps
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Postby SlithyTove » 2007-06-25 15:45

I may be having the same problem as PM. I've been running testing (first etch, now Lenny) for over a year. I use Gnome. Just for the past two weeks or so, frequently keyboard input freezes, randomly. Happens in many different apps: Iceweasel, gedit, AbiWord, Iceape. Mouse is okay. However, if I alt-tab to another app, then back again, the keyboard will become responsive again [note that 'alt-tab' never freezes]. Rarely, this doesn't work, and I have to shut down the app and restart it, which is exceedingly annoying.

It may have started with the same update that killed my nvidia driver, sigh.

I'll try dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg.
SlithyTove
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-06-25 15:25

Postby Chapter 6 » 2007-06-25 18:56

I never have this problem, and I'm running sid. My keyboard only freezes temporarily in web browsers when I load a page that has a lot of content to be rendered. I don't have to do anything to unfreeze my keyboard though. I just wait 15 or twenty seconds for everything to render.
"Now the body of one soul I adore wants to die
You have always told me you'd not live past 25
I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife."

-- Alice in Chains, Sludge Factory
Chapter 6
 
Posts: 178
Joined: 2007-05-10 02:06
Location: Fog of War

Postby SlithyTove » 2007-06-26 03:37

Okay, dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg didn't help.

It's not a problem with too much load on the processor. Random keyboard freeze often happens when cpu usage is close to zero.
SlithyTove
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-06-25 15:25

Postby PM » 2007-06-26 14:17

I seem to not have freeze problem in GNOME only in KDE.
Weird !!!
I suppose it's a bug in KDE then, so I don't use it.

Well, KDE's bug list is long so maybe it isn't fixed yet.
PM
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-04-28 19:13
Location: Lat:55:36:00N Lon:13:00:00E

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable